We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice views, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The rooms are quite nice and clean. Very modern. Amenities in the room are all products used by Hilton. Very nice and relaxing views outside of the hotel overlooking the lake. Be prepared that Kawarau is a hotel MANAGED by Hilton. It's right next to the Hilton, and you can't really access facilities from the Hilton hotel without having to pay. However, there is a shuttle bus that goes into town regularly (about 15 minutes drive) and is complimentary.

You have to pay for wifi, it is not free. It is only free if you go to the hotel next door (Hilton) and sit in the lobby. Service was average. They do have an info desk at the lobby if you'd like to book for activities/tours. Staff were friendly, and I did have a special request for in-room dining and they were very happy to help, so thank you!

I would stay here again although it is a bit far from town, but it's quite nice and peaceful. Just don't expect it to be Hilton standards with the overall hotel experience. Go to Hilton if that's what you're after.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    226
    77
    21
    11
See reviews for
94
361
36
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a funky place outside of Queenstown. I had been in Queenstown two nights previously and this was a good escape without being too far away from the city. Great price in the off season for a spacious room and king sized bed. Service was exceptional and staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The meals offered in room are a tad small if you are a big eater.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great value for money hotel managed by Hilton (located in Kawarau village and synced and connected with the Hilton. Does not compromise on service or standards. Gorgeous rooms with comfy beds, full kitchen, tiled bathroom... Was perfect for what we want and needed without having to go so far as the Hilton as we stay in hotels for the experience and not for the 'extras' per se so worked out great; Being in Frankton was also a bonus, Queenstown central can be hectic and this made the experience all the more enjoyable and being right under the Remarkable' mountain range is fantastic

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have stayed here before and wil be back again we really like this place its out of the business of the cbd but easy to get in there to eat and drink and get your party on if you want.We would really give this place the thumbs up they are great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The signage to the hotel wasn't very clear and we got lost before finally turning back and heading in the right direction. The room was lovely, clean and we upgraded to include a spa on the deck. The hotel felt to be lacking in atmosphere. The restaurant was empty and packing up at 9pm and the staff, although polite seemed quite disinterested. We were recommended to eat next door at a pizza bar which I would not return to. We were happy to get back to our room but when trying got get to sleep there was a loud buzzing noise coming from a manhole in the bathroom. As we had driven 8 hours during the day, we couldn't be bothered going through the the process of calling someone in at 11 at night. When I mentioned it at checkout there was a dismissive apology. The location was great, and we loved the spa on the deck, but I think that the overall vibe of the hotel was very impersonal. I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Came for our 'mini moon', the room was fine, very clean and tidy although quite soulless. It seems the hotel tries to make money in any possible way! $30 each night to upgrade to a room with a view, $10 each way pp to use the water taxi into town and $20 pp to use the Hilton pool. Let along $29 for wireless internet! Perhaps my expectations were too high for a Hilton managed hotel but compared to overseas hotels this is very bad value for money.

For the price you pay, you would get much more value staying in town (avoid paying for water taxis!) and then being able to access better food/entertainment/wifi etc without added costs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Staff are very non-responsive.

From the very beginning the service was terrible. We called the hotel 2 days before arrival to bring dates ahead one day. On arrival the communication was not correct in their system and we were told by reception staff"I know that staff member you spoke to on phone and he is a bit slow and doesn't really get things right often "

No assistance with baggage was offered nor help with trolleys to room.

We booked the shuttle bus back from town on the first night and with no communication to us the shuttle was cancelled leaving us only water taxi (which we made last min) or a taxi costing $40-$50 as hotel is 15-20 min out of town.

We booked shuttle for the following day to coincide with a booked tour. When called to confirm booking it was once again cancelled with no notice to us. both am and pm shuttle bus cancelled.

Parking is very limited and if you do not get a park at hotel you must park on main road up a hill approx 5min walk away.

Food within complex is very expensive and minimal room service which also comes as an added cost.

The room itself was nice and tidy and also stylish however if you book a lake view room you may not get this. We booked a lake view room and could see no part of lake from our room.

Would not stay here again and would highly suggest anyone to stay at a hotel closer to town as there are just as nice , if not nicer hotels closer to town.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Address: Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hotel where exuberant design meets breathtaking natural beauty; a hotel that celebrates all the excitement and adventure of one of the world's best-loved playgrounds. Discover DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. With views over a landscape renowned for its intense beauty, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Queenstown by land or 8 minutes by water taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.