We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST MEATPIES EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fergbaker

Fergbaker
40 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
ft.lauderdale,florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“BEST MEATPIES EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My Friend had said"When you get to Queenstown you MUST get a meatpie..I don't know the name of the place..just look for the lines!"
So as soon as I got into town..i saw a bakery, stopped in..bought a few pies and a sandwich.
NOT fabulous. I was so dissapointed!!( And the ham sandwich had KETCHUP on it! ughh)
Checked into my hotel..went back into town..and found FERGBAKERY.
Yep.THAT's the place i was meant to go into!(there's apparently 2 pie places in town!)I took a photo to send to my friend so she'd know the name now.
THIS IS THE ONE! A-mazing bakery..and pies to die for(I had the curry..TWICE!) and the breads fantastic.LOVELY staff too.
Next door is FERGBURGER..equally as fantastic

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    178
    30
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent but not incredible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had a venison pie and Afghan biscuit. Both very good but I wouldn't write home. According to a freind the pork was very fatty.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We called in when passing by and spotted the lovely cakes etc. we decided on a cheesecake each, mine was raspberry and Jane's was passion fruit. Both beautiful and only about £3 each. It really is worth a visit - even if only to look!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We brought food from here twice, and both times it was so good! Nice and fresh pies, full of flavour and meat! The Boston doughnut we got was also incredible! So fresh, soft and full of cream! Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Pies in NZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I kept hearing about these pies I needed to try in NZ. Well if you are considering trying the pies then this is the spot. They need to be gourmet cooked like they are hear. Excellent pies, especially the steak and cheese.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fergbaker also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Fergbaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fergbaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.