We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel , Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Queenstown
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top hotel , Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great hotel , room excellent , clean and superior , will ample space and very comfortable bed , separate shower and bath, lots of space , numerous towels and Crabtree and Evelyn complimentary soaps and shampoo's etc , Safe and A/C , Two TV's , tea and coffee and nice sofa .Very well equipped gym and free internet room. Bar and staff was inviting and friendly , cost of drinks as expected in a hotel.Complimentary hotel shuttle bus to the town centre , as hotel is out of town , although we liked the peace and setting and mountain backdrop of the hotel location.There is a water taxi service to the town centre too, at a cost though, $10 NZD one way
In the hotel area , there is pub which served good value food and you can charge to the hotel room , also a nice breakfast deli bar , although you had to wait for your order , musell is good ,
We hired bikes next to hotel as there are many bike tracks to ride and discover.

We checked out the prices for Milford and doubtful sound in town and found the same price using the hotel concierge, so we booked with them and had taxi pickup for us to meet the organized coach trip to Doubtful sound , which was great.

All in all pleasant trip in a new clean very well designed hotel which seemed to never be busy with guests, book it now and enjoy Queenstown sights

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear chrichar

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves and had a pleasant time.
The cycle tracks are very popular with the guests and locals. They are a great way to experience the wonderful scenery in the area.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your trip to Doubtful Sound. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton should your travels bring you back to Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    337
    128
    46
    22
See reviews for
226
742
41
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was the final hotel of our two week trip to New Zealand, and it was a terrific way to end the vacation. Out of the seven hotels we visited in NZ, this was the most luxurious on every level and the best value because of the great advanced purchase rate I found on Hotels.com.

My husband and I arrived around 1 pm, travelling from Wanaka, and were pleased that we were able to check into our room early. The room was a decent size, with a separate sitting area and "bedroom" area. A separate TV was provided for each area, which was nice. The bathroom was fairly large with a wonderful soaking tub and double sinks. Although I rarely comment on this, I loved the bath products provided at the HIlton on this stay.

The hotel is located outside Queenstown, but with a car, it was no problem for us. The hotel had free parking in a garage under the partner hotel next door and also valet parking for a fee. We chose the free parking garage and had no issues. It took about 15 minutes to drive to Queenstown, where you can park at a meter, or for free on many streets at night. In addition, there is a free van shuttle every hour between 8 am and noon. After that, the hotel has a water taxi available for $10 one way or $15 roundtrip that operates until 10 pm.

The highlight of this hotel for us was the great pool area. There was a decent sized indoor lap pool with a large jucuzzi. The pool area has comfortable lounge chairs and it was a very peaceful space. It was a fantastic place to relax at the end of the day and we visited every day.

We found the service at the Hilton to be very good. We used the "magic" button several times during the stay and were quickly assisted with our requests. They even brought a DVD player to our room and gave us a list of DVDs to watch during our stay.

My only two complaints about the hotel are minor. One was that our room wasn't cleaned one day because they were about to clean when we arrived back at 5:30 pm and we didn't want to wait before entering the room. The other complaint, which came from my husband, was that the steam room in the men's locker room was out of order. He was really looking forward to using it, but it was not working during our stay. These issues were small and did not affect our positive view of the hotel.

Overall, I would hightly recommend the Hilton Queenstown for the comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and great pool area. It is not ideal for people wanting a city experience, but it worked well for this portion of our trip. I would definitely stay at the Hilton again if I returned to Queenstown.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear VAgirl505

Thank you for your detailed positive feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I apologise for the late service offered on your room. This is a problem we are addressing and as soon as new team members are fully trained we should not experience this type of issue again.

I am sorry the steam room was out of order. We have new improved units due to arrive which will greatly enhance the steam rooms.

I would be delighted to welcome you to stay again when you next visit Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

On our return from Wanaka we stayed here for 5 nights - it was fantastic.
ALL the staff were so pleasant and friendly and a few minor problems were sorted out quickly and efficiently. The food and menu choice were top class (including in-room dining) and NOT expensive or over-priced.

The rooms are amazing and the location great. It was beautifully quiet yet so easy to get to the heart of Queenstown and surrounds.

I would DEFINATELY stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We paid for a lake view and it was well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Dear kristinasydney2

It was great to see you enjoyed yourselves following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

Thank you for recommending the hotel to anyone and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Queenstown.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Having booked a month in New Zealand we booked 3 nights here to start our trip off on a high note. Sadly nobody seemed to tell the staff that when you pay the prices charged by the Hilton you maybe expect some decent service.
Little things really irked like the sauna being off until someone entered it. If I wanted to spend time in a cold pine room I could do that in my shed! I know it's done to be 'eco friendly' (all big hotels favourite 'go to' line) but just keep it 'almost hot' instead. For the prices charged you would expect to be able to use it straight away. The alternative of the steam room was also not an option as it was out of service for our whole stay.
Restaurant was good but over-priced compared to the excellent food and service we received in Queenstown itself (particularly at Pier 19 which I would heartedly recommend)
On the plus side the water taxi is a great way to get into Queenstown.
We saw better and more convenient places to stay so can't really recommend.
Contrary to their claim, there ARE other hotels on the lake front and whilst being convenient for the airport it's a long way to town - certainly not walkable!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor with a hot tub on the terrace which was one of the few highlights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear CameramanG

Thank you for placing your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.

Although we strive to exceed all our guests expectations, it looks like we failed with your visit.

I sincerely apologise for the delay in the heating of your sauna. Our maintenance team trip these every morning to avoid any delay so it looks like it was not attended to on this day. We have implemented a roster for the saunas to be activated regularly throughout the day to ensure no further delays occur.
I also apologise for the steam room being out of service. We are currently waiting for new improved units to arrive which will greatly enhance the steam rooms.

I was pleased to see you found the water taxi a suitable way to travel into Queenstown. Some of our guests do actually take the walking track into dowtown queenstown but usually only one way! Then they have the option of the hotel shuttle or water taxi to complete the journey back.

I do very much appreciate your feedback and I do hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to share with you the high level of personal service we pride ourselves on.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Probably the best Hilton I have ever stayed in (and I've tried a lot of them).
Great very new standard rooms with sunken lounge and fireplace (with a bathroom to rival the best of Las Vegas). Spotlessly clean in the rooms and the public areas. Housekeeping was 1st class and very discreet. Front desk staff were charming. Hotel is very large, tastefully decorated and seemingly very well managed. Nice indoor pool and spa. Lovely lake views. Hotel is not in Queenstown but across the lake, however access to Queenstown is easy by car (loads of parking in the centre). The hotel offers a shuttle bus (free) and lake water taxi. Hotel offers free underground parking (2 mins walk) or valet for a fee. Great base for touring the surrounding area with easy access by car. If using TomTom GPS the hotel location is Peninsula Road, Frankton (not Queenstown).
Arrived a day early (following my booking error at another hotel) and we were accomodated without fuss using the same excellent rate I had booked months earlier.
Continental breakfast buffet was excellent value considering the choice, although the full works with hot selections was a bit pricey. There is also a good coffee shop on site that offers coffee, juice, toast and coissant for a very reasonable alternative.
Ate at the on-site Noodle Restaurant one night and this was great tasty food and very good value (around US15 a head). Room service food was OK, but the service was very prompt.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are really very good, so no need to upgrade unless you want something extra special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear courtsbuyer

I was delighted to see you enjoyed yourselves so much at the Hilton Queenstown. Thank you for sharing your positive comments on Trip Advisor.

It was great that you were able to sample several of the outlets in our lovely village.

Thank you again for such a detailed review and I look forward to your return to the hotel one day soon.

Warm regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Like many other Trip Advisor reporters, we stayed here with Hilton Honors points as we would not choose to afford it otherwise. Understanding we’re Hampton Inn types at heart, this place just blew us away. Very upscale—hard to think of a better couples location.

Yes, there are a couple of negatives noted by other reviewers: it is across the lake, however, Hilton runs a water taxi about once an hour to the other side. It cost $15NZD roundtrip. Yes, like most resorts, everything is ala-cart. Internet service is $14.50 NZD/hr, or $29NZD/day. We enjoyed our night just fine without internet. Parking is a comparative bargain: free self parking, or $10NZD valet. Eating there is expensive.

Yet, look at the upside: WOW rooms. Jet tubs and fancy showers. Fireplace in sunken living room. Great scenic location and very quiet. Property boasts 5 restaurants, a bar, and spa. Impeccable service. Really, if you’re looking for a high-end experience, it’s hard to believe you can find much better. We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear FJVLS

Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Queenstown.
It was lovely to see you were WOWed with our new village and thank you for mentioning the water taxi. This is a very popular mode of transport for guests and locals to use between the village and downtown Queenstown.
Thank you again for sharing your comments and I hope to see you again at Hilton Queenstown in the near future.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a nice hotel especially if you get the lake view rooms, it is a fair way from town so you either get the water taxi or take a car to dine in the village. We tried their restaurant "The Grill" but were very disappointed with the food. Their so called speciality pork dish was very dry and the salad we ordered never turned up, but we still got charged for it.

I dont think the head chief was working the night we dined so they need to take care that they have a better back up.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlene P, General Manager at Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Dennis021_9

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Queenstown.

I am very sorry you were disappointed with the food in the grill. We have had many good reviews about the pork dish so this is a concern. It is a pity you did not advise the team members that you did not receive your salad.
I have discussed your concerns with our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure this does not happen again.
I hope you will return one day soon so we are able to provide you with a more satisfying dining experience.

Kind regards
Marlene Poynder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: 79 Peninsula Road | Kawarau Village, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#10 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#13 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.