We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great half-day hike” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mt Crichton Loop Track

Mt Crichton Loop Track
Glenorchy Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 96 things to do in Queenstown
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“This is a great half-day hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really enjoyed this hike. In most of the reviews, I haven't seen much detail on the hike itself, so I thought I'd fill in some.

It's a 5-mile hike with ~800 feet of vertical. Took my wife and I about two hours, including a lunch stop, but we were moving pretty quickly. Moving clockwise around the loop, initially you climb along a river valley in pretty dense forest -- it is cool even on a hot day, and we saw lots of lovely little waterfalls. You pass through some cleared mining valleys, with signage pointing the way to interesting sights like a gold mining cave, before arriving at an old gold miner's hut in great condition. Very interesting.

The second half of the loop takes you up on an exposed ridge with excellent views of small mountain lakes and valleys, before descending back to the road.

Highly recommended. Bring lots of water. We also had plenty of bug spray, although the sand flys weren't that bad for us.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
queenstown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“lovely walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

just a short drive from Queenstown, Lovely loop walk, Sam Sumners hut very interesting, restored just as it was back in the day.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt Hotham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My Favourite walk in QT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I love the scenery keeps changing and the fact its a loop track :)

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice trail through old gold mining territory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is a trail about 10 miles from Queenstown toward Glenorchy. It goes through old gold mining territory with interesting sights like an old miners cabin, and a 'sluiceway' that was blasted through solid rock that was at least 50 feet high and 100 feet long. If you are a strong runner, it also makes a great running trail. If you have more time, though, hiking along the Routeburn Track is an order of magnitude more scenic.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient to Qtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Gave us exercise and time in the hills and trees, not far from Queenstown. A quick hike to do and a nice drive along the water's edge.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt Crichton Loop Track also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Mt Crichton Loop Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt Crichton Loop Track, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.