We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything on your doorstep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Absoloot Value Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Absoloot Value Accommodation to your Saves list
Absoloot Value Accommodation
50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Everything on your doorstep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Great central location and modern facilities await you at Absoloot Value. My room was on the 3rd floor and while the view was fabulous, it was a little noisy (I could hear the music from nearby pub). The room was small but it didn't bother me. Three people would find it tiny.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    55
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
50
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Absoloot is relatively new, its been open about 7 months so everything is pretty damn clean! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was for Queenstown average pricing, maybe a little bit more than your average Base or Nomads but so worth it. It was £32 for a couple rate each a nice in a 4 bed dorm.

The rooms are amazing, the view you get is incredible overlooking the lake and the mountains. The beds are comfy and the pillows and duvet are pretty good too. I think all of the bathrooms are ensuite and they are tastefully done, clean and the shower is awesome. They clean the rooms and toilet every day and look after the hostel pretty well.

We ended up staying for 8 nights just because it felt homely and was just such a great location. The 6 bed dorms are the same size as the 4 bed rooms so they are a bit more packed but the 4 bed was pretty spacious.

The kitchen is well equipped but quite small for the amount of people staying there, it could do with being a bit bigger. Unfortunately they close the common area and kitchen from 10pm (due to rooms near the common area) so there's nowhere really to socialise unless you sit in the small area downstairs.

They offer the generic iac wifi (pay per mb) but you can reach the free internet from the awesome icecream cafe below in the common room. They also have Sky on a nice big flat screen to chill out and watch as well as a pool table and pretty comfy bean bags/

They arranged a BBQ for Australia day (which it rained on) but it was a fun cheap social event and they have poker every friday. They try and involve everyone in the hostel which is nice and it's also a great location right next to the lake.

The place is well kept and owned by an Australian family who are all really nice, the son and daughter work there as well as the dad (he does the handy work around the place!) and I hope they keep up the standard, I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We are a couple in our 50's and were a little hesitant about staying in "backpacker accommodation" but we were so wrong. Absoloot Value Accommodation has undergone a total refurbishment in 2010 and the managers, Shaun and Nadine, were always friendly and helpful and made us "oldies" feel very welcome.
Our room was on the top floor and had a queen bed and ensuite. It also had heating, tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. On the ground floor there is a fully equipped share kitchen that was always clean and tidy.
We had magnificent views of the lake, the park and snow capped mountains in the distance. The hotel is right on the lake in the centre of town and very close to all restaurants, bars and shops.
This hotel (under a previous name) had a questionable reputation but I strongly urge everyone to give the new owners a chance. You won't be disappointed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Was staying with theses guys for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one.
Was staying in a 4 dorm bedroom with 1 friend of mine. As the season was slow we had the dorm for ourselves. Dorms have en suite bathrooms, plasma TVs and new bunk beds which are very stable and don't squeak at every movement, fresh and clean linen and awesome duvets. Towel rentals were free of charge. I am very picky when it comes to my bed and I had always a great night sleep. There is air conditioning/ heating in every room which can be adjusted to your convenience, so it was never cold even when it was snowing outside. Our room window was located to a busy street but due to isolation it was very quiet inside the rooms.
The reception and lounge area were very cosy and well managed.
This family business hostel is run by Nadine and Shaun who are both very committed lovely people and payed attention to every detail in this accommodation. They are also very helpful with organizing activities and know themselves around QT 100%.
The location couldn't be better, right at the lakeside in city center within walking distance to everything and a great chocolate place right in the same building :-) Great for morning coffee and deserts!
In summary, if you are on your way to Queenstown and want a clean and well run place without paying for a proper hotel, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absoloot Value Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.