We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Sunday drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1876 Bar & Restaurant

1876 Bar & Restaurant
45 Ballarat Street, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
03 4092178
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: 1876 Bar and Restaurant is a distinctive & much valued landmark of Queenstown.The old stone courthouse building was erected between November 1875 and September 1876. The Old Courthouse is one of the few structures that survive from Queenstown’s early gold mining days.Now over 130 years on 1876 offers an upmarket menu, relaxed atmosphere, great service & friendly staff. With the option of indoor and outdoor dining on our huge deck - 1876 is definitely the place to be...
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for Sunday drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hello I recently this bar while on holiday . Met some friends for a drink and stayed for the afternoon, there was an amazing guy on guitar that simply captivated us for the afternoon. Food platter was also great just enough for a nibble !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    65
    19
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Don'y miss this place.. Great outdoor sitting.. Awesome Beer @ Awesome Price... The House wine was also amazing.. nice place to spend the evening..

And on Saturdays, the DJ played from 9pm till 4am.. Rocking

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Glad I discovered this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Found this place whilst lookin for a cheeky afternoon beer, very nice place and friendly staff, had some food too which was great the pork ribs we're great, will become the new local I'm sure

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we went here 3 times in our 5 day trip to queenstown. stunning beer garden, quality beer, such friendly staff and good food. we spent 3 hours outside and the evening was beautiful. a definete recomendation for tourists to experiance a kiwi beer garden.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were there for breakfast. Good food, friendly staff, only one other couple in resturant and food took a little longer than we thought it should but was nice overall.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1876 Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to 1876 Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1876 Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.