We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming home in beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbrook B&B and Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Willowbrook B&B and Cottages to your Saves list
Willowbrook B&B and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 44 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Charming home in beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you have a car, then this is a wonderful home outside of busy Queenstown with a stunning view of the mountains. Trish and Tony were very friendly hosts who during the generous breakfasts provided helpful guidance for activities and even made phone inquiries on our behalf. Our room had a bathroom with heated floors (nice when it gets chilly in the evenings). The bedroom itself is on the small side, but there is plenty of open areas in the lounge. There is a tennis court, but it could use a resurface, but is decent for a leisurely game. Trish was kind to do one courtesy laundry for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    30
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here because it was close to the airport (less than 15 minutes). The common area and room was fine. The house is charming but I agree with some reviewers that the decor is not true to the house; antiques better suit this lovely home. Breakfast was fine but nothing special as other b&bs prepared. Trish and Tony are pleasant and helpful and the house is clean.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Queenstown is a bustling, vibrant little city and Willowbrook B&B is a great respite from all the fuss. On the road to Arrowtown (a must-see, authentic midcentury town), the Willowbrook offers bed/breakfast and self-catering. We enjoyed the latter, and the proprietors were very gracious and flexible with our comings and goings. It felt like staying with friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a great place with a homey atmosphere with very kind hosts. We stayed in the main house, but there are two self-contained alternatives.
Both Arrowtown and Queenstown are a short drive away (5 and 15 minutes) and the surroundings are quiet and relaxing.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Trish and Tony made us feel very welcome. Their 100 yr old home is abount 4km from
Arrowtown so you will need a car if you stay here. Out room was in the main house with an en suite bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. Trish gave us a lot of helpful advice on the local restaurants and tips on resorts we will visit later on our trip. Breakfast was substantial and well prepared. Good Wifi enabled us to keep in touch with our family in the UK. We can certainly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family of four (2 adults, 2 kids - 5 + 7) stayed at Willowbrook for 2 nights. We stayed in the cottage, away from the main house and even had our own driveway. Our hosts met us at the door and gave good recommendations of places to eat and things to do. The cottage itself was 2 bedroom and very comfortable with a good-sized kitchen and living area. Both rooms had their own bathroom. set back from the road, the grounds were well kept and my kids tell me were fun to explore and our hosts loaned tennis racquets and balls for the kids to muck about on the large court.

Our hosts went above and beyond and were anxious to make our stay as comfortable as possible, Tony took the kids to hand-feed the sheep while Trish provided my wife with a list of things to see and do in New Zealand.

All in all, we had a lovely, comfortable time at Willowbrook and the surrounding area (very convenient for both Queenstown and Arrowtown) and we will be sure to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed as a family at the Barn at Willowbrook - repeat business like this speaks louder than words but we just wanted to highlight how much we enjoyed, again, the tranquillity, convenience, privacy and flexibility of Willowbrook. Trish and Tony are marvellous hosts and so helpful without being in any way intrusive. We stayed for just under two weeks and had a great, relaxing time. Fifteen minutes to the Gondola in Queenstown ( we were doing a mountain bike holiday) and just five to Arrowtown makes Willowbrook a very good location if you are not after the hurly burly of Queenstown. Our two holidays @ Willowbrook are the best we have had and, next year, we plan to make it three. Look no further!

Room Tip: The Barn is particularly good if you are skiing or mountain biking or have active young children. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbrook B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook B&B and Cottages

Address: 760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willowbrook B&B and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Bed & Breakfast and Self-Contained accommodation in an idyllic, rural setting below Coronet Peak just 15 minutes from Queenstown and 5 minutes from historical Arrowtown. We are within easy reach of ski fields, wineries and some very picturesque golf courses. Four acres of mature garden surrounding the Main House of Willowbrook contain a tennis court, a luxurious spa pool and some very friendly sheep. Free wireless internet and Sky TV are available throughout Willowbrook and breakfast is included in the Main House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Willowbrook B&B and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbrook B&B and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.