We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highview Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Highview Apartments to your Saves list
Highview Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   66 - 70 Thompson Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Highview apartments where definitely the highlight stay of the NZ trip for us. The views from the apartments are breathtaking. Waking up the sun shine and the blue waters was great each morning. The apartment has a full service kitchen and has a great home like feel. Very modern interiors and well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    39
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
78
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here recently while attending a conference. I selected Highview due to other reviews on Tripadvisor. I am glad I did. I had a one bedroom lake view room and private patio. The room was warm, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spacious with a seperate bath and shower. The views were a draw card and I really did waste time just admiring them. The bed was comfortable and the hostess Julie was very friendly and helpful. A full kitchen and laundry. Free wifi and parking. Not far into town. Although I had a rental car, I did walk back from town often for the exercise. Wasn't too bad. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I spent 9 nights in a one bedroom apartment in late October and we were really impressed with the quality of the apartment, and the spectacular views. The apartment had everything you need, kitchen was well equipped with dishwasher and front loader washer/dryer. The bed linen was clean and crisp and the bed was very comfortable.It was lovely to relax in a good size bath with underfloor heating. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. The room was fully serviced every 3 nights but you could ask for anything you needed from reception. We found that it was a very quiet location, we were not disturbed by other guests and it was close to the main shops. The location lent itself to lovely walks along the lake but it was great to wake up to such a wonderful view and to be able to sit out on the balcony and be surrounded by a view which is priceless. This was one of the best stays we have had anywhere and we do travel a lot, and Queenstown is a must visit. Highly recommend you stay here as it is good value for money also.

Room Tip: Always book a lake view apartment, first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at the Highview recently for 4 nights and were very impressed with the level of cleanliness, service and general feel of the place.
The apartment we stayed in had an amazing view of the lake and surroundings. It was spacious and very clean. The little luxuries such as heated flooring in the bathroom, heated towel rack, new carpets, a gas log fire and very well equipped kitchen made the stay even more comfortable.

Location was good, too. A bit of a walk up hill (but what isn't in Queenstown! :)). 12 min walk from the centre of town so, close to all the action, yet somewhat quiet and removed.

Keep in mind, these are self-service apartments, so daily cleaning is not part of the deal, although we were offered fresh towels on request. Overall, we could not fault this place and will be staying here every time we visit Queenstown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in a one-bedroom lakeview apartment.
To start the view was spectacular, over the lake and the snow-capped mountains.
Location OK, 10-15 minute walk to town (worse on the way back up-hill).
Room nice, clean and comfortable. Good size. Washing machine and dryer in room. Cooking facilities and large fridge. Good bathroom with separate bathtub and shower.
Staff (Laura) friendly and helpful. Reception open 9-5 daily.
Free WIFI and local phone calls which was great.
Free on-site parking.
Price OK for Queenstown.

Overall a good base for a stay in Queenstown to do its activities and explore surrounding areas. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed August 2013, great room with full view of Remarkables and lake. Clean + new rooms, about a 5-10 min walk into Queenstown. Would stay here again next time in Queenstown. Room also has separate shower/bath, gas fire place and nice kitchenette.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for a nearby conference.

We were in the smallish flats (without the amazing view) but they were very modern, clean and comfortable.

The service was very friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere was relaxed throughout.

We had a look at the large flats with the *stunning* view and I would recommend these to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Highview Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highview Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.