We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always something different!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lick Dessert Bar And Espresso - CLOSED

Lick Dessert Bar And Espresso
40 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
(03) 441 8505
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always something different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been to every ice cream/gelato shop in QT, but Lick is the one to which I always return!
The gelatos and sorbets are always packed with flavour and presented so beautifully.
The flavours available are always unique and inventive. Such as Ferraro Rocher, Hello Kitty, Kinder Surprise - there is something different everyday!!!
There are of course the classics as well - fruity dairy-free sorbets, all kinds of chocolate etc.
To my knowledge, Lick also serves waffles, soups and drinks etc, although I have not tried these. One area Lick could step it up in is in service - I've not always felt welcome there - but the gelatos are simply delectable I've overlooked this to return time and time again! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Step your game up!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Competition is rife in the creamy deliciousness of desert bars in Queenstown, there's plenty to choose from. Your staff are not welcoming or attentive to customers at all! We waited for 10mins without so much as an acknowledgement and when another group of 6 walked in they were given the same treatment as us and so we all walked out, goodbye to 8 paying customers! We've got Patagonia, Movenpick and now Mr Whippy coming soon. Your product is great and the gelato is some of the best in town, but you need a smile and a welcome to make it work too

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy but very overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Great range but heavily overpriced at $8 for a two scoop cone. Service was average, the girls who work there show no interest ever.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clean looking take away place which has a bigger menu than it appears on first look.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Had Bubble drink and gluten free toast. Both good, but neither of the women serving could smile. Whilst sitting there, I noticed 2 more menus. Strange way to display menus. Place was empty but deserved more custom as it was cheaper than most places around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

SO GOOD!!! Just what you need after a day up the mountains in sun or snow! The girls are lovely, have a taste of what ice cream suits your mood and get it on a waffle!!! perfect every time!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lick Dessert Bar And Espresso also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lick Dessert Bar And Espresso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.