We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel with comfortable room, beautiful location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel with comfortable room, beautiful location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Room is clean, cosy and comfortable with beautiful and stunning views overlooking lake Wakatipu and the mountains. There is a small kitchen and the bedroom has a sliding door that can separate it from the living room area. We were given unlimited complimentary wifi which was excellent. Breakfast buffet was great at Wakatipu Grill with good quality spread. Staff we met here are always smiley and friendly. We have no issue with traveling to town as we drove.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and yes, will love return again.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Aletus

Thank you for a great review. I will share your feedback with the team, it is always nice to read that the work they do delivers great service to our guests

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    226
    77
    21
    11
See reviews for
94
361
36
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent 7 nights in a lake-view room and found that for the ~AUD$100 a night we paid it was very good value. The rooms are serviced daily, though degree of attention varied between days. Full kitchen setup was valuable though we ended up eating out every night (Me&Mee in the complex had passable noodles/fried rice but a tad pricey). The bed seemed ok but after 3 nights we both had sore backs and bad sleep. The plug in the bathroom sink was broken, and bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze with both of us in there.
About a 15min drive to QT, but a supermarket and a few take-aways in nearby Frankton is handy in a pinch. Great location if you're using Remakables ski resort, with a Browns store in the complex for hire. Free parking under the building.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear AmyT24

Thanks for the review.

I have shared your feedback with our Executive Head housekeeper to ensure we achieve a consistent level of service. Thank you for also pointing out the options available around the village

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

OK hotel but let down by a couple of things. Nice room, good bed but bathroom setup disappointing. Shower over very narrow bath which means you have to stand side on to shower. Only 2 teabags/sugar sachets so cant even have a cuppa at night and in morning for both of us. Paid $187 so this seemed mean. Breakfast at the Hilton disappointing. An ok experience but better value for money to be had in Queenstown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear sangemclean

Thank for taking the time to send in a reviw.

I was disappointed to read that you had a few issues. I have raised your comments with the team to review the standards we offer and ensure we deliver on guest expectations.

We have some special offers coming up in October and November. If you are coming up again please send me an e mail and I will ensure your experience is one you would expect, andrew.nisbet@hilton.com

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a 1-night stay at the Deluxe Lakeview room. Staff at reception (Marketa) upon check-in was polite with excellent customer service. Check-in was a breeze as there wasn't any other guests at the reception desk. Complimentary undercover parking was available but on a first-come-first served basis - otherwise guests may park along the side street (no charge).

Location was some 15 mins drive from Queenstown city centre, or some 7 mins to Burger King fast food outlet located at the fringe of the city centre. Alternatively the Remarkables Park Shopping Centre is some 5 mins drive away, where there are boutique shops, a New World supermarket and other food joints.

As we booked the Deluxe Lakeview room, it came not only with an excellent view of the lake but also a kitchenette equipped with a microwave, conventional oven, conduction cook top and cooking utensils. Detergent and dish-washing amenities were also provided.

Because we travelled as a family we opted for two beds. However each bed were single - which was quite different to other Hiltons (e.g. , where each bed was at least a double size). We noted that the bedside tables were affixed to the wall - likely for safety in the event of an earthquake (last time one occured was in Aug 2012) - and hence the two single beds could not be joined as a bedside table was in the middle of the two beds. Nevertheless, beds were comfy and pillows fluffy.

The Hilton Kawarau has a mini-cinema within the complex so one does not need to walk over to the Hilton Queenstown (1 min walk away), unlike if one were to use the swimming pool or spa/steam room - where these facilities are located within the Hilton Queenstown complex (note the Hilton Queenstown: complex #1 is separate to the Hilton Kawarau: complex #2).

Breakfast was included in our package - and it was in the Wakatipu Grill. Breakfast spread was fantastic, with some Asian (fried rice, noodles, congee, dumplings), some French pastries, fruit salad/spread and the usual hot buffet spread of has browns, baked beans, eggs cooked any-way you like, chicken sausages, bacon, etc. The fresh fruit/vegetable self-juicer was probably the most used equipment in the Grill! The Wakatipu Grill faces the lake so get a table that overlooks the lake and enjoy the relaxed feeling while having breakfast!

Overall, Hilton Kawarau gets my 5-star and will definitely stay here again, away from the busyness of Queenstown city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear ProfVau

Thank you for a great review. It was nice to read the detail you went into which gives a really good balance for others to read.

Come and see us again soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located in an amazing environment right next to lake Wakatipu
. Really beautiful views and close to Remarkables ski resort and Queenstown city centre. Rooms were very clean and comfortable although small. Enjoyed it overall...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Jay C

Thank you for the review. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room itself was really nice and clean. But they charge you for every little thing. In every other hotel we stayed at in New Zealand, internet was either complementary, or in one case they charged $16 for 1g of data. That lasted us a few days. Here, they charge outrageous prices for wi-fi... $14.50 for an hour! We wound up buying the weekly internet, which was $120... absolutely ridiculous price. They have a beautiful hotel pool, which costs $20 to use. We ordered room service dessert for $19, which arrived at our room 30 minutes later and was stale. For nearly $200 a night, I expected better service and quality. Try to avoid this place if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear yeahiknow1234

I was very disappointed to read that you felt we did not offer value for money. We strive to offer good value and an enjoyable experience. We take all of our feedback on board to try and improve the services we offer.

The team have read your comments and will be working to see what we can improve upon.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great place to stay. Beautiful views. Clean and modern.We didn't want to stay right in Queenstown and so this was ideal for us. It was easy access to The Remarkables and the airport, and an easy water taxi ride in to Queenstown. Parking is free and easy if you've got a car.
There was a great selection of restaurants in the Kawarau Village as well-we enjoyed every meal we had in the area. Great friendly service as well.
The kitchenette was well-stocked but we didn't really use it.
Bed was very comfortable. All the necessary bathroom amenities and replaced every day.
Internet was reliable, free, and easy to use. Staff at the front desk of both the Kawarau Hotel and the Hilton next door were very friendly and helpful, as were the activity booking staff.
Biggest issue we had was that there is really no space in the rooms for your stuff- there is one suitcase rack and some hanging space in the closet, but that's it. Nowhere to put more than one bag and no drawers. Definitely a cozy room!
But overall we found it a beautiful, comfortable place to come home to at the end of a day of skiing and would stay again! Found it hard to get up early and leave in the mornings!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room higher than the first floor- it felt like people walking by could see into ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear oznikkels

Thank you for a wonderful review.

It was really nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and great for the team to read, it makes such a difference when they see how much they can impact guest experiences.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Address: Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hotel where exuberant design meets breathtaking natural beauty; a hotel that celebrates all the excitement and adventure of one of the world's best-loved playgrounds. Discover DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. With views over a landscape renowned for its intense beauty, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Queenstown by land or 8 minutes by water taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.