We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend to all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #24 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Recommend to all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was looking for something affordable in Queenstown area for a few nights and found this advertised for approx $75 per night, looked great in photos but didn't expect too much. We arrived and it looked even better than the pics. Room was beautiful, staff friendly and was situated in village with everything you need. Also found a really nice running track around the lake from the base of the hotel. Would've loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Whytecox

It was great to see you were pleasantly surprised with our village.
Thank you for sharing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay for longer next time.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    229
    77
    21
    11
See reviews for
96
361
36
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

While in Queenstown for a weekend we stayed at Kawarau Hotel and had an outstanding time. The staff were unobtrusive, the room was very spacious, clean and well looked after. Had take out from the noodle place (Me & Mee) which could have had more flavour and had a very luxurious massage at the spa. Used the water taxi service and went into Queenstown where we had lunch at Sasso ***** - see my other review. Overall an enjoyable stay - We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear AlanEllis2013

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience so many of our facilities in the village.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate my mothers birthday. It was fantastic. The rooms are really comfortable and the view of lake Wakatipu are brilliant. The room layout is nice with lots of natural sunlight for the day time and those fantastic block out curtains that really make the room dark for those sleepy mornings. The showers are a bit pokey but do the job and they have great heaters in them that warm up the bathroom almost instantaneously. The hotel is about 20 min from Queenstown which is a bit far but they do have a water taxi that runs every hour and a bus that also runs every hour.

The restaurant Me Mee was a really nice Asian restaurant with very quick and easy meals. The staff were very friendly and courteous.

We also ate at Stacks pub which had great tasting food with really nice staff members. These meals would be the best after a big day of skiing/snowboarding.

Room Tip: book lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear suede16

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and your mothers birthday.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked for 3 nights in Dec 2012 just prior to New Year. It was great value, one of the best prices in Queenstown, and for a modern, comfortable, almost new hotel. The lobby was a welcoming if not overly opulent, uncluttered contemporary space. The room was in perfect condition, very clean and comfortable, quiet, room service was great - from the Hilton Hotel next door, staff were very helpful, and the Qbook adjacent to the lobby is almost better than having a concierge. We stayed in the Hilton for the next two nights (that is for another review) and whilst it was undoubtedly much more luxurious, we almost preferred the Kawarau room for the kitchenette, and overall good value. And the toiletries were the same too!
The only downsides were the limited car parking in the basement (although we always found the last spot!) and the location. Finding the hotel when we arrived very late on the first night was a bit stressful, it is located a long way from the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear e c

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience both hotels.

I appreciate the tight parking facilities. Over the new year period with 300 rooms in the village full, it was very busy in the underground park. We are very fortunate to have plenty of space on the roadside as well. This is something we could not offer if we were situated any closer to the centre of Queenstown.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We chose the hotel based on positive Tripadvisor reviews and were pleasantly surprised. For $80/night (during the summer), you get free breakfast in the nearby Hilton, access to Hilton gym and swimming pool, free parking and very nice room with separate living room and bedroom. The only downside is that you either need a car to get to Queenstown (10 min drive) or pay for the lake ferry (comes every 30 mins).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear tom101cz

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.
Thank you for mentioning the water taxi and there is also a regular bus service from the village into Queenstown.

I do hope you will visit us again when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The location was fantastic - glorious views and peceful surroundings.
Excellent facilities on site - disappointed I couldn't obtain a booking at the spa though!
Tasteful, well-appointed rooms - high standard of cleanliness.

Room Tip: Be sure and request "Lake View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Kate

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I am sorry you were unable to have a treatment at the spa. Im not sure of the reason but they are very busy and bookings are consistently high.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return one day soon and maybe have one of those treatments then.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of December for 3 nights in a king lakeview room. The room was clean with modern decor. The hotel is about a ten minute drive to Queenstown. We got a terrific rate for the room. Hilton gold members get free continental breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the lake for two people (about $50/day value) and free wireless ($29/day value). Breakfast was lovely - fresh squeezed juices, breads, fruit, yogurt, pastries, cereal, cheeses, meats, etc. The room was very quiet. Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: Best lakeview rooms are on the second floor (not third floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Elsie

Great to see you enjoyed yourselves during your stay at the Kawarau Hotel managed by Hilton.
Thank you for sharing your comments and I am pleased you liked the breakfast options.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Address: Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#23 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hotel where exuberant design meets breathtaking natural beauty; a hotel that celebrates all the excitement and adventure of one of the world's best-loved playgrounds. Discover DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. With views over a landscape renowned for its intense beauty, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Queenstown by land or 8 minutes by water taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.