We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To heaven and back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters

Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters
35 Lucas Place | Queenstown Airport, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
643 442 3016
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 201 Activities in Queenstown
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“To heaven and back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Thank you ! For giving us such a life long memory to keep! WOW, what an absolutely breath taking experience we were given yesterday! For many years we have wanted to soar through the snow capped peaks of NZ's most magnificent marvels of nature, and we did it! We were very fortunate to have "Alfie" as our pilot, from Lord of the Rings aerial scenes fame!! Yes Alfie, you are famous! He was great from start to finish and made you feel totally at ease as we darted over and down the shear white peaks and into the valleys. If you are coming to Queenstown, you cannot miss this opportunity, you MUST do it, otherwise you are missing out on an experience of a lifetime. We have flown into the Grand Canyon by helicopter which was spectacular,and walked around the bottom, but this is something else again!

Everyone from Gerry and Peter to the other pilots are really nice guys, so you are in great hands. Get out there and do it now!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
It is such a pleasure to read your kind words, thank you for sharing them on TA. We often hear about Grand Canyon heli-flights from guests (which sound amazing) so it's great to hear that we have been able to take it to the next level for you.
As for Alfie, he may be our most experienced pilot but I'm not sure how he feels about being 'famous'. It's something he may have to get used to though as we are only days away from the release of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey so once again the spotlight will be on Queenstown and New Zealand as Middle-earth - Very exciting times indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a way to see NZ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my first helicopter ride and my husband's second. It was a brilliant experience and we both really enjoyed it. Expectations were high and we were not disappointed. The pilot, Andy, was super nice and gave us a warm welcome which immediately put us at ease. He was really friendly and helpful throughout and didn't mind taking photos for us or answering the usual tourists questions that he must hear every day! You can throw yourself off a bridge for a couple of seconds for $180 or pay a little more and go on a fabulous helicopter tour instead (we did both!!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Amazing experiance. Stunning views from the landing on the Remarkables, knee deep snow to play in, exilarating helicopter ride, friendly staff. I would highly recommend Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WooHoo!!! The highlight of my holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wow. Wow. Wow. After a mega snow storm the previous day, and perfect weather the day of our flight, we could not have picked a better day to do this.

We chose a 35 minute flight with an alpine snow landing and it was just awesome. Truly exhilarating . The flight was incredible and then we were on top of the world, shin deep in snow and felt like the only people on the planet. And our pilot, Buck Rogers, (yes that's his name) gave us an excellent commentary of what we were flying over.

If you only do one thing in Queenstown, do this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlacierSouthernLakes, Public Relations Manager at Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your compliments and sharing your pictures - they're certainly worth more than a thousand words! Weather is the one part of the experience that we can't control so it would be rude of us to take all the credit but it sounds like to you got extremely spoilt with all the fresh snow & timed your flight to perfection!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Absolutely awesome experience!! Staff were so friendly and professional. Definitly want to take another flight in the future!! Thanks so much for the experience

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glacier Southern Lakes Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.