We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location with wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lomond Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lomond Lodge to your Saves list
Lomond Lodge
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   33 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic location with wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a garden view room for 8 nights for a June ski trip and were very pleased. We chose Lomond Lodge after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. The proximity to the mall/town was absolutely fantastic and we couldn't have asked for more in terms of location. The room was an adequate size, the bed was very comfortable, parking out the front was simple and easy and the in-room heating was perfect for winter. I agree with other reviews in suggesting changes with the bathroom heating and lack of fan (we also had to open the window to let out the steam). I would suggest a heat lamp/fan combo for the bathrooms to assist with heating and excess steam. The bathroom was otherwise comfortable and the water always hot. I would suggest that room service vacuum the floors more frequently, particularly given the proximity of the kitchenette to the rest of the room. Lauren at front reception was an absolutely delightful young lady, who offered us wonderful assistance and answers to all our questions. She was a friendly face whenever we crossed paths leaving or returning to our room. We would definitely stay here again and recommend to my family and friends. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to log your comments - we really appreciate your thoughts and have requested that maintenance review the bathroom and fit the required heater/fan to alleviate the issues you encountered asap.

With regard to our staff, we are very luck to have such a wonderful team of, committed and happy people and will pass on your comments to Lauren, as she always aims to ensure every guest is well looked after during their stay with us!

Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards, Rachel & Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    114
    32
    16
    4
See reviews for
58
146
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights and overall were generally happy. The room was a little smaller than I thought it would be and I was a little disappointed with the lack of space in the kitchenette. We survived, but it was tricky at times and I hated putting glasses and plates in the bathroom sink to try and wash them. I really felt the bathroom was the most frustrating. Not enough hanging space, no heat light to help dry out the room, no fan, very little space at all to put your belongings and again, the kitchen plates. The room got saturated after a shower due to the steam so we opened the window which then made the place freezing. I had to buy slippers just to wear in the bathroom as it was so cold and wet. The towell rails were heated but turned off after only 2 hours meaning, the towels did not dry. I really did not like the bathroom. And the service only replaced 2 towels every day even though there was 3 of us so we had to ask for towels all the time.

Location was definitely fantastic. Easy to walk in and out of town and to the gondola.

I'm giving this a very good rating due to location and cleanliness, but the bathroom was my biggest issue.

Room Tip: If you want some space, choose the larger rooms. 1 traveled with my two teenage sons and it was a bi...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest thank you for logging your review - after reading your comments it is apparent that the studio room you stayed in does require a heater in the bathroom which we will have fitted asap. As you may know this winter in Queenstown is one of the coldest we have experienced for many years, so we are keen to hear & act upon any extra requirements guests may have to ensure their stay is warm & comfortable, so thank you for mentioning the situation.

The rooms are serviced daily unless guests show their "do not disturb" sign, which includes towels being changed, if required, & all used crockery & cutlery being replaced - so there should be no reason for guests to wash up their plates - there is also a guest kitchen just around the side of your room, which has a vast array of crockery should you require immediate replacements.

With regard to the hanging space - there are 3 drawers & an open cupboard in the bathroom cabinet plus two towel hooks on the wall and a heated towel rail on the wall (which is set on a timer for eco reasons as it's aim is to pre warm your towels not dry them, as we replace the towels daily).

We are pleased over you enjoyed your time in Queenstown and found the Lodge's cleanliness of a high standard as well as the location being easy and convenient to the town centre.

We hope to host you again next time you visit Queenstown, and hope it is a little warmer!
with thanks

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

our rating is 3 1/2 circles - somewhere between average and very good

We stayed for 6 nights in a front studio room. The heating in the main room was excellent but was a bit cold in the bathroom - could do with maybe a Tastic heat light. There also was no fan in the bathroom so had to open window to let out the steam. When the curtains were opened in the morning, I just wanted to sit looking at the beautiful views of the mountains but found it was a bit cold as it is not double glazed and the cold "screamed" in. I did move the table & chair back a bit and this certainly helped. The bed was comfy and the bedding was warm enough and extra blankets were provided if we had needed them, and we only had the heater on very low over night.

The staff were very friendly and helpful - assets to the business.

Great location - perfect for getting into town (walking) and to where our family were staying on the Esplanade. Unfortunately this was also a disadvantage as there were noisy people walking by late at night and in the early hours of the morning, maybe because of Winterfest and some had parked their cars across the road, The last two nights were peaceful which was when Winterfest had finished. I am sure the back upstairs rooms would not have been affected. Note though that we live in the country and it is really quiet so a lot of people may not have even noticed it.

The room and bathroom were clean. The kitchenette was sufficient for our needs and we were pleased to have been provided with some wine glasses as well. We were happy to have the room serviced every couple of days and we put our Do Not Disturb sign out some of the days too, but it would have been nice if the bathroom sink could have been cleaned when they brought the new towels in. We don't usually stay so long in one place so maybe this is usual.

We selected this hotel based on trip advisor reviews, location and photos and feel we got reasonable value for money at this time of the year and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hi thank you for taking the time to post up a review on your recent stay at Lomond Lodge.

We are really pleased to read you enjoyed the Winter Festival and the views from your front facing studio - the Remarkables certainly are stunning, especially with a sprinkling of snow on top of them!
As you may know it has been an exceptionally cold start to the winter season, which has meant very low temperatures at night - we are sorry to hear the window did not stand up to these temperatures, but the good news is we have already placed an application to double glaze the front of the Lodge, which will then mean the whole property will be double glazed, and are just waiting on confirmation and then will look at having them fitted shortly after.

We look forward to having you return to the Lodge again next time you plan a trip to Queenstown and hopefully you will be able to experience the stunning views & a nice new window to enjoy them from!!

With thanks again,

The Team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just arrived home after an awesome 4 days in Queenstown staying at Lomond Lodge. The location was perfect. Our 'lake view' Unit had magnificent views of the remarkables, town, Lake Whakatipu and wharf . The ambience gave an 'in home panoramic screen' of the fireworks display, mountains, lake and attractions all in quiet surroundings. Service could not have been more pleasant and arrangements for attraction bookings and airport shuttle were no trouble. It was a comfortable, warm, practical unit 3-5 minutes from town, and in an affordable price range. We would stay there again and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Lake views a must if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest we just read your review with a smile on our faces! we are so pleased you enjoyed the Winter Festival activities - the fireworks were truly amazing this year, and we were very lucky with the weather that night!
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments.

The team at Lomond Lodge look forward to hosting you again soon,
Regards
Rachel & Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the suggestion of friends. It was very convenient to anywhere you wanted to go in town and close to transportation. We had some issues with the heat when we first arrived, but it was taken care of immediately and by a very personable staffmember. I would definately recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Queenstown and any furture visits.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest thanks for taking the time to log a review, it is important to us to hear guest feedback and we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay & Queenstown!
We look forward to hosting you again next time you visit.

Kind regards
Lee & the team at Lomond Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were arranged to stay in an apartment unit at Shotover street, the location is so good that it is only 5 mins walk to the famous burger - fergburger. Although our room isn't offer any view of Lake Wakatipu, we were quite satisfied about its room setting, kitchenette facilities and comfort bed (except for the sofa bed). Everything is new and functional (even when it isn't, the staff will quickly come and fix it). We feel secured to stay in this unit, though the only limitation is the apartment itself has no elevator, and with bulk belongings we had, it becomes difficult to load and unload our baggage. Imagine when all the tourists on the street see us move up and down to transfer our luggage to apartment. And it will be better if the car can be parked just down stair of apartment, rather than to walk across the street to another building. Overall, we still like this place, it makes us feel like a resident of Queenstown itself. =)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Front Office Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks for your review of the Town Centre Apt - as you said it is a fabulous location as being right in the heart of town - we note your commentson the sofa bed and will look at that and review its comfort!
We hope you are able to visit Queenstown & Lomond Lodge again in the future.

With thanks and regards,

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The best feature about this place must be the location. It’s a very short 5 minute walk into town, and it’s also just around the corner from the gondola and bird park. We stayed in the lake view studio (Room 1). It was clean, relatively quiet, comfortable bed, and did offer a view of the lake (with some buildings/construction in the foreground). The heating was also quite good. Had the communal kitchen next door to us (so most of the time there was no one next door), but we very occasionally heard people above us (but not a problem). The room is pretty small, and parking availability out the front is not fantastic, but we had no trouble getting a park when we arrived, and we didn’t move the car until we left. The price was also very reasonable for Queenstown. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I was happy with Room 1. It's at the front of the hotel, had a view, and was next to the communa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lomond33, Manager at Lomond Lodge, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Hi thanks for your review, we look forward to hosting you again next time you visit Queenstown.

Regards

Lee Exell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lomond Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lomond Lodge

Address: 33 Man Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lomond Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
33 Lomond Lodge is privately owned and operated Motel which has 12 Studio rooms and 4 Family Apartments - Located in the "Heart" of Queenstown, 50 metres from the Gondola and Lake front. Quiet, comfortable, quality accommodation to suit all budgets. Local staff and Qualmark rated 4 star.Complimentary tour booking service, ski shuttles operate from the end of the road, Man Street, Ski store/dry room, Private Garden and BBQ area, Plasma TV's with DVD & Sky, Wifi and free Parking at the front of the Lodge plus additional over flow underground car parking across the street from the Motel. Accommodation has either "Stunning views" out over the Remarkable Mountain Range and Lake Wakatipu or Garden views up to the Gondola. Great location, affordable rates and relaxing views - We look forward to welcoming you at Lomond Lodge, Queenstown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Lomond Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomond Hotel Queenstown
Lomond Motel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lomond Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.