We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lab Queenstown

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Queenstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lab Queenstown
Save
You added The Lab Queenstown to your Saves list
6 Henry St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“good value stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We purchased a deal from grabone.co.zn. Based on the 98 NZD/2 night for one couple room, we can not expect more.

They have almost all the facilities. The room, toilet and shower room maybe some kind of small but still fine for us. The big kitchen room is also very useful for us.

Can not find the staff all the time, but they are every nice once approach them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
1
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We should have known there was a problem here when we rang to book two rooms, and at the end of the conversation, they had only booked one for us! They then rang a few days before our arrival to ask if we minded being changed to a different room, because "a couple is coming and specifically requestsed a double." WE had specifically requested a double! Very strange.

On arrival, the two rooms we booked were awful. One looked as though it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. There was a pile of bugs near the window three deep, the carpet was torn from the ground in several places, and a sliding door opened directly onto a common area and had no curtain or privacy. Dirt was thick on all the windowsills. The other was moderately cleaner, but rubbish under the pillows led us to think the sheets hadn't been changed. One of the beds in the room was broken, and I couldn't sleep at all as a result!

The bathrooms were disgusting. I had my 6 week old daughter with me, and there was no place I could wash her. I went without a shower; my husband wore his jandals in the shower, and then scrubbed them thoroughly at the next place we stayed! The mold was thick!

When we complained about the cleanliness of the worst room to staff, their response was "oh, sorry about that," with no offer to make it better or to switch rooms.

The place was loud, and there were numerous fights and arguments in the middle of the night. Not managements' fault, but they did nothing to help, either. There's no security, so anyone can wander in, which was the source of one problem (a girl pounding on a neighbour's door demanding to be let in, as promised in a local pub a few hours before.)

Do NOT stay here!!!

Room Tip: I didn't see any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

It would get zero stars. Her room looked like it had not been cleaned in months. There was thick dust everywhere, and what she hoped was sand in the bed. She and her friend ended up leaving a night early (without being offered a refund).

Now for my review: We took a 10 day trip around the South Island, staying mostly in backpacker type places. The Lab was by far the worst we stayed in. Our room was in relatively good shape; there was a used set of ear plugs left in the top bunk, which was a little disturbing. The beds are a wire spring/mesh type common in backpackers/huts; the wire mesh on our bottom bunk was detached on one side. And there was a built in heater that did not work, so a very dusty portable oil column heater was in the room (which was very dusty, but it was summer). All over the property were broken items: hair dryers that didn't work; extractor fans that didn't work (or had been ripped out leaving holes through the walls). There are several shared baths, and all of them looked like they had not been cleaned in weeks. Bring some shower shoes if you dare to step in the shower...then throw away the shower shoes! I did not use the kitchens, so I cannot comment on them.

The place can get very loud at night, though I don't blame that on management. We came very close to calling the police about the fight going on at 3 in the morning next door.

In short, I would recommend against staying in the Lab unless everything else in Queenstown is full.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The Lab isn't everyone's cup of tea but if your an up-beat, go with it and happy-go-lucky kinda person then you will love it! The people that stay there are great. Granted some have been there for a long time but the time i spent there I made friends for life. The Manager can be a bit cranky but you just go with it! You hardly see her there and the girl that works behind reception is great "craic" haha! Definatly stay here if visiting Queenstown. It's the cheapest hostel around, you open the door and your in town. It's great! An they have a hot tub which is very good fun in the boiling hot sun :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My 6 weeks spent at The Lab Queenstown were amazing!! Excellent location (5min walk to supermarkets, shops, pubs, lake...), nice people all around and available for you anytime :) I had one of my best Christmas Day there!!!

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My friends and I stayed here over the New Years period. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The location was beyond perfect and the facilities were great for the backpacking scene. Exceeded our expectations. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grafton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great Place to Stay
Awesome atmosphere, very friendly.
All the staff are very approachable and helpful with not only goings on at the lodge, but for directions, suggested activities and honest opinion on popular tours.
Comfy basic rooms... plenty of bathroom facilities and great common areas to relax, socialize and enjoy.
VERY close to main part of town just a 2 minute walk (good for after long nights on the town!)

Room Tip: Private Double room was great for a little privacy at a great price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lab Queenstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lab Queenstown

Address: 6 Henry St, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lab Queenstown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.