We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Days of an Amazing Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Around The Mountains Cycle Trail Day Tour

Around The Mountains Cycle Trail Day Tour
Enquiries & Reservations at Outside Sports, Queenstown 4300, New Zealand
+642 181 6257
Website
Improve this listing
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the Best Days of an Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We took this tour with two kids 10 and 12 years. It was positively fabulous! The TSS Earnslaw drops you off in a remote farm area, and you get your bikes. Our guide (Chris) rides with you but also pilots a larger bus, that after an hour or so, will take everyone up the gentle hills to the lake area. After a picnic lunch, you ride, ride the gravel roads back to the Earnslaw for your trip back. The riding is as easy or hard as you want it to be. TIP: Don't lazy around too much at lunch as the trip back is awesome, and we had to cut it a bit short (and get loaded into the van) to make the boat. Amazing scenery, thousands of cows and sheep, beautiful streams. Friendly, thoughtful and personal attention so any caliber rider is OK. A highlight of our trip!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunnimg scenery and great guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Went cycling with Chris and it was awesome! Starting from the moment we met, thru the ride on the cool old coal steamer we had a blast. Awesome lunch provided, and as much or as little biking as you want! My favorite was the big hill! Cheers chris for the great day out, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a great day we had. We decided to go ahead despite rain and glad we did as it soon stopped and revealed the stunning landscape.Our guide Chris was excellent and fitted around exactly what we wanted and able to do . He also has a good knowledge of the area, the flora and fauna as well as the history and was able to answer our many questions .Loved in particular the ride in the forest by the Mavora Lakes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unmissable day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our holiday in New Zealand. It starts so well with the trip on the steamer to Walter Peak and then gets better. Not everyone in our party was an expert cyclist but that didn’t matter as they were able to get back into the vehicle at any time. The journey up onto the plateau was amazing. The peace and quiet along with the wonderful scenery was unforgettable and our knowledgeable guide Chris gave us so much insight and information about the area and its history. Good packed lunch too! On returning to Walter Peak we were given refreshments and relaxed for a while watching the steamer come back in and very reluctantly got back on board for the return trip. Don’t miss this – it’s a very different day out and one that will stay with you for ages.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great way to experience backcountry new zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

what a great experience of new zealands backcountry. just a boatride on the earnslaw across lake wakatipu and we were right into it- from walter peak station on to mt. nicholas station and up the von valley. the tracks you are riding on are farm roads and well formed but rarely used by any traffic- so it is you and your bike for almost all the way. the support truck is never far if you get tired but you can also ride as much as you like without feeling time pressured. needless to say the scenery is stunning. chris our guide was full of information about the history of the stations and early settlement of this part of the country as well as the current goingons. great lunchstop halfway at an old musterers hut. highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in the real nz.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Around The Mountains Cycle Trail Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Around The Mountains Cycle Trail Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Around The Mountains Cycle Trail Day Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.