We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most stunning hotel, a pity about the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The most stunning hotel, a pity about the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was my second stay at the Hilton in Queenstown and it is simply the most stunning location and a truly luxurious hotel. My company uses the Hilton globally and I have stayed in a number of Hilton's and this one is right up there when it comes to luxury and location.

My first visit was shortly after they opened to hotel so service teething issues were to be expected with seasonal workers flowing in and out of the hotel before they have experience in the details of the area etc. It was however so good that I decided to return with my partner and some friends in the summer. The hotel was, as expected, fabulous.

Disappointing though is that the service appears to not have improved. All 3 the restaurants had slow service with staff that were ill equipped with knowledge of both hotel and regional facilities. That being said, a quick rundown is as follows:

Front office staff are friendly and valet was tended to promptly. Room service was painfully slow at 60 minutes on average. The rooms are well appointed and if you can, upgrade to a lakefront view. It is unreal. The bathrooms are huge and have superb baths and showers. The Wakatipu Grill (flagship restaurant) staff were poor for such an exclusive restaurant. The Cafe service was terrible as we waited 25 minutes for a coffee and a muffin when we were the only guests waiting for food and a drink. Stax's bar was busy but the service was slow again. The food was good pub fair but nothing special. We had a major incident with Me&Mee, the noodle bar on premises which I will not go into detail here but the hotel management dealt with it well and the food was sensational.

The indoor pool and gym are world class and the spa is an absolute must.

If you're expecting 5 star service you will be disappointed, but the actual hotel location and facilities make up for it.

Ideally you'll have a rental car as the hotel is a little out of the way and cab-fare to and from Queenstown is steep.

There is a jetty which can be used for boat docking.

There is also a ferry to and from QT which docks outside the hotel which is convenient.

Room Tip: Lakefront or lake view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear RudiHefer

It was good to see you enjoyed your second stay at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for sharing your comments.

I do apologise you found the service not up to the standard expected. I am happy to say we have implemented some new procedures to manage busy periods more efficiently. Extra training has been structured to ensure we are delivering a high standard of service consistently 100% of the time.

I do hope you will continue to stay with us when you next visit Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    359
    139
    51
    27
See reviews for
243
793
45
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Excellent hotel as expected as Hilton brand.
Good -
- Free Parking
- Clean room
- Best bed ever
- Best Spa

Need improvement:
- Breakfast menu and quality and taste can be improved to Hilton standard.
- Free WiFi

Even though in other posts the management claims there is free WiFi in the lobby area but not according to the front desk staff, it costs something like 29$ /Day!
Breakfast quality of the food, menu choice and the service were not satisfactory to me compared to other Hiltons.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Dman72

Thank you for taking the time to place your review following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
The internet is complimentary in the Hilton Business Centre and Hilton Worldwide are reviewing their internet systems and fees.

I do apologise you felt the breakfast quality was not up to standard. I have discussed this with our executive chef and we have some ideas for review. I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom delux lake view with our 2 boys 4-8Jan. Really nice rooms, great views etc. BUT, we didn't know that these rooms don't have air con! I can't remember the last place we stayed in that didn't. If we had known we wouldn't have booked it. We were able to get two fans but unfortunately they made little or no difference and we and our two kids had 4 horrible nights trying to sleep, and were then tired and grumpy. Did they not know it can get hot in summer! Nice hotel though. Would absolutely avoid these rooms during summer months.

Room Tip: Confirm your room has air con if staying in summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I do apologise you were not comfortable during this time. The residences you stayed in have not been used before, so all guests were informed there was no air conditioning.
This chirstmas we did experience a short unusually hot period of weather with very little air flow.
This is not typical for this area so generally air conditioning is not an issue.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return again one day and experience a more pleasureable time.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Hilton 17th Dec - 21 Dec in a King Hilton Deluxe Lakeview Room. Although a bit pricey, we very much enjoyed the beautiful lake views; each day a different view to wake up to. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One night we dined at the Whakatipu Grill. Food was fabulous and we had excellent service.

We also did quite a bit or running and walking along the lake on Kelvin Peninsula and Queenstown track.Great if you enjoy biking, running or walking.

If you want isolation, this is a best place to be.

For dining, the options are to go to the city or dine at the local cafes/pub or the restaurant.

We didn't have a rental car, but was quite happy to walk, bus or water taxi as we had seen most of other Queenstown attractions previously. We caught the Connecta bus and went to the city couple of times. The bus stops in front of Hilton. You need to get off in Frankton bus interchange and get onto a bus that says Queenstown - route 11.

One thing to watch out for is on your return trip, the last bus that leaves Frankton to Kelvin Heights is at 8.26pm. That means you should have caught an earlier bus from Queenstown city to Frankton bus interchange. We missed the 8.26pm bus one day and had to catch a water taxi to get back to Hilton.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are recommended if you plan to be in the hotel during the day as you can enjoy the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear poundingfeet

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make good use of the many facilities.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hi,

I am a Hilton Honors Gold member so I have stayed at various Hilton properties. This was definitely one of the best. It is set in a very beautiful setting and the staff is very nice. The room had everything you expect from a Hilton. The only reason I don't give it a 5 is because the breakfast was a bit below the usual standard of Hilton. For example, there was no made to order omelette station. Not that big of a deal in an overall sense, but just the reason why it didnt get a 5 whereas Hilton Bora Bora got a 5 :).

Thanks a lot for a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Sakeb

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at HIlton Queenstown.
I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourself and sorry to hear you thought the breakfast was not quite up to your standard.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNEDIN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked last minute and were very impressed with our whole stay. We stayed in a standard room which had a small deck and a partial lake view. The room was huge as was the bed (and extremely comfortable). The staff were lovely when we checked in (even at a very late hour) and at breakfast, even though we were late arriving and it was busy, the staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful.
I liked the fact that the hotel is a little out of town - it made for a very quiet relaxing stay.

We're already planning our next stay - loved it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear ditzydoris

I appreciate your very positive review following your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves. Its great you are planning your next visit and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had a feeling of being understaffed. Breakfast was too busy. Lots of food unavailable. Chef was run-off his feet. Took far too long to receive an omelette that was overcooked. For a 5-star, this seemed well below par.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Maxamillian

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay.

As the village was full over the festive break, it does indeed create a busy atmosphere.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime when it is a little quieter.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.