We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Queenstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #16 of 59 Hotels in Queenstown
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Queenstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Without a doubt, this is the best hotel in Queenstown and your best option if you are looking for high-end luxury. The only negative I can think of is that it is not directly in the town (its closer to the airport), however they do have a shuttle that goes into town and the town is so close that it really isn't a huge issue. The room we stayed in was one of the nicest rooms we've ever had - and we have stayed in many luxury hotels - including a fantastic fireplace that was great for the winter chill. Since it is so new, the staff are top notch and eager to please - the restaurant and spa were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    274
    104
    40
    19
See reviews for
194
621
32
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I have just returned from an amazing 4 nights at the Hilton in Queenstown and I would like to congratulate them on a fantastic experience. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a Lake View room and the view is amazing. The staff were attentive and helpful, driving me into Queenstown when I wanted and giving me lots of local tips. The room is amazing- large bath, fantastic fireplace and mattress/pillows so relaxing.
The spa experience is amazing and the ladies there- Debbie and Elizabeth are exceptional. I felt so relaxed after the experience and would recommend it to everyone.
The hotel has a fantastic restaurant, a deli with a wide selection of macarons and every conceivable treat to take back to yr room, a pub and a noodle place. The water taxi is a 11 min trip to town and costs $ 5. The experience of that is well worth it.
I cannot fault this hotel and a credit to the amazing staff that work here. I am already planning to come back here with my husband next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband and I have just got back from staying at The Hilton and I can honestly say its one of the best places I have stayed at - I am in the travel industry so am very particular when it comes to hotels!
When booking the hotel I was dubious to it being 10-15mins out of Queenstown but if you have a car (or can get the boat taxi) its not an issue - in fact its nice to be away from everything, and it is closer than the city centre to the supermarkets, Arrowtown, ski fields and Wanaka if you want to explore.
We originally had booked two nights in the town and two nights at The Hilton – we then changed for four nights at The Hilton and I am so glad we did…the distance was not an issue and The Hilton was perfect!

We were upgraded from the King Guestroom to the Deluxe Lakeview and I defiantly think its worth while getting a Lakeview, you get all day sun, views and a nice balcony to sit on - otherwise you maybe on the shady side overlooking the driveway.

The onsite restaurants were all amazing - all very reasonable - especially liked The Stacks Pub which was busy every night with locals and served up great food.
The staff were all excellent, from check in to house keeping and the restaurants on site. Very friendly and attentive.

There are heaps of outdoor dining options with fire pits and outdoor fires to keep you warm in winter.

If you don’t like to pay valet parking ($15 per day) there is the option to self park in a secure underground park by the Kawarau Hotel entrance.

Overall a great experience, would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Queenstown.

Tip: Try Botswana Butchery in Queenstown CBD - the best restaurant in NZ (make you book in advance!)

Room Tip: Book a lakeview room - worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Went for lunch......found the location totally isolated .....they said there were 3 restaurants ...
Out of which 1 was closed for lunch...ended up with choice of either the bar or a Asian noodle place....opted for the bar ....2 of us ordered lamb shank with pasta and 1 ordered a pizza with a bottle of local wine from the vineyard next door.....
The lamb shank came mixed in the pasta to our surprise as we thought the pasta would be a side dish....the pizza was very average and the wine over priced .....
The location of the bar over looks on to nothing concidering the hotel is on a lake !
All in all not good value for the amount of money we spent........And if one does live there and does not have a car a ride to town would cost about NZ 20 dollars one way!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel so really to be fair this is not about the hotel at all. We went to have a look around and grab a spot of brunch on a Sunday Morning. We went to the new Wakatipu Grill and were left standing at the bar for ages whilst watching 2 managers (suits) and 2 or 3 waiters/barmen come and go. Eventually had to ask someone if anyone was working to be told rather brusquely they didn't see us - 3 adults and 2 children! With that we went to the Stacks pub and enjoyed very very good service and food. Hotel looks great and will be back to the Stack but come on Grill sort out your service!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend after booking an opening deal through Wotif. From beginning to end our stay was fantastic. Service provided by all staff was very good. We stayed in a lakeview suite and it was lovely. It has a wonderful gas fire and the lounge area opened onto a very large deck overlooking the lake.
The rooms are beautifully appointed and the air conditioning is quiet and works well. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also quite large wtih a separate shower and bath.
The indoor heated swimming pool and spa area is also very nice, with lots of comfy sun loungers and chairs available. As it was winter the pool could have been a degree or two warmer (but wasn't too bad as even I managed to get in and have a swim).
The hotel restaurant ,Wakatipu Grill, was fabulous and I thought the food was very reasonably priced . It was one of the best meals we've had for both food and service. We also tried out the "pub" and Asian restaurant that are also on site and these were also good. There are wonderful outdoor areas for eating and drinking, that are heated either by overhead heaters or fireplaces.
I loved the location, being about a 10 minute drive out of central Queenstown, but with stunning views over the lake. The hotel is built for the sun, something that most other Queenstown hotels lack. There is a water taxi which runs regularly into town and back and is $5 per person each way.
All in all a fantastic place to stay, I just need an excuse to go back again.

Room Tip: If posible book a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland,NZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the new Hilton on our trip to Queenstown in June 2011 for initially 3 nights. From arrival to departure the service and ambience is impeccable. They truly do make you feel like royalty or a celebrity with a unique personal but professional touch. The rooms are immaculate and the entire hotel has taken inro account the most incredile detail from the lifts to doorhandles to mirrors and fittings...the list is endless.

The restaurant Grill is amazing and breakfast is a feast. Room service was extremely affordable and delicious. We had to stay for another night due to the Chiliean ash cloud and the Hotel offered us another night at an ever better rate than we already had for the previous nights.

I cannot single out one team which was better. The reception area, waiter/bar staff, valets and cleaners wre all fantastic. Although new and still fairly quiet, this hotel is going to become the pearl of Queenstown.

Room Tip: Every Room is a dream, but lakeside deluxe is bes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa

Address: Kawarau Village, Peninsula Rd, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Queenstown
#3 Spa Hotel in Queenstown
#9 Family Hotel in Queenstown
#12 Romantic Hotel in Queenstown
#16 Luxury Hotel in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Queentown Resort & Spa - this is the place. The only hotel positioned directly on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa showcases panoramic views over an unspoilt landscape famed the world over. It’s an exhilarating setting – and one without compromise. Welcome to a place where you can immerse yourself in the natural beauty of Queenstown like never before... welcome to Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Queenstown Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.