We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The B & B on the Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The B & B on the Hill to your Saves list
The B & B on the Hill
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1and 1A Earnslaw Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi & Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and congratulated ourselves on our choice of accomodation! The view from the homely sitting room and balcony and from our room (Lakes room) was absolutely stunning - I can't imagine there is a B&B with a better view in Queenstown. The uphill walk from the town is well documented but we saw it as a benefit to walk off some of those extra calories! Our room was very comfortable. Sue was very helpful whilst not wishing to be too intrusive. This place is definitely preferable to the many faceless motels in Queenstown.

Room Tip: The best view is from the Lakes room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely a review. It is very much appreciated. I hope you enjoyed all your travels as well as your stay in Queenstown. Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful experience. Lovely setting with view over lake, quiet setting but easy, attractive walk to city centre, stylish decor, warmest of welcomes and help from Sue, excellent bedrooms and ensuites and delicious breakfasts. Couldn't be bettered and can't wait to visit again

Room Tip: Earnslaw Room has best view over lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The B&B on the Hill is a modern accommodation. We enjoyed ski-season special rates, so that was a bonus for our 3 nights there!

Sue was very accommodating, getting breakfast ready much earlier than she normally would so that we could have a meal before setting out on our full-day Milford Sound tour. We also appreciated that she left us pretty much to ourselves. She's a warm and endearing lady.

We used the washing machine and dryer for NZ$5. This was the only B&B (out of 4 we stayed during our NZ trip) that allowed us to do our laundry proper.

As The B & B on the Hill is literally as its name says, on a hill, the views are great, but guests without cars will have to be prepared to walk up steep slopes to get there. At night, it gets pretty dark in the neighborhood too, so it doesn't feel as safe walking back. Bus 11 from the town area will only stop along Frankton Road, and it's about a 10-15 min walk up from there. So, it would be best to have a car while staying here.

As a final point, we just wished there was more heating in the room and toilet. Apparently the temperature settings are fixed and we were not allowed to change it... it honestly felt like outside air temperature. It got pretty cold at night and we had to resort to using the bedside spot-lamps as make-shift heating. Not sure why the temperature cannot be adjusted.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The B & B on the Hill. The name of my B & B suggests that it is on a hill (as is much of the accommodation in Queenstown). How you find the hill depends on your feelings about walking, lots of guests enjoy the walk. I am sorry that you found it chilly at night. I do offer to change the settings on the electric radiators in the bedroom and the bathroom if guests are cold. I also detail this offer in the welcome note which guests receive. So I am not sure why the temperature in the room was not adjusted correctly for you, I do apologise that this was the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great location with a pleasant host - this is the B&B you would want to put up at if you are in Queenstown. The house has great views of the lake with the imposing mountains as the backdrop. While hosting you, Sue finds a good balance in providing a great service with all the space you would need as a couple. She accommodated our early starts on all the days by having our breakfast ready by 7 AM and personally being there to wish us for the day.

We are definitely coming back and this time I hope Sue will get us the bedroom with the best views in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - The lakes bedroom with 'the view' does get booked up so book as early as you can! Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I must say that the photo's on Trip Advisor dont do this place any justice. It was simply the perfect place to stay . We stayed here for 7 nights and everyday woke up to beautiful views and a lovely breakfast . The B&B is gorgeous and very homey, down to the small details like the big soft towles and comfy couches in the living area . Our room was spacious and super comfortable and we just loved the Manuka Honey body wash / shampoo/ conditioner that was provided for us . The views over the lake and the mountain are breathtaking and being such a short walk ( 10 mins) to the main part of Queenstown was ideally located and on cold nights it only cost $10 at most to catch a taxi back if you didnt want to walk.
Sue - the owner - was lovely .We felt very welcome from the minute we arrived. She was helpful, accomodating and very easy to talk to.
I highly recommend the B&B on the Hill . If we ever get a chance to visit Queenstown again we would definately be staying here.
Thanks Sue :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you enjoyed your time here. Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

During our three-week tour of New Zealand, my partner and I stayed in some amazing places. But the one which sticks in our memory and is our out-and-out favourite? The B&B on the hill. I don't think that words can really do this place justice, but I've tried to outline below exactly what made this place so special.

Host: Sue's welcome was second to none and we could not have asked for a more genuine, friendly, interested and helpful host. From offering to get up at 6am to make us breakfast before an early exursion, to providing information about the quickest way into town, and encouraging us to use the house as our own home, Sue really made the trip for us. She is interested, but also very happy to let you get on and do your own thing.

Bedroom: We had the 'Lakes View' room, which I would highly recommend. It's a spacious room with a large double bed, TV with Sky (not that you need it with the incredible Queenstown on your doorstep), very modern bathroom with a large shower, plenty of room to hang the soft towels and a very clean interior. Not to mention the view which can be seen almost everywhere in the room...

The view: Absolutely incredible. The place is, as the name suggests, on a hill, meaning that it boasts a view across what seems like the entire length of the lake. One wall of the lounge/kitchen is one big window, meaning that you can sit for hours and watch the view change with the clouds. Incredible. It was one of the best views we saw all holiday (and we saw some pretty spectacular ones) and really makes the property. You also get the lounge/kitchen area to yourself (shared if there is another guest staying) meaning you can enjoy it to your heart's content.

Location: It takes approximately 15 - 20 minutes to walk into the heart of Queenstown from the property (slightly longer on the way back, as it's mostly uphill!). We found this a perfect distance - not so far away that it's impossible or difficult to walk in, but not so close that it's noisy or awash with backpackers or wanabee bungee-jumpers. The tour bus we took to Doubtful Sound stopped very close to the B&B indeed and the local taxi drivers and tour guides knew the address well, making it hassle-free.

Queenstown itself: An extremely interesting and eclectic town, which genuinely has something for everyone. We would recommend the sky gondola and luging (pay for the rides at the bottom of the gondola, it's much cheaper. And you will want the maximum five rides!). The food is great, the people are superb and there's so much to do.

- Sue, I'm sorry this has taken us so long to write. Our stay with you was a highlight in an already incredible trip. You really helped make it special and we cannot wait to be back. I dream about that view!

Room Tip: Go for the Lakes View room if available - you won't want to stop looking at that view and it mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Wow, how very kind of you to take SO much time writing a review and for all the lovely comments you make. Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Earnslaw Room which was spacious and nicely appointed (although without the amazing view of the other room). However there is a great guest lounge and balcony with a wonderful view over the lake. Sue was a great host - helpful but gave you plenty of space as well. We enjoyed the breakfast very much, and there was more than enough of it! The B&B is walk-able into town (as long as you don't mind a bit of a hill coming back!). We also thought the special price for 3 nights was great value. Free Wi-fi was useful too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suewilson65, Owner at The B & B on the Hill, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here and that you had safe travels. Best wishes, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The B & B on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The B & B on the Hill

Address: 1and 1A Earnslaw Terrace, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The B & B on the Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished in 2010 this home offers well equipped accommodation where you have two options:- - The Lake and Earnslaw double bedrooms offer bed and continental breakfast accommodation at 1 Earnslaw Terrace. These bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms, safe, small fridge, tea/coffee making facility, Sky TV, the Earnslaw has a Queen double bed, the Lake a superking double bed which converts into twin beds if required. There is a comfortable sitting room for guests to use, from which the wonderful views can be seen, in winter cosy by the log burner (the Lake bedroom also has the panoramic views). Maximum occupancy 5 people in total. Minimum stay 2 nights. - The Self catering apartment at 1A Earnslaw Terrace. This accommodation offers two double bedrooms (with superking double beds which convert into twin beds if required), a spacious sitting room, large, well equipped kitchen/diner, large shower room, separate laundry. Maximum occupancy 4. Mininimum stay 3 nights. Access is down a flight of stone steps. There is off street parking, free Wi-Fi, 100% cotton linen and towels, Manuka Honey Body/Hand wash Shampoo/Conditioner. The walk into the centre of Queenstown takes about 20 minutes, so all the many activities the area offers are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The B & B on the Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The B & B on the Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.