We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel 10 minutes from Queenstown, but central to everything the area has to offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel 10 minutes from Queenstown, but central to everything the area has to offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We truly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Hilton. We had actually booked a lake view room in the Kawerau Hotel next door, but I guess they had spare rooms in the Hilton and upgraded us to that. However, the room they put us in did not have a lake view, so we notified reception of this and they happily moved us to an excellent room with a stunning view of the lake..

The room was were well sized with a gas fireplace as well temperature controlled heating and a very comfortable king-sized bed. The luxurious bathroom had a bath and shower, with lovely bath products. Everything spoke of quality and comfort. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

It's a little way out from Queenstown though, but we had a hire car and parking was free. having said that, the hotel is centrally positioned for everything that the Queenstown/Wanaka area has to offer and is also close to the airport.

There was a ski shop in the complex, where we were able to get our skis tuned and where we were able to rent some bikes for a day's riding around the lake. We rode around the lake to the Queenstown Golf Course and had a coffee and sandwich on their deck. The view across the lake to Queenstown was stunning. Definitely a worthwhile excursion to try. There's also a number of nice restaurants in the complex, but we would also recommend driving along to Frankton to the local Indian restaurant. The food there was amazing.

Nice hotel - we would definitely go back. In fact, we've booked another weekend there at the end of October.

Room Tip: Cthishoose a lake view room and wake up to stunning views across the lake from your king-sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Loyal-QPR-Fan

Thank you for a great review and for pointing some of the great attractions around the area. Nice to hear the Indian restaurant was to your liking, maybe an option to open one in the village! food for thought.

Look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    359
    139
    51
    27
See reviews for
243
793
45
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Really impressed. Room was beautiful, staff friendly and helpful. Had a bit of trouble finding our way around but probably because we don't stay in hotels often. Pretty quiet time of year, so some the main restaurant was closed. We liked the location (outside main Queenstown).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear YK P

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay.

Come back and see us in the summer when all of the outlets are open, weather is great and the views just keep getting better.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location: OUT OF TOWN. With a car this was no problem as I subscribe to the mantra 'know before you go'. Indeed as a group of 5 adults the hotel situation on the beautiful Lake Waktipu amid stunning scenery is also what Queenstown is about.

The Hilton: The design hugs the lakeshore so is a long, storied collection of buildings which make up the complex. A bit of a rabbit warren? Yes and I'm sure there is some internal undercover passageway from Room 306 to breakfast but I am yet to find it.

The Apartments: 2x2 Bedroomed Lakeside apartments suited our needs many thanks to Anzene for modifying our earlier booking and making us extremely happy with our stay. Very comfortable and relaxing ambience in each apartment. Our purpose was to spend time together of an evening so we used the balcony for our pre and after dinner drinks and the kitchen in the apartment for dinner sodid not have to face the taxi/bus/watertaxi question which besets many guests who wish to dine in town. Again do the research.

I agree that the kitchen cupboards holding all the crockery is ridiculously high, necessitating a 6 foot + brother or a climb onto the bench to access them. We let housekeeping put them away after use.

Food: We did the continental breakfast both mornings. There is a cross room traipse among diners and food stations to register if you are staying in the residences. Doubtless it is orientated to the hotel guests. Seemed to be difficulty in estimating supply on both days with run outs and long waits for replenishment of popular/staple items. Service spotty and flappy but pleasant.

Overall we enjoyed the Hilton Queenstown enormously
(Catching the elusive water taxied back one evening @ 6.00pm we remarked what a cheap excursion it was in such a beautiful part of NZ!)
:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Pmariel

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I have discussed the points you raised with the team to ensure we are training the team on delivering consistency.

Overall I could see you were pleased with your stay and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We only really venture to queenstown around twice per year, but I think we have found our spot. On one occasion this year we were upgraded spontaneously to a suite, on the other we were granted early checkin and late checkout. The service is not obtrusive in any way and the rooms are well appointed with huge bathrooms. The fitness area and pool are also impressive. As a couple in our thirties it is nice to be away from the backpackers, the water taxi makes life easy if you fancy a wine in town.

I have just joined the HiltonHonours club and can see myself racking up a few points here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear andrew i

Great review, thank you. I was pleased to read you had joined our HHonors rewards programme. There are great benefits from becoming a member, I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Please feel free to contact me at andrew.nisbet@hilton.com, it would be nice to say hello on your next visit

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

At first glance the Hilton Residences seems have all the features that you would expect in a 5 star hotel: great location, well appointed rooms and lovely grounds. Unfortunately we encountered several significant problems in guest facilities and lapses in guest service which made our stay here very disappointing and disillusioned with the Hilton brand.

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 young children) stayed at the Hilton Residences for 6 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom ground floor unit.
In general the rooms are reasonably well appointed but a couple of things did stand out as a bit unusual.

The two bedrooms are only separated from the living area by folding doors with opaque window panes so the bedrooms are neither sound nor light insulated from the living area nor is there much modesty for those in the bedrooms. This means you all need to go to bed at the same time and get up at the same time as everything you do (watching TV, drawing the curtains, reading with a lamp on, having breakfast etc) in the living area can be seen and heard in the bedrooms. Conversely everything you do in the bedrooms can be seen or heard in the living area ... no further explanation needed.

The crockery/cutlery situation is pretty minimal in the residences with just 4 of each item so too bad if you want a second cup of coffee and even then we seemed to be missing a few items. These were replaced after we asked but you’d think housekeeping would check and replace missing items. Housekeeping also seemed to have problems with towel counts with short deliveries on 2 of the 6 services and replacements.

Room cleaning was also not a strong point at the Hilton Queenstown. We found old cigarette butts, matches and pistachio shells under our balcony table and all over our garden area from previous guests. Daily cleaning was pretty patchy with floors seemingly only cleaned every 2-3 days during multi-day stays.

Although we had a 2 bedroom residence the Hilton only provides one of everything so one bedroom gets a phone and the other gets the alarm clock, one room gets an ensuite and TV and the other gets a safe. Unusual way to provide services to guests but maybe it saved them some money on the fitout.

There is no air conditioning in the residences and this clearly flagged on the Hilton website. Even in October the rooms got very hot during the night so you can’t sleep with the bedroom door closed and you can’t really leave the balcony doors open in a ground floor unit. I would not want to stay in one of these units during summer.

Wifi was advertised as being included in our booking price but reception wanted to charge is $10/day when we checked in because their policy had “changed”. After having to query this robustly and assertively at check-in, the charge was dropped as we had booked prior to the policy change. Having obtained wifi we found it to be very very slow and delivery seemed to drop out every now and then.

Other minor gripes were the lack of signage around the complex, noise from the plumbing from other apartments, a noisy water cylinder in our room which literally shrieked every time water was used on the apartment, and an incredibly badly designed kitchenette with come crockery placed so high up that it could not be reached by the average adult.

Eating at the Hilton is pretty limited for families with children with the choices being the Stacks pub and the Asian style restaurant Mee and Me. Service at Stacks was very friendly and the meals were a good size. Prices were higher than normal city prices (as you would probably expect) but kids do eat free which was pretty good. Me and Mee was supposedly closed for maintenance (for 2 months) when we visited (but this was only noted on the restaurant door and nowhere else in the hotel or it’s information sheets). The lack of dining choices at the Hilton could be problematic for some guests due to its distance from Queenstown.
On the positive side, the gardens and the outdoor areas are really well maintained and attractively set out, there is a pleasant lap pool and check-in and check-out was also very efficient.

You need to think carefully before booking at Hilton Queenstown. It has some good points but fails quite badly in its guest features in many many ways. You have to have a car to travel around as the watertaxi service is far too infrequent and very expensive, taxis are at least $45 each way and the local bus service is also slow and expensive.

Sorry Hilton but we won’t be coming back any time soon as there are a lot of better options in Queenstown.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear KelvinW

Thank you for your review. I must apologise for my delay in responding as I have been off site for most of October.

I was very disappointed to read your review. Your comments, albeit not good, are appreciated and they are used to address areas that we have clearly fell short of our, and your, expectations.

Whilst the team and I deal with the points, I would really appreciate you contacting me at andrew.nisbet@hilton.com as I feel your stay is not reflective of the levels of service and experience we deliver and therefore would like to invite you back by way of apology.

I look forward to hearing from you soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in one of the lakefront apartments. What a fantastic spot, right on the lake and only a 10 minute drive from Queenstown central. We had a rental car so being out of town wasn't a problem at all, in fact I think that it was probably more peaceful as Queenstown itself was very busy. The apartment was beautifully appointed and very clean. The staff who we did come in to contact with were very friendly and efficient. It was great having the kitchenette and the laundry. Our room was on the lakefront on the ground floor which meant we stepped out from our room on to the lakefront walkway. This was very nice but I think next time we would prefer to be on one of the higher apartments so that we had a better overall view of the lake and mountains....but still a wonderful spot. Can't wait to return....didn't want to leave.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Chrissy B

Thank you for a great review and I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed the apartment. I agree with you, town is a little busy at times and the village we have here is so peaceful.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable, hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren but we found our room after all, time for a refreshment on the balcony, shame their is no longer a mini-bar.must have been a quiet weekend as their appeared hardly any staff present. Unimpressed with dinner, not as good as it was when it just opened, a bit pretentious really, not as good as dining options in town and still very pricey. After dinner had a few drinks in the bar by the fire pit which was very pleasant.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear FD67

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy the dinner in the Grill. I have discussed your feedback with the team to ensure we are delivering high levels of service, without the pretentiousness, at all times.

Apologies for the mini bar as we were in a transition stage and now have them fully implemented.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.