We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lomond Lodge to your Saves list
Lomond Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   33 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

First time staying, it was great. The room was nice and clean. The view was good. The staff we're very friendly and gave us great advice of what to see in Queenstown and where the best places we're to eat out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your review - we are pleased you found the staff to be helpful in offering local advice, it makes all the difference when you have local knowledge on your side!!
We will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team, as they work very hard to maintain the room standards.

With thanks and we hope to host you again next time you visit Qtwn.

regards,

Lee & Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    103
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
50
134
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at lomond lodge with my husband a little while ago in a nice tidy apartment. The views were amazing with the back drop of The Remarkables. The staff were very friendly and helpful! The location was excellent .. easy access to town center. Great little place! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your comments, we are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown & at the Lodge! We hope you return to visit us again.

with thanks,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Lomond Lodge is full of charm with a touch of sophistication.

The place for a long leisurely stay indeed!The environment is inviting, the decor modern, and the staff are just AMAZING!! True NZ hospitality at its finest!! Thank you Lauren for all your help!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest thanks for your review - we are very lucky to have such fabulous long standing staff at the Lodge - their knowledge and care makes a huge difference to our guests stay & experience!

Thanks again,

Lee & Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were disappointed after reading rave reviews to find a rather tired breeze block motel, which was cold and rather uninviting on a wintry Queenstown weekend. We were expected but there was no heating on (this would have given us SUCH a better first impression), it took me forever to locate electric blankets in order just to turn them on! The view is great but marred by other guests walking past the windows to access their rooms. Multiple stairs make bags a pain to get to rooms easily - I would suggest not booking here if you are elderly or the least bit infirm. The staff had difficulty (in fact were unable) to work the TV system and we were left to try to figure it out. The lounge area was cold and uninviting, only one small cold leather sofa for a two bedroom motel room ! No sufficient to even seat the four people staying. When we checked out there were no staff available and in the end we just left the key on the counter after waiting over ten minutes for service.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the top floor (if you are fit enough to lug our bags up there) thsi is where the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, General Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest it was with sadness we read your review & are actually concerned whether you may have confused Lomond Lodge with another motel you may have stayed with, so would like to respond to a few of your points to clarify.
Firstly, we were surprised you described Lomond Lodge as a "breeze block motel" as it is built with wood and bricks & has sheet cladding eternally, there are NO breeze blocks anywhere in or outside of the building.
Secondly, you arrived early and as we aim to meet all our guests needs & the housekeepers had already cleaned your Apt, we checked you in early to your accommodation. Obviously as it was well before the check in time of 3pm, the heaters were not turned on, as we have a policy of not activating heaters till check in time. We are not only focused on environmental policies, but your specific apartment is fitted with a heat pump therefore it would take only moments to heat up to your required temperature, and there are additional electric heaters in both bedrooms.
You mentioned that there were steps up to the Lake View Apt - there are 15 steps up to the first floor level, which although may be an effort for some, we feel it is well rewarded if you want to enjoy the stunning views that are on offer from this floor - which is down over Qtwn Bay, Lake Wakatipu with the backdrop being the Remarkables Mountains - all our staff are happy to help out with carrying luggage up to guests rooms to assist in anyway.
Lastly, you mentioned the seating in the Apt - there is seating for 11 people, including the 6 seater dining room chairs, stools & three seater settee.
We always aim to ensure that guests who stay at Lomond Lodge feel they are well looked after and enjoy a comfortable and relaxing visit - we are a busy Motel which is why if Reception is not attended there is a buzzer, if pressed, within moments one of the staff will come to reception immediately to assist.
Please bear in mind we take all feedback very seriously and don't want guests to leave disappointed, but we do want to be fair to our staff and ensure that the comments made on reviews are fair and reasonable and in this case, unfortunately, we are not in agreement with your comments.
We would like to think you may return again, maybe in summer, and enjoy the stunning views we can offer and we can ensure you feel well looked after!

Kind regards,

Lee & Rachel - Owners
The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable, we really loved Queenstown and Lomond Lodge! A special thanks to the Reception lady who gave us the box of children's toys/books for our 2yr old son to play with, it made all the difference as we had not packed many games to entertain him. The room was perfect for us, and being so close to the town centre was perfect - you have a great location. We will definitely be recommending Lomond Lodge to our friends and family and hope to return again in the future to stay with you again. Thank you!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Super clean and tidy accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, great central location close to the centre of town. Would gladly recommend to travellers after cheap and cheerful accommodation. Thanks lomond lodge for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Front Office Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest thanks for your kind words - we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was as you needed it to be!
We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Queenstown.
Enjoy your weekend,

The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in one of the off-site apartments earlier in the year with family and loved it so we instantly booked Lomond Lodge when we were returning to Queenstown for our wedding anniversary and some skiing. This time all the lake view apartments were already booked so we selected a garden view studio but unfortunately it did not meet the high standards they set with the previous stay.

Firstly the positives, the staff were absolutely fantastic and the location is brilliant - just a short walk from Shotover Street and all the action. Ski storage facilities are also provided.

Our main criticism was temperature control in the room. Considering winters in Queenstown get very cold, we expected there to be more than just a thin blanket on the bed. We are not a fan of sleeping with electric blankets and unfortunately for us, the previous occupiers had moved the thick blankets out of the room. We did not know that they should have been there - I would have hoped this would have been checked when cleaning the room. As a result our first night was pretty uncomfortable and we slept with thick jumpers and socks - not the romantic wedding anniversary we hoped for! Also the bathroom was very cold and we expected there to be some sort of heating - we turned the shower on about 10 minutes before we actually used it just to heat up the bathroom which is not eco-friendly but it was freezing! As others have said, the water pressure in the shower was not great and we could not get any hot water to come out of the tap so we used the bath tap to wash our hands.

If it was summer, I think we would have been a lot happier with the apartment but it still does not match the quality of the off site apartment. If we were to return as a bigger group, we wouldn't hestitate to book that again but would probably try somewhere else instead of the studio.

Room Tip: Stay in the offsite apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to log a review, it is really important for us to hear feedback from our guests and to understand what they enjoyed and where we may need to review things to ensure everyone is enjoying their stay each and every time, no matter what room or apartment type they book to stay in!

Firstly, we are pleased that our staff were attentive and helpful - we are really lucky to have such a fabulous team, so we will definitely be passing on your positive comments!

Regarding the Apartments & Lake view rooms - they do book out really quickly, particularly throughout ski season, but we would always want our guests to enjoy their stay no matter what room type they booked.

As you mentioned all our studio rooms have electric thermostat controlled heating, which allows guests to set the temp that suits them, whatever that may be 24/7. There are electric blankets on every bed and also there are extra blankets for the top of the beds, but as you mentioned it would seem that for some reason on your first night they had been removed, which is an error on our behalf and we would like to apologise - I am pleased that the issue was rectified the next morning!

Regarding the Bathroom - as you say it can get very cold in the winter here in Queenstown, so it is important to be warm - I have emailed you personally to find out which room you stayed in so we can review what options there are to add additional heating to ensure the bathroom is warm for the guests that stay in that room in the future.

I really appreciate your comments and do want to to reiterate that your points will be discussed and reviewed.
We sincerely hope to see you again next time you visit as we want to ensure you have a repeat experience of your first stay !!

With thanks again,

Rachel & Lee
Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#26 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 4 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front. Quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road, Man Street, Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD & Sky, Wifi and free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. Accommodation has either "Stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu or Garden views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and relaxing views - We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.