We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton

Save Saved
You added Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village | Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #28 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Lucknow, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Kawarau hotel is located in a excellent location, set amongst a scenic lake. The rooms are clean and tidy and there is a private ferry to main queenstown centre. What impressed me was good rates along with a nice walk next to a lake.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear jaidheeru

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for sharing your comments.
We are very lucky to have such a stunning location.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    164
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
72
262
30
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights there during my NZ trip this year. It is far away from Queenstown in a complex that doesn't look finished, I had this feeling of a post zombie apocalypse video game (as PossumJoy perfectly pointed out in his review).
I was happy with the room, spacious and bright with a comfy bed, people working in the reception were nice and trying to be as helpful as possible, the bar next door serving pretty good food. 5 minutes to the airport..

I didn't like the place where hotel is based, about 15 mins drive to the the centre of Queenstown, the room was clean, but the empty shower gel bottles were not collected from the shower tub (did they clean it??). there supposed to be a few places to eat around, but some of them were closed and I couldn't find any information about that.

Overall, nice hotel in a place a little too far from Queenstown, but close to the airport. If you like silence and don't want to see too many people during your stay, it is a place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear msidw77

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay at the hotel and your feedback is most appreciated.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return sometime.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Firstly, the room was nice. We had a King Kawarau Deluxe Lakeview, although it seemed a little compact and I felt that it would be much nicer as a studio type room. Free parking, reception were lovely.

The hotel however is not in the heart of Queenstown, and is a 10-minute drive so not really close to anything except a McDonalds up the road and some food places that are built into the complex. Given another chance to stay in Queenstown I would definitely pick something that is closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Freen4

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
Queenstown is a very small town so everything is relatively close. There is the Remarkables Park shopping centre which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel adjacent to the airport.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting New Zealand.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in this self-contained apartment in our 19 days ski holiday in queenstown last winter (aug, 2012). this hotel was the BEST (better than Hilton, in terms of value. if i have time, i will write a review about hilton queenstown later).

our one bedroom apartment was on the north side of level 2 and we could barely see the lake. the lake view is not important to us, but still better than the drive way view (if your room is facing south).

i would say that the rooms were modern and compact rather than LARGE. the room size was just good for us. If you are the kind of old-fashioned and after LARGE size rooms, you may want to book in St Moritz Queenstown (cough! check my first ever review on that horrible hotel, in my opinion though. cough!)

you will be provided with everything you need to make a meal which saves a lot of money compared to eating out (big mac or kfc excluded).

the bed was big for two people, but honestly it was not the most comfortable we had ever slept on. (the one in Hilton was better, but the best ever bed was offered in a five-star boutique hotel in Tasmania....)

The location of the hotel is as good (or as bad, if you want to argue) as Hilton Queenstown. We always had rental car, so it is not a problem for us at all. It is also closer to Remarkable compared to any hotels in frankton or queenstown. it is an advantage for anyone that wants to ski in the remarkable (BUT the remarkable is boring...)

no swimming pool or fitness centre in this hotel, but you can use Hilton's if you want (you have to pay). we did not use and did not care. that being said, when we stayed in hilton, we did use its swimming pool, quite good :)

Room Tip: lv 2 and above facing north (the lake), if you are desperate to have to lake view but are not willin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Eric

Thank you for sharing your detailed review following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a night through the wotif company - firstly the positive aspects of the stay; reasonable price, polite reception staff, free parking, clean.

The negatives - the 'village' that Kawarau Hotel is in has the atmosphere of a post zombie apocalypse video game and about two other people were seen the whole time. Eerie. The hotel is definitely not in Queenstown (as stated on wotif), but is in fact at least 10 minutes drive away.

In all - there are nicer places to stay closer to Queenstown. Glad it was only one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Possum Joy

I appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I am sorry you felt like you were in a 'zombie game' October is typically a quieter month for this area. I do hope you have the opportunity to return and experience the hustle and bustle of our busy village sometime soon.

Kine regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have now stayed at this hotel twice. Once on a romantic get away weekend and once when travelling through to elsewhere. On both occasions we were impressed by the hotel facilities (love the indoor pool, steam room and sauna) and by the attention to detail and service. The small things like the beautiful bathroom products (which you can purchase larger volumes of at reception to take home) and the quality bed linen are as carefully attended to as the beautiful rooms (schist stone gas fire !) with world class views and the perfect, on time, room service. We were even able to get a barista made flat white delivered to our room ! This is our favourite hotel in Queenstown and while certainly not the cheapest we have been able to get wot-if deals on both occasions that have made our stay not only affordable but comparable to other far less luxurious hotels in town. The only downside if you are visiting Queenstown and do not have your own vehicle - it is a wee way from town. We quite like this as QT can get a bit noisy and its nice to enjoy the town but stay somewhere quiet. It is still within walking/biking/short car drive distance if you choose. Highly recommended. Can't wait to try the spa on our next stay.

Room Tip: Views vary around the facility so request a lake view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear wk p

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves again and thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay and I was pleased to see we exceeded your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay and I know you will truly enjoy an experience in our luxurious eforea spa.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has the potential to be fantatsic; however due I think to the state of the economy not all of the hotel faciltiies are open. The bar in the Kawaru hotel hasn't been open the two times we have stayed and the Mee and Mee Noodel house which is just fantatsic has limited hours. Also the bar closes at set times rather than stauing open if there are sufficient epople to warrant it.
Cannot fault the location, the rooms the staff or the scenery.
Overall a really really good place to stay and mkes you feel "rich" for a short while! /the Noodel house is exceptionally good valyue for money and the stacks pub is excellent!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra for a view of the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Tania

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

Unfortunately October is a quieter month in this area, however, the bar should not close at set times. Generally it will stay open if there are guests using it. I will pass this on to our Food & Beverage manager to follow up.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed our Me & mee Noodle Bar which is open from wednesday through to sundays.

Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton

Address: Kawarau Village | Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#27 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hotel where exuberant design meets breathtaking natural beauty; a hotel that celebrates all the excitement and adventure of one of the world’s best-loved playgrounds. Discover Queenstown’s new Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton. With views over a landscape renowned for its intense beauty, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Queenstown by land or 8 minutes by water taxi. Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton. Make it your own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawarau Hotel, managed by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.