We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
45 Camp Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
0800 947 873
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #22 of 165 activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ziptrek Ecotours is NZ's #1 Original Zipline tour and is a spectacular eco-adventure through the forest canopy high above Queenstown, situated on Skyline Gondola hill. Ziptrek runs all year round and is stunning whatever the weather. With two tours to choose from it is suitable for everyone, whether looking for an introduction into Queenstown adventure (Moa 4-Line Tour) or wanting the latest gripping eco-exhilaration (Kea 6-Line Tour) which includes the steepest tree to tree zipline in the world.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our tour guides were really cool, and the views were really great. You learn a lot about conservation too. They have a good mission for the environment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    73
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great fun for a first time zip line”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was my first zip line ever and I had a great time. Our guides (TJ and Kyle) were great, very informative yet with a great sense of humor, but they were also very professional and safety focused.

I did the six line (Kea) tour which I strongly recommend over the four line tour. Yes, I know it's a bit more expensive, but the last two lines are the best. I'll admit a few of the first lines are not that long or fast.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zippy_trent, Owner at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Looks like you had a great time in Queenstown. We are pleased that you got all the cultural experiences including Fergburger. We always recommend calling your order through:) Thanks for the feedback to TJ and Kyle. We try to deliver as rounded experience as we can. The Kea 6 line tour is one that we really try to build up for the guest. Hope you get to do more zipping with us or others around the world! We have an operation in Whistler Canada if you ever get there. Cheers, Trent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Make sure you do the 6 line Kea as you definately feel more confident towards the end. The guides are friendly, helpful and encourage you to let go of your fears - worth the money!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome views, great guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Our family of four did the 6-line tour. Our children are 9 and 6, and they both had a blast! Our guides, Holly and Rich, were so much fun. Our 6 yr old had to tandem lines 4 and 5 and was too light to do number 6. The guides brought her down to the end platform by vehicle and she met us as we came in from line 6. I was nervous about the steep ending at first, but they do all the breaking and the work for you. You just walk down the short steps and take off. It is so much fun, and I would recommend it to anyone. They are very safety conscious and professional. Be aware, there is a short hike between lines 5 and 6, so wear appropriate shoes....lots of downhill.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We did the Moa 4 line tour. Great adventure activity for those not brave enough to bungy, suitable for all ages. Staff and guides were really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable; made the time more enjoyable. Good views, definitely worth the money would happily spend the extra money to go on the 6 line tour next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziptrek Ecotours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ziptrek Ecotours to your Saves list