We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, quiet setting, too far to walk to town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #25 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Madison, WI
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great rooms, quiet setting, too far to walk to town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The Kawarau hotel was lovely, beautiful room, nice amenities, super helpful staff. Our room had a little kitchenette and complimentary tea service. Wi-fi is an extra charge, or you can walk up to the main Hilton lobby and use their business center. Free parking in their underground. All in all a great nights stay, super easy if you have a car... but probably not if you're walking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear SusanLinley

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

I am pleased you had a great nights stay. It is an advantage to have a vehicle when you are staying in the village, however, with the hotel shuttle and water taxi offering a regular service to and from Queenstown it is not a problem.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    226
    77
    21
    11
See reviews for
94
361
36
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We loved our stay at Kawarau while we were in Queenstown. We had a car so it was an easy drive into town or you can pay to take the hotel boat. Although the location is not the best, the rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. We had a great. Iew and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear Mattjd74

It was great to see you loved your stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Firstly, this hotel is not located in Queenstown; it's 9km out of town. No problem if you've got wheels; but would've been nice to know. Secondly, it is so poorly signposted that it's near impossible to find. Finding the village itself is easy, but then you drive around and around as the hotel sign is so poor. When we asked at the Hilton Hotel we were told they get asked constantly for directions.
We checked in, my adult daughter and myself; had requested a twin room; got to the room; one king size bed. Had to wait for housekeeping to come to separate the bed into two singles. Annoying start after I had emailed prior to booking to confirm.
Room itself quite nice, contemporary, clean. However there was no information in our room whatsoever about the hotel / facilities / check out time etc etc. Called to ask about this; housekeeping brought a compendium to the room; apparently it should have been there (but wasn't).
Ordered room service; food was poor. The hotel just gave the impression that it was very unorganised. One positive point; 'Kim" the woman I spoke to when I called for help each time was trying her best and possibly felt embarrassed by the problems we encountered.
There is no free wifi - it costs NZD$29 for room wifi.
One last thing; we had breakfast included; one staff member doing his best; but no bread left near the toaster; no info on how to order the hot food etc etc
Overall; we booked this hotel because of its contemporary feel; which the rooms are; and the lobby / reception area is super funky; however you can do better; and closer to town too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear jana_sydney_nsw

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I do apologise for the poor signage. We have an ongoing battle with NZ Transport Authority to allow signage from the main highway. I am happy to say our internal village signage has now been approved and should be in place within the next few weeks.

I understand it is important for our guests to receive a memorable experience and it looks like we have let you down on several occassions.
Our website indicates we are a 10 minute water taxi ride from Queenstown but we may need to explain the distance by road as well.
Thank you for pointing out to us some opportunities of how we can do better, without your feedback we could not continually improve service and facilities that we provide.
Regarding your comments on room service and housekeeping, thank you for bringing this to my attention. I have reiterated with our team the importance of getting it right 100% of the time.
I do hope that if you are visiting Queenstown again, you will give us another chance to show you this is not typical of our service.

Thank you again
Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here a week. Very comfortable rooms, super views even from basic room. All facilities for self catering if wanted but access to all Hilton restaurants, bar etc. Breakfast good in Kawaru Hilton, but expensive. Only complaint was room repeatedly not serviced until late afternoon / early evening

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear saffiandcleo

I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay at the Kawarau Hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback.

I understand your concerns over the time/lack of servicing of rooms. This is an area we are looking at and have new team members on board undergoing training. Our aim is to have all rooms serviced daily before 3pm.

Thank you again for placing your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel some time soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We had an overnight stay here recently (26th Feb '12) and thought it was fantastic.
The room was beautiful (it also had a lovely small kitchenette), very quiet and the staff very friendly. It's such good value for money too. I would most definately recommend it!

Room Tip: We chose a "basic" room and it had a view of the lake and kitchenette - it was really love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear kristinasydney2

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel. I was so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and happy to hear you will recommend our hotel.

If your travels bring you back to Queenstown, I would very much like to welcome you back to stay at the Kawarau Hotel.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Nice view from the lake view rooms. Shame the very small balcony is filled up with the air con unit so don't expect to sit and have a wine on this balcony! If you what to do that then stay at the Hilton in one of there lake view rooms (for a lot more$$$'s) The room is small but well layed out with everything you might need for a couple of nights stay. The Bar and Grill are both worth a visit too. The water taxi is a great and cheap way to get to town. Nice hotel and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher up the better and ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear New Zealand Hugz

It is always nice to hear guests say they would stay with us again.

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel. I was pleased to see you visited the Wakatipu Grill and used the water taxi.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

I took advantage of some great rates to stay one night. It's a beautiful new hotel, the room was well appointed. For some reason they have designed the level of the bathroom floor below the lounge area causing me to stumble a couple of times. I had an early flight out in the morning so the location worked well for me this time

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear IRFitz

Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Kawarau Hotel.
I was pleased to see everything worked well for you. I understand your comments regarding the step in the bathroom. This was a health and safety requirements at the time of construction, however we are currently looking at adding some signage to avoid any stumbles for guests.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown

Address: Kawarau Village, 79 Peninsula Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Kawarau Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#17 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#22 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#24 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hotel where exuberant design meets breathtaking natural beauty; a hotel that celebrates all the excitement and adventure of one of the world's best-loved playgrounds. Discover DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown. With views over a landscape renowned for its intense beauty, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Queenstown by land or 8 minutes by water taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kawarau Hotel, Managed By Hilton Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.