We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but don't expect views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Absoloot Value Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Absoloot Value Accommodation to your Saves list
Absoloot Value Accommodation
50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good but don't expect views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good, clean backpacker accommodation but don't expect views from hotel window, even though they advertise on their website with loads of pictures of views from the hotel rooms,it can not be expected as I sadly found out. excellent location, right in the centre with lake on your doorstep as well as nightclubs, noisey at night on weekends, to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    43
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
9
43
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed here at the end of July and it was excellent, very clean, friendly staff, location was just perfect!!!, couldn’t of been better. T.V room has a great view; the rooms are nice and comfortable. It was just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best location in town. Clean and spacious rooms. Friendly staff. I would definitely come back when I visit Queenstown again.
One not so nice thing is that on Fridays and Saturdays you get to hear some music and noise from outside, but nothing major (it did not bother me at all, but I feel like I must say it...).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hostel is literally a step away to everything Queenstown has to offer as it is conveniently located next-door to Earnslaw Park on the Wakatipu Lakefront. The 6-bed mixed room and bathroom are quite clean, bed is comfortable, and offers your own bed lamp and power strip which makes it very convenient to charge your devices. Wifi is unlimited but you would need one password per device and you have to login every time you connect. They have a storage room where you can safely leave your things if your room is unavailable. Kitchen is small and have limited seats but quite clean. On the staff, Sean is very accommodating and friendly. This hostel is highly recommended for budget travellers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for a hostel accommodation, whether shared rooms, twins or singles, this is a very centric, super located place in downtown Queenstown which I found to be very neat, comfortable, practical and the guys at the reception were helpful and pleasant. I'm over 50 and it was my first time using hostels - I was a bit apprehensive as to the environment and maybe the noise at night, but that doesn't happen, I had no issues whatsoever on any of the hostels I used for about 8 days. Absoloot had a good price for its location and in comparison to competition in neighboring blocks. It is also half a block from the lake front, lots of places to eat in the vicinity, nice rooms (we took a twin with private bathroom), the kitchen was super well equipped, clean and organized. If you are taking a bus like Stray, Naked Bus, Kiwi, etc. the bus stop is about 4 blocks from the place, so beware if you are not traveling light. Overall a very recommendable place which I would go back to.

Room Tip: Some rooms are too close to the stairs or elevator landing, you might want to stay away from these t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

great value for money,
awesome location but poor parking options,
have lake view from our room but couldn't open the window
friendly and helpful staff,
well facilities in kitchen but limited dining area
unlimited wifi, but after outing, u need to re-input the user name and password when u r back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location and views of Lake. Welcoming, very friendly and helpful staff. My partner and I were very pleasantly surprised with this place. The Queen room was hotel standard, if not better (than Novotel!) with free WiFi (not provided by Novotel), kitchenette facilities and windows across two sides providing spectacular views across the Lake. Thanks Sean and Gus, we had a great time staying in your place!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Absoloot Value Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absoloot Value Accommodation

Address: 50 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absoloot Value Accommodation (AVA) has been designed with the backpacker, ‘flashpacker’ and value-seeking traveler in mind. AVA is spectacularly located on the lakefront right in the centre of Queenstown. Newly refurbished, it offers boutique dorms (6 beds maximum), double and queen rooms. Fresh, contemporary style with space to play and space to relax. And now there is FREE WIFI throughout the hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Absoloot Value Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absoloot Value Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Absoloot Value Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.