We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL SETTING, CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #19 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL SETTING, CLOSE TO THE AIRPORT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We arrived via a domestic flight and got our rental car. We drove about 10 minutes to get to the Hotel which sits right beside Lake Whakatipu at the upper end. The Hotel is some distance from Queenstown the Village, this for us was a positive as we wanted a relaxing weekend. We noted during our stay the Hotel gets excellent sun where as Queenstown sits in the shadow of the hill so was not as warm. When we arrived we were met by a very attentive front Office Manager who showed us to our room and discussed the Hotels layout. We were impressed with the room, the gas fire was already on and the setting was great. We decided to try the restaurant for dinner. The food and wine were excellent, thoroughly recommend this.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Lake, a room on a higher floor has a better view over the Lakes area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear RICHSHAR

It was great to see you had an enjoyable time during your stay at Hilton Queenstown and thank you for sharing your positive comments.

We are certainly situated in a lovely sunny spot which is a huge advantage in this part of the country.

Thank you for recommending us and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay the next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    360
    139
    51
    27
See reviews for
243
794
45
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing weekend of luxury and found it at the Hilton. A quick 10 minute taxi ride from the airport and we were in the warm reception area being quickly checked in by some friendly staff. A few minutes later we were on the complimentry shuttle bus into Queenstowns centre, driven by another friendly member of staff. The location is great in my opinion, right at the lakes edge near where the Kawarau river begins. The bus and water taxi make it simple to get in and out of town if you wish, but I've been there a few times so for us it was more about staying at the hotel to make use of its facilities then partying down town. If you do want to spend time in Queenstown or doing some activities its a very simple place to get to.

The hotel itself is very modern and furnished to a high standard. Our relaxation room was a good size with a warm relaxing seating area with a gas fire and a large comfy bed set back from the loung with a view of the lake. The excellent bathroom with its large bath and shower was lovely. We spent plenty of time in the private spa pool as well which was a lovely way to soak the muscles after a day of skiing or outdoor adverturing. Well worth the extra money. It was only a few minutes walk to the swimming pool and gym areas from our room and they too were nice. The pool is plenty big enough to get some excercise and or splash around with kids and was very clean.

We dined in the bar one night and the grill restaurant the other. The steak and pizza we chose from the bar were both excellent, the steak in particular one of the best I'd had in a while. Both served by a very friendly waitress who took take to note my partners needs. Our meal in the grill was very good, again served by a lovely waitress who offered good advice on food and wine choices. Try the cheesecake pot to share for your desert, lovely! Afterwards a few relaxing drinks in the bar overlooking the lake was a nice way to end the evening. Room service breakfast was excellent and delivered hot and again by a friendly memeber of staff.

We hired some bikes from the nearby shopping centre which was only 10 minutes walk away and explored the cycling/walking tracks that run right in front of the hotel grounds. It would also be a great base for day trips around the local area or to be picked up and brough on a tour. Its closeness to the airport is great for doing a scenic flight to Milford sound for example. Also, Queenstown airport closes at sunset so you don't need to worry about getting disturbed by planes even though its so close to the airport. Even the ones you do hear are gone in seconds, as its a small airport that only handles 737 sized aircraft so no need to fear the noise.

Highlights were the lovely choice of food in the deli counter shop (which is kind of like a village store that stocks bits of everything, the macaroons they sell there are to die for!) the restaurant meals, friendly staff, lovely location and the lovely private spa pools in the relaxation rooms.

Cant think of any negative aspects at all really, maybe turn the spa pool around so the seats face the lake? Not a biggie at all :)

The smiles and greetings from everyone that wore a Hilton badge sticks in my mind and is one of the many reasons we will return for sure. You expect the building to be immaculate being a Hilton but I was very surprised by the level of service and welcome from those that work within its walls. Looking forward to going back to learn how to ski!

Room Tip: Relaxation rooms are on the waterfront with their own garden and spa pool...well worth the extra buc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear HammondNZ

Thank you so much for taking the time to place your positive response following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
I was very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves and were able to experience so many of our facilities.

Thank you for mentioning the great service you received from our team members. It is always pleasing to hear this.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay while you are learning to ski!

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were highly impressed with Hilton Queenstown’s Group Reservations Supervisor after an unsettling experience trying to book our stay through Hilton Worldwide. She took immediate control and resolved our situation promptly and professionally.

Thereafter, our stay was magic! The levels of cleanliness and service were exceptional and the hotel’s overall atmosphere was harmonious.

There were some interesting pieces of art throughout the hotel and our room gave us a lovely view of the lake and surroundings.

We had breakfast in the Wakatipu Grill on both mornings of our stay and also dined there for dinner on our first night. What an excellent restaurant! Breakfast was superb with a great variety and dinner was spot on. Again, the service was impeccable with friendly, helpful people.

We highly recommend Hilton Queenstown.

I note comments in other reviews concerning transport to/from the hotel. We hired a car during our stay in Queenstown and consider that well worth while. However, I did spot the bus and the water taxi on numerous occasions which looked to be providing a good service.

Thank you all for being so welcoming. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear CAD001

Thank you for sharing such positive feedback.

I was so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding Liza our Group Reservations Supervisor. She was very happy to read your encouraging remarks.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next visiting Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Hilton has everything you need - no need to go into queenstown . I especially liked the staff in the grill and loved their cocktails :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Aimeenz

I was so pleased you found everything you need here at the Hilton Queenstown and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Our team members in the grill appreciate your kind comments.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel in beautiful location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Could not recommend it more.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear rjfnov

Great to hear you had a good time and found our team members friendly and helpful.
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Hilton Queenstown.

I look forward to you returning when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Kawarau Hotel before and decided to try the flasher looking Hilton this trip.
The room we stayed in was everything we had expected of the Hilton, except that to see the lake from our lakeview room you had to stand right at the window or on the balcony.
The hotel was let down by several points compared to our last stay in the village:
1. The shuttle service into Queenstown only ran once, at 11 am, the weekend we were staying. The Hotel staff, after some confusion, informed us that the public bus would be coming into the village to pick up from the Monday.
2. The cost of the water taxi had doubled.
3. The Cru Wine Bar and Me & Mee were both closed and Stacks had reduced hours.
4. The level of service simply wasn't the same as we had on our last trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear AntipodeanAnn

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown
I am sorry you found the level of service was not the same as your previous stay.
Our courtesy shuttle has ceased operating as the local bus company is now running a daily service to and from the village to downtown Queenstown, 30 minute intervals in the morning and hourly throughout the afternoon and evening. For a small fee of $8 return this is excellent value.
The water taxi fee has increased slightly from $10 to $15 return. It is still a very popular form of transport for guests heading into town.
May and June are the shoulder season months in Queenstown and many businesses take this opportunity to undertake preventative maintenance and refurbishment. This is the case with two of our outlets. Our signature chef Peter Thornley is creating an exciting new menu for Me & Mee Noodle Bar ready for its re opening in July. In the meantime we still have 5 outlets to service the village.
I do hope you will not let this occasion spoil your time you enjoyed with us last month and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Great hotel for your weekend get away!

The water taxi is conveniently located on the water by the hotel, we had easy access to it as we booked a relaxation room with our own spa!

Definitely worth paying a bit extra for the relaxation room as you have no time restriction on your spa and can sit in it to watch the sun rise, or sun set, or to see the view of queenstown at night with the stars above you!

The stacks pub is a nice place to have a wine at night, although their pinot noir selection is rather limited.

Beautiful bathroom with a rain-showerhead! Double sinks and a deep bath!

There is a nice track just below the room, by the water's edge.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE!!!

However, dont bother with breakfast at the hotel, you are better off going into queenstown!

Room Tip: Definitely get yourself a relaxation room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew N, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear mulibum

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at HIlton Queenstown.
It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves in a relaxation room.

We do have an extensive pinot selection, however, we spread this around our various outlets within the village.
We are very fortunate to have such a lovely walking track right at our doorstep. This is a popular feature for our guests.

It is a shame you would not recommend breakfast as we receive many positive comments about it.

It is great to see though that you highly recommend staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Andrew Nisbet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#4 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#11 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#18 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.