We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, quality rooms, average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, quality rooms, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for a night during April before departing Queenstown and love the location as it is near the airport, yet quiet and peaceful.
The room is spacious, clean and looks really new. Gas fire in the room creates gorgeous and cosy feel, and is effective to warm up the room pretty quickly. Stunning settings and beautiful views of the lake and mountains in this tranquil location makes our stay here wonderful. It is a distance from town but we drove so that wasn't an issue.
Service standard was very average. Front desk who attended to us for check in and check out was robotic and was "expressionless", but they got things done promptly. I guess it is the hospitality part that is lacking compared to other B&Bs/hotels we stayed for that trip in south island.
Overall i will still recommend this resort for its location, rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Aletus

Thank you talking time to write your review.

I have shared your feedback with the team. We can be inconsistent at times but we are working to improve. Great to read how much you enjoyed the resort.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    300
    113
    43
    21
See reviews for
208
677
35
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

One word sums up the Hilton Queenstown: WOW. Pure luxury at its finest with a world class menu at the resort's Wakatipu Grill (we stopped in for both breakfast, dinner & cocktails, and my goodness it was DIVINE with the food, service, views, luxurious fittings and firepits) as well as cosy rooms complete with lake views and a fireplace. The spa is worth a visit - our 45 minute full body massage flew by, should've booked a 90 minute! Located near the airport, right on the Lake with picturesque views of the snowcapped mountains surrounding this delightfully different town. It's perfect for a relaxing stay away from the hustle & bustle of town, however if you're into the bustle then you can hop on a frequent bus for only $8.50 return and you'll be there within 20 minutes. There's also the water taxi which is worth a ride at least once, however they're more infrequent and cost is $10pp each way. For those heading into town, be sure to stop by Fergberger & Fergbakery - it's worth the 1/2 hour wait for your meal! Queenstown is truly a magical place that blew us away and surpassed all our expectations - it's a bit like Swiss Alps meets Aspen.. love it. The Hilton was the cherry on top :)

Room Tip: all the rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ilovereggae

Great review, thank you. I was pleased to read how easy you found the transport into town.

You must pop over in the summer and escape the Brisbane humidity. The summer is so fresh and even more beautiful. Let me know if you’re coming and we will look after you, andrew.nisbet@hilton.com

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Locating at 15 minutes away from the central of the Queenstown, the location of this hotel is amazingly beautiful and relaxing. however transportation to Queenstown is not so convenient. I would strongly recommend to stay this hotel with a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear ATripAdvisor Member

Thanks for the review. We are working on transport options and looking at trialling a scheduled shuttle service into town.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Absolutely beautiful rooms, grounds & views. The Hilton is real luxury and would recommend to all! The most relaxing holiday you could ask for! More water taxis are needed however, as stop too early and not regular enough during peak times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear AnnaC

Thank for taking the time to write a great review. We are working on the transport options so by the time you visit again it will be even better

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The rooms were quite spacious and clean.very well maintained and friendly staff..we were there for 3nights and our stay was very comfortable and nice.we had a great time .... And off course the view is just awesome..u could see the lake and the mountains from the window...beautifull!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Go-green2013

Thank you for a great review. I think we would all agree the views are awesome.

Come and stay again, maybe in Summer, even better!

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for seven nights with our ten month old daughter. We chose the resort as it was very reasonably priced for a two room, two bathroom, full kitchen and laundry, as compared to accommodation in central Queenstown. Overall, a comfortable stay. The room is quite large, with lovely scenery over the lake. Staff okay, although really don't go out of their way to assist. Room service very expensive, and the food quite ordinary. The restaurants are very handy, particularly with a baby; however again, the food is very ordinary; however we only ate at Stacks pub. Staff were just lovely and very attentive. The Lake Counter deli did sell some tasty snacks; however be prepared to pay six dollars for a very ordinary cup of coffee. Overall, an okay stay. This was our fourth trip to Queenstown, so we were okay with the distance from the actual town itself. We also hired a car. If this was my first trip to Queenstown, I would not be staying at the Hilton. You will think you are too far away from the action. However, if you are looking for a comfortable stay at a place that is very reasonably priced, you might enjoy the Hilton.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear AustralianNelly

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed we did not deliver an exceptional experience. There are clearly a few areas to improve upon, or become more consistent in, to ensure a great experience.

If you get a chance try and come over in the summer.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hey. The Hilton, Queenstown is one of the best places to stay in Queenstown I think, However . . . I just got back a few days ago and found the staff service terrible. I use day spas often and tried to book an appointment at the Eforea day spa, Hilton and the women said "We don't have that anymore!" in some kinda abrupt manner and then couldn't be bother helping me choose another option to that point I was put off by the day spa anyway.
The room service was bad. Beds weren't made well, finger nails on floor on our arrival, dust on tables and not good. Then you go down to the pool/spa area to find no towels to use anywhere, used plastic cups everywhere, unclean showers in change room, a cold/not for swimming indoor pool and a yoga room with no yoga class they mentioned or didn't mention. Concierge was okay though. I wrote a feedback form so it may improve. Good luck!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear sweettraveller992

I was disappointed to read your issues from a recent stay at the Hilton. Rest assured this is not indicative of the service levels we strive to deliver. I have shared your feedback with the team to ensure we improve the service levels and deliver a quality, consistent experience.

If you are visiting again please let me know and I will make sure we make up for the previous experience, andrew.nisbet@hilton.com

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.