We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Clean apartment for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highview Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Highview Apartments to your Saves list
Highview Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   66 - 70 Thompson Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent, Clean apartment for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 nights stay in Highview last week.
On-site managers were helpful and easy in providing us additional supplies like tissue boxes etc.
Only caution is the 2 bedrooms apparently are made up of 2 units - 1 studio and 1 bedroom so the 2 bedrooms are far apart, separated by pantry. May not be so ideal of families with little ones but works fine for us, travelling with 2 teenage boys.
Did not get to use gym nor pool as they are closed after 5pm (which is not so ideal).
Walk to town is not so easy due to steep slope so we drove to town all all days for diners.
View from room is Spectacular indeed - especially in summer days where sky does not turn dark till after 10pm. Perfect stay for us and will revisit this place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
77
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just enjoyed three days, two nights in this beautiful apartment to celebrate my birthday. The picture postcard view of Lake Wakatipu as we sat back on two comfortable couches with coffee table and tv made it hard to ever leave to go out! There was everything we could need in the well equipped kitchen so we ate in both nights. The best part was the tranquility and absolute quiet through the night. Had a wonderful sleep in a really comfortable king size bed. It was a pleasant walk down to the town centre where we enjoyed a cruise on the historic steamer the "Earnslaw". It was great being so close to the "action" of cafes and shops and yet being able to look down on just trees and lake. We will be back.

Room Tip: The top floor lake view apartment would be the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

While planning our recent break we did spend a lot of time on Trip Advisor... The decision to stay at HighView apartments did not disappoint. The apartments are fabulous they are a gentle walk to the bustle of town yet far enough out of it to relax. The apartments are very well appointed and configuration really suited our families needs. Julie the site manager went above the call of duty with her recommendations and securing our fabulous babysitter for 3 out of our 6 night stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: Talk through your needs with Julie on the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment for a week and this was absolutely perfect for three adults, the facilities are more than you could ask for. The kitchen has a stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher and all the appliances are great (better than mine at home!).

There is also a front loader washing machine and dryer combo however it is more efficient using the clothes airier and drying clothes inside while the heater is on. Bathrooms have heated floor tiles and heated towel rails and the shower is great. Heating in the living room is awesome and we were very comfortable during our stay.

The views really are spectacular and it is is really easy to walk to and from town, Julie is so helpful and the other staff members we chatted to are really friendly and helpful.

I really cant fault this as a place to stay in Queenstown and we will definitely be back on our next stay in this gorgeous town, I wish I could live here :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What an amazing place to stay. The view changes from hour to hour. Julie and sandy make sure you have everything you need. The gas heating turned on, the floor heating turned on and the instruction on the shortcut to get back from Queenstown (only for those who have eaten too much) Thank you for making our 8 days in paradise so enjoyable. We will be back

Room Tip: The 3rd floor is excellent with views over the lake to the Remarkables
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our second visit to Highview (we stayed 3 nights in 2010) - this time we stayed a week and it was well worth it. We love the apartments, they are spacious, well furnished equipped with everything you need for cooking and the views are amazing!!! Julie from reception was always ready to help with anything from the moment we made our booking until we checked out on our last day - thank you Julie!! There was a pretty good selection of DVD's on offer at reception to borrow if you felt the need. My only small negative comment is that there is no where to put your dirty clothes while they await washing and the shower does leak water onto the floor (you have to be very careful when showering not to get a puddle on the floor - in the end we used a towel rolled up on the edge of the bath). I noticed the lack of washing storage space this trip as there were 5 of us and lots of washing, last time it was just the 2 of us. All in all when we return to Queenstown I will definitely be back to Highview!!

Room Tip: Get an apartment (not a studio) if you want a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Apartment had amazing view of mountains and lake. Very modern and within walking distance to town. Gas fire place in the room. Large apartment that was clean and well maintained.. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highview Apartments

Address: 66 - 70 Thompson Road, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand (Formerly Clarion Suites Highview Apartments)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Highview Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Highview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highview Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.