We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B n B with fabulous hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bearsden Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bearsden Bed and Breakfast
333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pinot Noir & Cheese
Ranked #3 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely B n B with fabulous hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Margie and Ned were wonderful hosts, very welcoming and hospitable, were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some excellent advice for day trips and recommended very nice restaurants. We had the garden room, which is the smaller of the two available, nicely appointed, with wonderful views to Coronet Peak. The bed ( a queen) a little firmer than we are used to and limited space to hang clothes, but otherwise a lovely room. Delicious Xmas cake and fresh cherries were waiting for us on arrival, we also enjoyed a bottle of local Pinot Noir and an exceptional cheeseboard on our second night. Breakfast, both continental and cooked were delicious. We highly recommend Bearsden as a fantastic place to stay in Queenstown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello
Thank you so much for your review and so soon after your stay. We enjoyed meeting and talking with you all and look forward to catching up again. Please stay in touch. All the best for 2014. Best regards Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights on our honeymoon. Margie and Ned are amazing hosts. Margie cooks a gourmet breakfast daily, the property is beautiful, quiet, private, and well maintained, and the location (15 minutes drive from Queenstown) is perfect. I couldn't recommend the place more enthusiastically.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi guys
Thank you so much for your review and choosing to stay with us. It was lovely to meet you both and we wish you all the best for your future together. If you are down this way again we would love to see you. All the best.....Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My three night stay at Bearsden was amazing. Since I was the only guest, Margie and Ned upgraded me to the best room free of charge, and I was even greeted with a wonderful cheese and wine plate upon arrival! Yes, the accommodation is incredibly beautiful and comfortable (especially the view from the spa!), but it was really Ned and Margie's hospitality that made this a five star stay. My traveling mate fell ill and was unable to travel, so I ended up not renting a car thinking that the mountain bikes at Bearsden would be sufficient for transport....but that was very naive of me! Out of generosity Margie and Ned took me with them on trips into town and even dropped me off at the bus stop when I was heading up to Christchurch, since relying on bikes was not a viable option. They really went above and beyond to insure I was enjoying my stay to the fullest. The B&B is in a quiet area surrounded by great bike trails and excellent natural views such as Coronet Peak and the Shotover River, but it's a only a quick 10 min drive up to Arrowtown or 15 to Queenstown. The hosts are very knowledgable of the area and can recommend day trips and sightseeing. The breakfast is divine and there are plenty of options from savory to sweet, but the french toast was my favorite! It will keep you full well into the afternoon. Even if you feel like lazing around the house taking it easy there's plenty of books and movies for entertainment.

If you're staying in Queenstown and want to experience it to the fullest, don't miss out on the beauty and hospitality you'll only find at Bearsden!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Andrea
Happy New Year to you! I hope you had a good one. Thank you very much for your review. It was lovely to meet you and we wish you all the best for your studies and hope to see you again. Best regards Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here for a short holiday after getting engaged and couldn't have found somewhere more perfect-beautiful rooms and views, fantastic ending to day on the slopes relaxing in the hot tub looking over the peaks we just skied-stunning views of the Remarkables and Coronet Peak, followed by cheese board and wine by wood burning stove! Breakfast was delicious and Margie and Ned were fantastic hosts-really great recommendations for restaurants and trips-took their advice to stop by a snow field enroute to Christchurch for a last minute ski before flying out and spot on again-made great ending to a faultless stay. We are just looking at dates for when we can return! Thankyou Margie and Ned and of course, Bruno!
Nicki and James

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Nicki and James
Happy New Year. I hope you saw it in in style. Thanks again so much for staying with us and your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again this year and hopefully some great skiing. All the best. Margie, Ned and Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Margie and Ned made our honeymoon stay in Queenstown a great one. We arrived and Margie toured us around their beautiful home, and then let us know that family from home had coordinated with them to provide us bubbly and a locally-sourced cheese plate. Our family mentioned on our return that Margie was very accommodating and helpful with this request.

We enjoyed Bearsden's nice back yard views of a ski slope and took advantage of their hot tub, which was great on a cool evening. Breakfast was tasty-- Bearsden has a really cute menu and fresh-made juice to start your day.

If we make it back to Queenstown, we'll definitely stop back at Bearsden!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Hello
So nice to receive your review and hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure dealing with your mum and helping her with her surprize for your honeymoon. All the best for the future.
Warm regards Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We recently spent a week at the beautiful Bearsden...... Fantastic bed and breakfast that feels like home. Margie and Ned went above and beyond to make our stay truly special. The lounge and bedroom are just so comfortable. Breakfasts are delicious! We loved the extra touches, like our open fire and cheese board. Margie and Ned were happy to help us plan our time in Queenstown, and when our plans unexpectedly changed due to a road closure they helped us to come up with excellent alternatives. I can't recommend Bearsden highly enough. We will definitely be back next time we are in New Zealand! I wish I could give more than 5 stars! Thanks for everything :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello you 2. Back home already. Thank you so much for your lovely review and so soon after your visit. It was great to spend some time with you both and 8 days seemed to go very quickly. Bruno is in good health after a tooth extraction this week. Will email you soon. Perhaps we will see you back here for Warbirds over Wanaka. Thanks again. Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Bearsden B&B and absolutely loved it~! Some highlights of our stay:

- Amazing and very well maintained property with breathtaking views of the Remarkables and Coronet Peak
- High attention to detail by the hosts Margie and Ned, who made sure our entire stay was as comfortable as possible
- Delicious breakfast menu which you can choose the night before (eggs are fresh from their own chickens!)
- Excellent recommendation on activities and restaurants made our trip stress free
- We felt right at home - the room was very comfortable; there was also a very spacious indoor living room with fireplace and a great collection of book; not to mention the beautiful outdoor patio, deck, and lawn/garden area
- Would highly recommend and definitely stay again

Thank you Margie + Ned + Bruno (!) for making our Queenstown stay so memorable! Anita and Grant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearsdenBNB, Owner at Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello you 2
Thank you so much for your recent review and so soon after your stay with us. It was great to meet you both. You certainly covered some ground while you were in NZ. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both and share some great stories.All the best. Margie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bearsden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearsden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 333 Lower Shotover Road | Speargrass Flat, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury B & B is located in a rural setting 15 mins drive from Queenstown central, yet only 7 minutes drive from Queenstown airport and 5 minutes drive from historic Arrowtown. A choice of 2 bedrooms with ensuites, views to Coronet Peak, private guest lounge, outdoor spa, free mountain bikes, espresso coffee, great hosts. Smoke free inside and out. Not recommended for children under 15 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Bearsden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bearsden Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.