We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Adventure Queenstown Hostel to your Saves list
Adventure Queenstown Hostel
36 Camp Street | 36 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Excellent place to stay - great rooms, very good kitchen, clean and tidy common areas, good central location and a really friendly, helpful team on the desk - great at booking trips, dealing with the laundry and providing all round advice on anything from car hire to the best place for brunch!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
35
109
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at AQ during our one week trip enjoying Queenstown and we simply cannot sing its praises enough.

Brett and the team create such an unbeatable homely atmosphere there that you really cannot compare to any hostel available anywhere in the world. I had previously made this claim about a hostel in Vietnam, but the facilities and dorm layout well and truly surpass that experience.

Let's start with the hostel itself. The dorms are much smaller, giving a more intimate and social feel that's really nice as te crowd that is drawn to AQ really don't fit the dumb, teenage, disrespectful and loud- mouth type you can find everywhere (especially around Queenstown). The facilities are unbeatable! The kitchen is clean and modern, where everyone respects each other and most importantly the home we all share. The bathrooms are new and modern with wonderful hot water. As I was leaving they just installed the biggest tv known to man kind in the downstairs living room ha ha which made for entertaining film nights all sprawled on the couches and bean bags having a glass of wine.

There were plenty of social nights such as the delicious and value-laden Sunday roast (yum) and trivia night which was really fun. You can really have as much or as little space as you like there which i loved. And quiet time for bedrooms was set at 11pm with socialising and drinking continuing downstairs in the lounge and balcony areas. The views from the balconies were beautiful to wake up to- geez even from your bed when your draw the curtains. The beds are out of this world comfortable- crazy crazy good with the most softest linens- we all complimented our beds and enjoyed nice sleep ins and days of reading after high-octane activity days or nights of drinking out in town.

They also spoil you with things you may need such as free iPad loaning, great tour package advice, chargers, straighteners etc etc they can manage to help you.

I really enjoyed my stay, as did everyone in our room and those that I met through the common areas. Book in early as lots of people deciding to extend either missed out due to demand or had to move rooms a lot in the effort to stay at AQ with last minute bed snapping. You deserve all the praise you get for an impeccably designed and run hostel Bret! Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

AQ hostel offers great value for money for accommodation. Interestingly, each bed has its mini lamp light attached and common light in the dormitory can be dimmed, which is really great so that backpackers who return late can figure their way around the room without disturbing the rest.

The shared bathrooms and kitchen are well maintained. One can expect superb travel advise, planning and help offered from the AQ team.

The location is great and within easy walk after the airport bus drops you off.

My stay with AQ was really enjoyable and memorable. Kudos to Brett and his team!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not a bad word to say about this hostel - exeptionally friendly staff, great communal spaces, hotel quality bathrooms - not to mention the awesome roast dinner! A very social hostel, had some cracking nights out in Queenstown.

Cannot understand hostels charging $10 a DAY for internet, $5 for a towel etc. etc. (I'm looking at you, YHA) when Adventure includes all these things for free and is much more personal.

Will definitely be staying here again on the next visit to Queenstown, anywhere else just doesn't compare.

Room Tip: Ensuite dorms are nice but agree with dorm mates to not use the ensuite early hours of the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everything you could ever want from a hostel is here. The location is central, Its clean and secure with a very homely feel. The kitchen is amazing and has everything you could possibly want or need, the rooms are clean, the bathrooms are modern with large showers and endless hot water and the beds are very comfy. Brett and all the staff are unbelievably helpful and nothing is too much trouble and the home cooked roasts on Sundays are better than my mums (just don't tell her). They have everything you need or want, bikes, footballs, frisbees, a play station, a Wii, heaps of films, hairdryers, straighteners all at no extra cost. Free tea and coffee, free wifi, free international phone calls to stay in touch with home, the list goes on. All in all, this is undoubtably the best hostel I have stayed in and the private double beats a lot of the hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Alright, I stayed here solely based on these glorious reviews. While I didn't have complaints with any of the staff, fellow travelers, or fully the space (except for some strange heating issues...), I don't understand why such the great remarks on a hostel that is sooo overpriced for what you get! The sticker price is what brings this down to a 3 star. We stayed in a private room, but even looking at the bunk prices - $29 NZD for a bunk?? Seriously folks!!! This is not a bargain for this ordinary of a hostel!

The hostel itself is nice. The staff was pleasant. Free computer use was a definite bonus and it is in a good location in the middle of everything Queenstown. However, it is located on top of shops and on a busy street. Stay somewhere else a couple blocks down and you'll get a better night's sleep (at a cheaper rate, in a bigger room, with a better shower). My point is, while this hostel is okay, it wasn't worth the money at all. For shelling out that much money a night, it simply is not worth it. After the first initial nights, we left and booked elsewhere that was cheaper and nicer for the money.

So, while I wanted to really love this place, I just didn't. I couldn't grasp spending more money on something I can get the same, if not a little better, for cheaper elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett D, Manager at Adventure Queenstown Hostel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're disappointed to hear you didn’t entirely enjoy your stay with us. We’ve worked hard to put together a little gem of a hostel. It’s pleasing that you thought the hostel was ‘nice’ and the staff were ‘pleasant’.

We are a hostel with only two private rooms. We cater mostly to independent backpackers. nz$29 for a dorm room is standard throughout Queenstown, and while we are not the cheapest for the nightly rate (nor the most expensive), it is important to note that once you check-in , with the exception of laundry, everything else is free. Free wifi, computer use, towels, sports equipment, bicycles, hairdryers/straighteners, adapters, chargers, lockers, storage, tea/coffee/milk, even free international phone calls! By the time you leave we would be cheaper than anywhere else as we don’t charge $2 for this and that.

Not sure what heating issues you had, nothing was ever brought to our attention. Every room has self-controlled heat pumps where you can change the settings to suit your own liking. Our showers are our most commonly praised feature, fully tiled with all chrome fixtures and instant, endless hot water, so we’re a little confused about that comment.

Being in the centre of town it’s inevitable that there will be a little hustle & bustle, something most people happily trade for a great location. That said, we do not have any bars next to us, the shops under us are not open late night and most of our rooms have double glazed windows, so it is in fact reasonably quiet.

We sincerely believe we represent the best value for money in a HOSTEL. With all our free stuff and a great team of staff who consistently go the extra mile for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very comfortable space, friendly staff, great location. This hostel definitely felt like more of a community than any I've stayed at elsewhere. I slept in a shared room with ensuite and the room, bathroom, and kitchen facilities were very clean. You can tell the place was designed by and for travelers - they thought of everything!

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Queenstown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Queenstown Hostel

Address: 36 Camp Street | 36 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Adventure Queenstown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Queenstown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.