We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Wonderful Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Wakatipu

Air Wakatipu
Lucas Place Queenstown Airport, Queenstown, New Zealand
+64 3 442 3148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 165 activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: No trip to Queenstown is complete without visiting the breathtakingly beautiful Milford Sound. Let our pilots take you on an unforgettable scenic flight-seeing adventure into the heart of the Southern Alps and around New Zealand's tallest mountain and largest glaciers.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service and Wonderful Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A wonderful half day trip from Queenstown. With poor weather the week we were there Air Wakatipu contacted us to organise for the trip when the weather cleared. We had Gareth as our pilot and both the scenery and the commentary were fantastic. With one teen and a small child the trip was truly extraordinary and Air Wakatipu were fantastic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth A, Pilot at Air Wakatipu, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks for your review Bruce!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Get Gareth & Go...................."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Air Wakatipu, possibly / should be known as "Air What a Trip For You".......
My wife and I specially flew from Auckland the day before to do this rather special flight / excursion, which parallels flying the Grand Canyon in U.S.A.
Fortunately Gareth had elected to fly us and another couple from Belgium, departing at 10 am.
With a brief safety chat before boarding the aircraft, we from that moment onwards had a great adventure.
We were shown this truly most scenic part of the World, in style by Wakatipu Air Charters.
From the start to arriving back at the terminal we thoroughly experienced a most memorable , enjoyable day.
We fully recommend to all , contemplating visiting Milford Sound, to seriously consider engaging Air Wakatipu , we thank all involved, cheers.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth A, Pilot at Air Wakatipu, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thanks very much for the review!

Cheers,
Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking - make sure you include Mt Aspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We originally booked a return flight with Air Wakatipu from Queenstown to Milford Sound which included a boat cruise through Milford Sound. Upon recommendation from our pilot (Gareth) we made a last minute change to include a flight around Mt Aspiring on route to Milford...what a brilliant experience!

Gareth (our pilot) provided us with running commentary one each of the mountains and glaciers we flew over/around. It was a truely breathtaking experience.

While flying to, in and around Milford Sound is amazing, the flight around Mt Aspiring was the absolute highlight of our 7 day stay in Queenstown. I highly recommend adding the Mt Aspiring flight to your Air Wakatipu itinerary - you will not be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth A, Pilot at Air Wakatipu, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thanks for your review! Though the flight from Queenstown to Milford is quite spectacular, adding the Mt. Aspiring option brings many more ice-falls, cascading glacial waterfalls and massive rock faces to the experience. It also adds more south-island history to the flight, with the upper Shotover gold rush, high-country stations, and the early climbing expeditions up Mt. Aspiring.

Thanks for flying with us!

Cheers,
Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scenic flight over Queenstown & glaciers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My mother and I were booked to go to Milford Sound to connect with a boat cruise and helicopter flight. Unfortunately the weather had closed in, however rather than cancel us, the pilot elected to attempt to fly to Milford with our approval to turn around early and pursue alternative routes subject to safety & weather. We had a great flight - didn't make it to Milford however got a great tour of the fiordland and one of the glaciers. The pilot was very friendly and knowledgeable and helped us having a lovely day out even though we missed out on seeing Milford.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy with customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked through www.bookme. and got a brilliant bargain. Unfortunately due to weather it was cancelled.
They left me waiting for over 10mins to be picked up. I had to phone them. They reckoned they were about to ring me to let me know trip was cancelled due to weather. If I'd been picked up on time they could of kept me more in loop
Common courtesy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth A, Pilot at Air Wakatipu, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately Milford Sound is a highly weather dependant activity. On the day of your flight after we had made the "go" decision and contacted you for your pick up, the weather made a sudden change for the worse, and we had to cancel the flight. As you were waiting outside the Station building we were unable to reach you by phone to let you know the flight had been cancelled. Our driver was late getting to you to relay the message and for that we apologize.

Cheers,
Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Wakatipu also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Air Wakatipu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Wakatipu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Air Wakatipu to your Saves list