We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Queenstown
auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Well enjoyed, staff are amazing. We will go back when money allows. Positioned at a perfect distance away from town to unwind and watch the sun set and easy enough to access when time to play. truly wonderful experience for the wife and I. Perfect but expensive trip could be done cheaper, but we were last minute.... book in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    263
    103
    40
    17
See reviews for
184
598
31
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great property with indoor pool and good room setup ( we stayed in the 2 bedroom residence)
Despite booking 6 months in advance we did not get a room next to out family friends who we were traveling with and the room move ended being a rude and poorly managed situation overall.
The Customer Relationship Manager(s) were rude and had poor product knowledge of many aspects of out stay eg what was included in out leisure escapes package. All staff would happily give you information which was incorrect and this ended up with excess charges on checkout.
The service on check out was also very rude and the issues were too many to include in this review.
Overall great property as long as you so need the staff in the hotel and some were infuriating whilst others were brilliant ( like the staff at the Cruz Bar and Lake Grocer)
Very disappointed with the service and felt like they just ticked boxes to get things done and in the process made out stay so unbearable we tried to move to the Sofitel but they had no availability.
The manager despite out trying to liase with did not appear and they had the clout to keep us out of out room from 9 am to 5pm and charge the outgoing customers a late fee and not even an apology for no room with 2 young kids sat outside waiting for a room!
Shame as the set up is beautiful and the holiday would have been amazing but we had an awful experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I and my wife were celebrating our 5th year anniversary here at Hilton Hotel mid of July 2014. Service is great, and I purposely asked for room which overlooking the lake. Absolutely stunning!
Everything went really smooth. In those peak season time, we used valet parking, and it was really helpful, otherwise you may find it troublesome for your car parking.
When we got a chance we definitely will consider Hilton again!

Room Tip: Choose room 412, it's special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are ok but I stayed in a room near the service where the attendant comes in and out and I keep hearing the door slammed. Do not stay at 622! Also if you have no car, you may have to take water taxi but it does not cone often.

The town is 10 min drive but it would have been better if it's in town. There's not much to do around the hotel. Although it is closer to the airport, handy on your way home.

The wakatipu grill does serve great food but a bit over priced and so as the rooms for what you get. The Complete breakfast can be improved- as a foodie, the food are over cooked and congee is tasteless.

I'd recommend you stay in the heart of Queenstown for more activities and convenience.


Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I have stayed at all the major hotels in Queenstown over the years. As a Hilton Honors member and only for this reason did I book my recent stay at this hotel, as I had a feeling that transportation into town was going to be a hassle and expensive.

The good news:
- The hotel presentation and outlook is fantastic. The rooms are modern and clean.
- The beds are very comfortable.
- Climate control is.. well... perfect - I never had the feeling I was too cold or too hot.
- The gas fireplaces in the rooms really add to the Queenstown vibe.
- Spacing between rooms which dramitically cuts down on other guest noise.
- Lots of power points (although no international points) in the rooms (I find this usually to be a problem)
- Staff were always friendly and courteous.

The bad news:
- The BIG problem is transport. The hotel advertises a free shuttle service into town. But as other reviewers have stated it is almost ALWAYS full and far too infrequent. I can't understand why Hilton have done this. They have a hotel that is a $50 cab fare out of town and don't provide a viable transport option. It is for this reason alone that I can not recommend this Hotel if you do not have your own transport. The water taxi is an option at $10 a person but again far to infrequent to be of any use.
- The internet only provides for 2 devices. These days I would say most travelers have a smartphone, laptop and tablet.
- No cups in the bathroom. I can't understand this. Such an obviously lacking yet critical item. I had to turn the room upside down to find some - they are in the bottom shelf next to the minibar.

Room Tip: Level 5 and up will give you better views I feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here 7 nights recently and loved it! Fantastic spacious rooms- loved the fireplace/living area and huge bathroom, a beautiful location and great service. We booked with flight centre so all Internet and full breakfast was included so no troubles there like many people are complaining about. A car is a must have though and hiring one would cost you about the same amount as the water taxi anyways. Parking was very easy and cheap in Queenstown. Breakfast was great although lacking in some areas, i.e. consistently bad scrambled eggs, but loved barista made coffee every morning included! Overall the Hilton is great value for money and a beautiful place to stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First visit to NZ South Island after many trips to North Island, breathtaking scenery...can't believe we waited this long to visit. This was also our first ever family ski trip and we opted for QT over Australia to avoid the long drive from Sydney to the mountains and extortionate hotel prices in Australian resorts plus the lower risk of there not being enough snow so early in the season. With the kids (now 7 and 6) just old enough to start skiing (and a hesitant wife) it was important our ski trip went well and the choice of QT worked out really well for us ...and will now be the first of many family skiing holidays as a result.

We stayed at the Hilton (main building) for 7 nights and took two inter-connecting deluxe lake view rooms both with their own fireplace, tasteful decor and a nice sitting area and balcony. The extra NZD per room per night to upgrade to the lake view rooms was well worthwhile in my view, particularly to allow the opportunity for a quiet beer watching the sunset with a good book while the kids watched TV in their room after a tiring but fun day on the slopes.

Positives
- the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi area, a real highlight for the kids and used daily;
- proximity to Airport (5mins away) and the Remarkables (30 mins away, although resort had not opened yet during our stay);
- modernity, freshness and cleanliness of the hotel;
- quality, space and fit out of the rooms;
- staff attitude and friendliness.

Negatives/Areas for improvement
- 20mins drive from centre of QT, didn't bother us as we only went out a couple of nights but could be an issue for those traveling kid-free who want to go out on the town;
- Per above an extra 20mins away from Coronet Peak (50mins in total on average vs 30min from CBD)
- Room service and restaurant menus had quite limited number of options, not an issue for a shorter stay but for our week long stay would have been good to have more options.

All in all very happy with the Hilton, we weighed up renting an apartment at similar cost and are very glad we went with this instead (particularly given indoor pool).

PS - For skiing we found Cardrona well worth the longer drive (70mins from Hilton), some longer wider green runs that were much better suited to beginners skiing as a family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.