We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of THE nicest rooms in NZ, needs to have free wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Some of THE nicest rooms in NZ, needs to have free wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Pros: The room was beautiful, luxurious, and felt new. We loved the fireplace and the large modern bathroom with tub and shower. The view over the lake, while not the best in Queenstown, was very nice. The customer service was very good.
Cons: The layout of the hotel is a little weird and confusing, wasn't easy to get from self parking to our room. They charge for wireless, which always bothers me.
It's a 10-15 min drive to downtown, but that could be a pro or a con depending on your preference.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    359
    139
    51
    27
See reviews for
243
793
45
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Hilton during our honeymoon in New Zealand. They have a huge lobby and an excellent location. From our room, we could just walk over to the beautiful lake and watch the mountains in the backdrop. Hospitality was up to mark, small fire place, king size bed, were some of the many amenities that Hilton provided. Since, it was our honeymoon, they made it even more special by giving us chocolates and wine!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I know when you get a great first impression of a place you tend to overlook any minor flaws.On the other hand if you start off bad then you pick up on everything. That is what happened to us.
First we could not find the entrance to reception, no signage ( they are making up new ones) and the entrance looked like the entrance to an underground car park. We were not the only ones lost, spoke to another lady who said she'd been driving round in circles trying to find it.
Next, there is no close car parking.........there is an undecover parking station further down the hill but as I have trouble walking up hills and my husband has a permanent limp we opted for the $10 a day valet service. Not impressed........The check in was not as good as it could have been......but I would have forgiven all if I had been happy with our room. No.
When I booked our room I payed the extra for a deluxe lake view room. I was under the impression from thier website that we would have uninterupted water views. What we got was a room set back from the water with a partial lake view between two other blocks of units.
The room itself was nice but both bedside reading lights were damaged.
When we went down to breakfast the next morning we almost turned around and walked out because the music was so loud and totally unsuitable for a nice quiet breaky. There was a lot of food options, so maybe it was just bad luck that what my husband and I selected tasted bad.
No, I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Hilton is near Queenstown airport and a few kilometres from the main town. This was an advantage for me because the views were lovely and access to Queenstown was easy either via the complimentary shuttle bus, local bus, or the water taxi, my preferred way to travel. The rooms are lovely and spacious, have large beds facing the lake and mountain views through the floor to ceiling windows, a small lounge area with chairs and sofa, and a lovely gas fired 'open fire'. The public areas of the hotel also have lots of cosy areas near the fire, including a large fire pit overlooking the lake. The gym is well equipped, there are a number of restaurant options, and the hotel feels very cool and elegant without being stuffy.

Room Tip: Lake facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have stayed in couple other Hilton, must say this is the poorest in service. Not enought staff to services the needs of the holiday maker. We waited 4 hours after 3 calls and 1 visit to the staff to finally have my son sofa bed done so that he can sleep.
Before we left for Sydney I received an email to upgrade our room, happy to pay for the upgrade upon arrival was informed it is not available, then why bother sending the email in the 1st place.
Our room was ok, I think the hotel need a freshen up, all the brown decor it's very depressing.
I would not stay here again,no hair dryer,no wine glasses.
This place is so out of the way, hotel shuttle bus every 2 hours & you have to book 1 day ahead. Water taxi $10 each person each way, otherwise taxi is around $45.00 each way. We had to pay for wifi $15.00 per day.
Over rated

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on two separate occasions about a week apart. On the first occasion all was well - the room was extravagant and beautiful. We liked the site - not in the centre of town and peaceful. The views were to die for, the last snow on the mountains, the beautiful light etc. Breakfast was also absolutely brilliant - we ate far too much.
The second time we stayed we were in a room that was above the roller doors. I was wondering what the noise was that we could hear, even into the night. It was people coming and going into the hotel. It spoilt that night. Make sure you do not get a room above those doors. That room, was equally expensive to the other room, so choose your room carefully.
Despite the date I ticked we stayed in October 2012.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the roller doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for 2 nights. We usually stay at Marriott hotels and it's been a while since we've stayed at a Hilton. The hotel was very clean, the service was friendly and the food in the restaurant was good. The view from our room (of the lake) was also very nice. Now for the negatives: I hate checking into a nice hotel and then being "nickeled and dimed" for the small stuff that you would expect to be included when paying this kind of money for a room. I can't remember the last time I checked into a hotel and had to pay for WiFi in the room. The Hilton will charge you $15 per day for WiFi access - I remember when hotels used to do this about 10 years ago, but it's ridiculous to charge for it these days. WiFi is simply expected now - don't charge your guests!!! I also am used to having at least 1 bottle of water included free of charge - Hilton will charge you $6.50 for a bottle of water. Again, these are little things, but Hilton needs to get with the program on this stuff - this is why I stick with Marriott!

Room Tip: Get a room with a vew of the lake if possible - the views in Queenstown are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.