We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milford Sound and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenorchy Air

Glenorchy Air
91 McBride St | Queenstown Airport, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-442 2207
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #8 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating out of Queenstown airport and flying across the Southern alps on one of the most spectacular short scenic flights in the world, Glenorchy Air is a family business owned and operated by Janet and Robert Rutherford. We operate daily fly-cruise-fly, overflight, helicopter and coach options into and out of Milford Sound and have been doing so for 20 years. Glenorchy Air run regular flights to the Mount Cook region, to Mount Aspiring, Queenstown's local glaciers, Stewart Island, Otago's East Coast and to Fiordlands Doubtful Sound. As we worked on the "Lord of the Rings" movies we have a unique insight into movie locations with various flightseeing options and personalised tours on offer.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Milford Sound and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We recently flew with Glenorchy Air to Milford Sound and back to Queenstown NZ. It was just breathtaking! Our pilot Ray was wonderful and gave great commentary, as we flew between mountains, over glaciers and over the beautiful Sound. After a lovely boat trip discovering the beauty of Milford Sound, we flew back to Queenstown, flying high above majestic mountains and lakes. Highly recommend this trip.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your great review, and for sharing your experience. It is always nice for all of us here at Glenorchy Air to hear from our passengers. And to hear how they enjoyed their experience with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    13
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We took a Glenorchy Air flight to Milford Sound from Queenstown. Our very professional and informative pilot, Ray, flew us across the mountains and over glaciers before landing at Milford. I sat in the co pilots seat which was incredible. We took an interesting boat cruise and then flew a shorter but also scenic route back to Queenstown. An experience not to be missed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you Katie. Weather permitting we do like to take you into Milford Sound on one route, and fly you back on another. This gives you different views, with even more photo possibilities! We are also very please to be able to fly you to see the glaciers on our Milford flight, it's a great extra we like to provide, and the sights are stunning. Thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our New Zealand trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I would like to thank our pilot (Ray) for making our trip to Milford very memorable and informative, despite low clouds Ray managed to show us all the sights from the best possible vantage points. This is a very professional outfit and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Glenorchy Air to everyone, thanks again to the team and especially to Ray.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you on behalf of Ray and the team here at Glenorchy Air. Our pilots sometimes do have to put up with the difficulties in weather we get here, and they are very experienced in doing so. The commentary the pilots like doing on their flights, are very informative, and makes the flight even more memorable. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We flew to Mount Cook and it was an amazing experience. Ray, our pilot, made an amazing trip for us. It was excellent service and one of the most fullfiling experiences in our lives.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your very kind review, we are thrilled to be able to of been a part of the most fulfilling experience of your lives. Our flight to Mount Cook really does fly you over the most stunning scenery, not only showing you the wonders of the glaciers, but of the beautiful landscapes around the area. It really puts into perspective the size of the mountains and the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I rang Glenorchy airlines direct after seeing a brochure advertising fly cruise fly to Milford Sound. The guy who answered the phone was very helpful and allayed my fears about flying in a small plane!! This was definitely the highlight of my trip to New Zealand, beautiful day, excellent pilot and the most breathtaking scenery!! We then did the nature cruise on Milford Sound-amazing up close looking at seals. I have to say this was well worth the expense and much better than taking the bus!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenorchy, Front Office Manager at Glenorchy Air, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that we could be a part of the highlight of your trip in New Zealand. All our pilots are very experienced, and are great at reassuring people who are new to small aircraft, or maybe a bit apprehensive. The breathtaking views, and the informative commentary from the pilots are a great distraction too. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenorchy Air also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Glenorchy Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenorchy Air, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.