We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Waiheke Island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kawerau on the 30th and Hilton New Year's eve. This was our first time at the Hilton here and will be returning. The staff were exceptional, particularly Tamsin, who handled a very unhappy situation that had occurred in Stacks bar, with the professionalism you would expect from a trained Hilton member. We had encountered her previously when staying at the Kawerau earlier in the year and she was just as professional even though the hotel had just opened. The rooms are relaxing and the Wakatipu Grill is excellent, I can recommend the duck. The pool area is very relaxing and was just what I needed on the 1st Jan. The conceirge was very helpful as I am about to have a knee replaced and find walking any distance aggrevates this. He arranged to park the car and bring it around when I needed it. The water taxi on Sunday night was good, but sit at the back if there is any water chop. Unfortunately due to the weather both the Water Taxi's and the fireworks in Queenstown were cancelled. Guess we will just have to come back next year. For a large hotel, the level of noise is non existant. We only had the continental breakfast this time as dinner on both nights had been wonderful, but know from experience that both selections of breakfast are very good.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems ask for a room near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Glenny49

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I understand it is important for guests to receive a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated.
It was unfortunate the weather did not hold out for New Years Eve. I do apologise if you were misinformed the fireworks was cancelled. This was not the case.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Tamsin, she is indeed a crucial member of our team and she will be happy to read your comments.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    301
    113
    43
    21
See reviews for
208
677
35
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here in a deluxe lake front king room the weekend before Christmas. The rooms are well designed in that you don't get corridor noise and hardly hear your neighbours. It was very private and quiet with stunning views to the lake. It is so new that the room was in great condition with a lovely bathroom and a very comfortable bed.
The hotel is rather spread out and it can be a bit confusing finding reception especially if you arrive by water taxi as we did. I would definitely recommend a car if you stay here. We used taxis which were very efficient but for any length of time would be very expensive.
We loved the recreation facilities. The lap pool is excellent and the day Spa is too. A week later I am still reaping the benefit of my excellent massage. I would water taxi to have a massage here in the future.
We had a lovely meal at Stack's Pub but found the breakfasts to be average with very hit and miss service. I really feel the hotel could be much better if the staff had more training. Most of them have a very casual attitude to their job.

The whole of Kawarau Village is developing nicely and would be a lovely place to stay especially over winter for skiers who love skiing the Remarkables.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Toddy04

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and found your room exceeded expectations.
It was great to read your massage was so enjoyable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

the hotel is close to the airport and 15min drive to the town center. one can also go to the town by water taxi $15 roundtrip. we stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the spacious room, beautiful lake view, and peaceful surroundings. the breakfast was a disapointment to the hilton standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear kevinzhikangchen

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I apologise you were dissappointed with the breakfast. I understand it is important for our guests to enjoy a memorable experience during their stay and your feedback is most appreciated.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Queenstown on New Years Eve. Although the hotel was fully booked and the staff very busy they still were very friendly and helpful and made our stay an awesome experience. We had one of the relaxation rooms with our own outdoor spa and a cosy fireplace. From the spa and our room we were overlooking the lake with the Mountains in the background.
Queenstown can be easily reached by the water taxi (single ticket 10 NZD, return 15 NZD) leaving from the wharf in front of the hotel or by bus (single 7 NZD) from the nearby busstation. The taxi from the airport to the hotel costs approx. 25 NZD. There is an extra charge of 6 NZD for taxis from the Airport. The Hilton has a special deal with Taxis for 23 NZD.
Breakfast is served in the Wakatipu Grill with a nice terrave overlooking the lake. The breakfast buffet offers a great variety of food and drinks. It has the facility to create your own smoothie.

For sure we will stay again at the Hilton Queenstown on our next stay in Queenstown.

Room Tip: We can highly recommend the relaxation room with your own outdoor spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Stefan

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I was very pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves and thank you for mentioning the travel options in to Queenstown.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room was fantastic - we had a double bedroom appartment, with a kitchen area and an outdoor table, right near the lake, but screened by vegetation, so private, whilst scenic - very cool. Well equipped - the kitchen/dining area was very nice, had a washing machine and a drier in the bathroom - everything just great. A very pretty place to stay. A good spa with sauna and pool. A very relaxing stay!!

BAD: (1) room was not ready in time, but only had to wait 30 mins whilst sipping on free beer in the bar. (2) internet cards are expensive. (3) the quality of breakfast was not good - the bacon was very fatty, the eggs were not very nice, pastries were OK. Surely Hilton can afford better grade bacon? ;o)

GOOD: the location, the scenery, the comforts (spa, etc). Staff are friendly and helpful.

TIPS:

(1) buy a loaf (or 2) of bread in town, and feed the ducks - great fun, they are very friendly!! Just sit on the rocks by the pier, and they will come to you! :o)) A very relaxing activity.

(2) if you get a card in your room, saying "why not have breakfast in your room" - be aware that this will count as room service, even if you have paid for bed&breakfast. "Bed&breakfast" only covers breakfast in the restaurant!! We were not aware of this, and had ours in the room, however, because it was not made clear to us at check-in, they did not charge us for it, which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Russky79

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves in our apartments.

We do offer complimentary internet in the business centre in the Hilton Hotel.

I do apologise for the confusion caused over the breakfast options. The room hanger signs are standard, however, we need to ensure guests who are on a bed andbreakfast package understand this does not include room service.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Hilton Queenstown was more than we expected. We stayed 3 nights in the deluxe lake view room and were reluctant to leave.This was excellent value for money, The view of the Lake was incredible, the service was excellent, the restaurants fantastic, especially the Christmas Day lunch. The rooms are new and spacious and very clean,the fireplace would be lovely in Winter. The resort is extremely quiet although there is plenty to do.I can thoroughly recommend the Spa treatments. Although the Hilton is a little out of town , just a few minutes drive , the water taxi runs regularly and is a nice way to travel to town.

Room Tip: there are 6 levels, we stayed on level 5 with excellent views from room 517
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear champagnecharlie40

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We are very fortunate with our location and stunning views.
I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again soon.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I spent 8 nights here at the Hilton over xmas. The rooms (we had a king) were spacious with a sunken lounge, his and hers basin and a bath with a lovely rainshower. The beds comfy and soft, and a lovely gas log fire place. The hotel staff are very friendly and we loved our nightly turn down service with a chocolate and some water. The business centre has free internet access but unfortunately when ever we need to use this all 3 computers were always taken up with travellers on facebook :( quite frustrating and perhaps needs to be timed to make it accessible for everyone. My only real complaint is with the housekeeping, some days our room wasnt cleaned until after 5pm in the afternoon which isnt too good when you want a clean towel etc before heading out for dinner. Some days the housekeeping was great and others certain items werent replaced or missed. On one occassion we had to call to request clean wine glasses and the housekeeper came and rinsed them out in the bathroom and then left them there!
My husband and I enjoyed a treatment at the spa which was truly amazing and would highly recommend they have great treatments available and they do the best massages.
Stacks pub was a let down for us was very overpriced ($100 for 2 people for a pub meal with a drink) the steak was full of grissle and the sauce was non existant. The fish and chips were tasty. The service at the pub was rushed and not very attentitive. Mee & Me was exceptional great service, well priced food and very tasty and extensive menu - we dined here twice.
Hilton is a $10 min drive to queenstown - we had a hire car which was fine for us, there is free parking under the other hotel or valet for $10 per day. The village has a hairdressers, ski shop, cafe / milk bar - this was hit and miss with being opened on time with staff taking keys home etc, frustrating when you need breakfast before you head out.
The buffet breakfast wasnt appealing and for a full breakfast at $35 p/p very pricey, so we opted to dine out for breakfast each morning and save $35 each day. The water taxi can take you to town for $15 return and takes 6 mins - this is a great idea.
Lovely walks and view from the hotel being right on the lake with the mountains in the back drop. The hotel faces north so soaks up all the sun. Great facilities heated pool, hot tub and sauna and steam room. Would be nice to see some outdoor deck chairs to enjoy the sunshine, as people were taking there cushions from there sofas and laying them outside on the balcony's, which isnt a great idea.
Room service was a small menu, we ordered room service breakfast which is small and basic, nothing fancy and small servings, so only did that the once. The rooms are quite spread out so you have to do alot of walking to get around - this was fine for us. Being a vegetarin we couldnt dine at the Waikaputu Grill as it was mainly meet or a risotto for $34 which didnt appeal, so cant comment on that.
Its the best hotel in Queenstown and the best location if you dont mind being out of town, I would definently stay here again.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have balconies or are only a few steps from the lake so I wouldnt pay the extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Frequentoztravellers

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I was pleased to see you enjoyed yourselves.
I do apologise for the inconsistant service from housekeeping. I have discussed this with our executive housekeeper and she will ensure extra training is given to her team so they are delivering the highest standard of service consistantly.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay next time you are visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#8 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#15 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.