We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we made the effort to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moke Lake

Moke Lake
Moke Lake Road, Queenstown, New Zealand
+64 3 442 7935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Attractions in Queenstown
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we made the effort to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were fast running out of time before flying home but we made the effort to drive to Moke Lake and I'm so happy we did. The turn off is only a couple of minutes from Queenstown on the road to Glenorchy. Be aware that once you're off the main road there is a fair distance to travel on a gravel road which in parts wasn't maintained. Not a good road to travel down after a lot of rain. The lake is a great spot for walks and picnics and also camping. Will come back next time we are in town for a picnic :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caringbah, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This lake is beautiful and the setting is very tranquil. Would be evenbeter if they had garden seats built along the edge of the lake so you didnt have to sit on the ground.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Moke Lake for a night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Always worth a visit - cheap place to bed down for the night when you're near Queenstown and don't want to pay for a van park. DOCs generally come out daily to check facilities and collect fees, so pay up. Beautiful lake, nice mountains, great walk around the lake (approx 3 hours), fishing, ducks etc. Drive in is un-sealed road, but easily done in a camper or 2-wheel drive. Slightly over-friendly horses in the paddock on the way to the start of the walk...(we had food in our bags). :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best walk in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Moke lake is the best place to tramp around queenstown, unlike Qtown hill or lake Hayes, when we went to Moke like we saw 1 other person in the 2-3 hour walk! All kinds of bird life flying around to. Perfect place to camp for the night to!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A nice simple circular walk around the lake, which seems to be in the middle of nowhere, but is really convenient for queenstown. You may recognize it for Top of the Lake, where it was the setting for the women's camp.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moke Lake also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Moke Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moke Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.