We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in scenic setting let down by poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #19 of 61 hotels in Queenstown
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in scenic setting let down by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived in Queenstown from an excellent jet star flight at nine in the morning. Unfortunetly are rental car was unavailble the time we booked it but the rental company made it up by by giving us breakfast and also a taxi to the hotel which is quite close to the hotel. Upon arriving to the hotel we were told the room
Would not be ready till three. We decided to catch a taxi to the city which turned out to be quite expensive as the hotel is far from the city centre you really need a car in Queenstown. We arrived back at the hotel at three to be told our hotel is still not ready and will take another hour! Luckily our rental car was delivered to our hotel and as for compensation for not having our car ready we were offered free tank of fuel, free insurance and also in upgradeto a four wheel drive. HHilton Queenstown could take a lesson from europcar Queenstown in terms of customer service and hospitality. We were not offered anything for the lateness and tardiness of housekeeping despite being am honours member.

The rooms at the hotel our fantastic but let down by real poor service. Turndown service was slow, reception took a really relaxed to everything and the breakfast was not up to Hilton standards. But one incident that really stood out amongst others was an incident that took place on our third day at the Hilton. My wife was at reception Behind another guest who made a racist remark against a certain type of race, instead of ignoring the comment the receptionist agreed to the comment which not only was appalling but not up to the standards of the Hilton brand, this issue will be taken up with the manager of the hotel as it is simply unacceptable. Also the day we left our valet brought our car yo the front but did not help us put our bag in the car. He simply left the keys in the ignition and took off before we could bring our bags to the front, anyone could have drove off with the vehicle as we quite conviently did so!

Overall I would not recommend this hotel not because of the hotel which in.my opioniom has one of the best rooms and facilities such as the pool and the excellent mee mee restaurant but because of its poor customer service, casual dissapointing behaviour of its staff and its below par breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear AdnanMir

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for inconvenience and discomfort you experienced.
I have spoken to the relevant department managers and asked them to take corrective action immediately.
I do welcome you to contact me directly to discuss the incident your wife experienced.
Guest feedback is very important to us as it gives us the connection into the experience that our guests had while staying with us and it allows us to continually improve the services and facilities we have on offer.
It is our hope that this one experience you’ve had with us will not deter you from continuing to be an avid supporter of Hilton Worldwide hotels. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Queenstown and having the opportunity to demonstrate to you that we do offer a very high level of service and hospitality.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    588
    232
    98
    36
    16
See reviews for
160
554
30
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a top notch Hilton with gorgeous views right on the lake. The hotel is clean and the rooms are fantastic. The service was top notch, and we were even upgraded to a beautiful lakeside suite. The food was perfect and the hotel had all sorts of food options. Additionally, valet parking was only $10NZD or like $8 USD (very cheap compared to Auckland). The only issue is the hotel is either a 8min drive from downtown or a water taxi. We did not mind as it made for a very quiet area and easy to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Richard

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay with us at HIlton Queenstown.

Thank you for your positive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting Queenstown.

KInd regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile


Hi all, we are still staying at the hotel at the moment and have a few more days. I would not recommend the hotel if you are planning on joining tours and eating out. Most tours and restaurants will not pick you up from here as it is too far away. There is a hotel water taxi that takes you to town but it is $15 return/$10 one-way, but it doesn't start till noon and finishes at 10pm. There's also a public bus service but you have to switch buses. A taxi is available but is $50 one-way to town. For a hotel of this caliber, it's just not acceptable to not have a complimentary hotel shuttle bus in addition to the water taxi. And it is the one reason we won't stay again.

That being said, the rooms are beautiful as is the view. The Grill has good food. We did run into some service issues with housekeeping not cleaning our room when requested and not dropping of shaving cream when they said they'd bring it ASAP.

There are better options in town that are closer so our overall rating is very good, but the location without convenient transport definitely lowers it. We'd rather take the extra transport cost and stay in a nicer room in town.

If you are planning on doing morning tours, most start around 8am in town and end in town, so choose wisely.

Before this, we stayed at the Novotel with lakeview and thought it was great (surprisingly). We would likely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear travelingisourlife

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

It is a shame the location did not suit your requirements but I am pleased you enjoyed the village.

I do hope you have the opportunity to return again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kawerau on the 30th and Hilton New Year's eve. This was our first time at the Hilton here and will be returning. The staff were exceptional, particularly Tamsin, who handled a very unhappy situation that had occurred in Stacks bar, with the professionalism you would expect from a trained Hilton member. We had encountered her previously when staying at the Kawerau earlier in the year and she was just as professional even though the hotel had just opened. The rooms are relaxing and the Wakatipu Grill is excellent, I can recommend the duck. The pool area is very relaxing and was just what I needed on the 1st Jan. The conceirge was very helpful as I am about to have a knee replaced and find walking any distance aggrevates this. He arranged to park the car and bring it around when I needed it. The water taxi on Sunday night was good, but sit at the back if there is any water chop. Unfortunately due to the weather both the Water Taxi's and the fireworks in Queenstown were cancelled. Guess we will just have to come back next year. For a large hotel, the level of noise is non existant. We only had the continental breakfast this time as dinner on both nights had been wonderful, but know from experience that both selections of breakfast are very good.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems ask for a room near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Glenny49

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated.
It was unfortunate the weather did not hold out for New Years Eve. I do apologise if you were misinformed the fireworks was cancelled. This was not the case.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Tamsin, she is indeed a crucial member of our team and she will be happy to read your comments.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here in a deluxe lake front king room the weekend before Christmas. The rooms are well designed in that you don't get corridor noise and hardly hear your neighbours. It was very private and quiet with stunning views to the lake. It is so new that the room was in great condition with a lovely bathroom and a very comfortable bed.
The hotel is rather spread out and it can be a bit confusing finding reception especially if you arrive by water taxi as we did. I would definitely recommend a car if you stay here. We used taxis which were very efficient but for any length of time would be very expensive.
We loved the recreation facilities. The lap pool is excellent and the day Spa is too. A week later I am still reaping the benefit of my excellent massage. I would water taxi to have a massage here in the future.
We had a lovely meal at Stack's Pub but found the breakfasts to be average with very hit and miss service. I really feel the hotel could be much better if the staff had more training. Most of them have a very casual attitude to their job.

The whole of Kawarau Village is developing nicely and would be a lovely place to stay especially over winter for skiers who love skiing the Remarkables.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Toddy04

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and found your room exceeded expectations.
It was great to read your massage was so enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

the hotel is close to the airport and 15min drive to the town center. one can also go to the town by water taxi $15 roundtrip. we stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the spacious room, beautiful lake view, and peaceful surroundings. the breakfast was a disapointment to the hilton standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear kevinzhikangchen

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I apologise you were dissappointed with the breakfast. I understand it is important for our guests to enjoy a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Queenstown on New Years Eve. Although the hotel was fully booked and the staff very busy they still were very friendly and helpful and made our stay an awesome experience. We had one of the relaxation rooms with our own outdoor spa and a cosy fireplace. From the spa and our room we were overlooking the lake with the Mountains in the background.
Queenstown can be easily reached by the water taxi (single ticket 10 NZD, return 15 NZD) leaving from the wharf in front of the hotel or by bus (single 7 NZD) from the nearby busstation. The taxi from the airport to the hotel costs approx. 25 NZD. There is an extra charge of 6 NZD for taxis from the Airport. The Hilton has a special deal with Taxis for 23 NZD.
Breakfast is served in the Wakatipu Grill with a nice terrave overlooking the lake. The breakfast buffet offers a great variety of food and drinks. It has the facility to create your own smoothie.

For sure we will stay again at the Hilton Queenstown on our next stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: We can highly recommend the relaxation room with your own outdoor spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Stefan

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I was very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for mentioning the travel options in to Queenstown.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#14 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#19 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.