We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cottage with a spa pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbrook B&B and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Willowbrook B&B and Cottages to your Saves list
Willowbrook B&B and Cottages
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Queenstown B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Very nice cottage with a spa pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had some trouble with our rental vehicle company the day before and arrived in Arrowtown somewhat stressed out. The cottage however was all peaceful and quiet - a perfect place to de-stress. The cottage had a bbq, and there was a nice spa pool in the compound. Perhaps a little more expensive than what you might find nearby, but well worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    27
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good location if you have a car. Lovely views and surroundings. Welcoming hosts and comfortable rooms in the main house- old fashioned interiors to match age of property. Very handy for beautiful, interesting Arrowtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our "Barn" cottage at Willowbrook was a very roomy studio layout with a large covered outdoor bbq area. About five minutes from Arrowtown township means it is really "in the country". Trish is a very pleasant and helpful host who let us know we would be on our own unless we required anything - just what we wanted. The kitchenette is basic at best but adequate for most purposes.
We found the huge king bed exceptionally comfy and the lounge chair and sofa also very relaxing. Above the bed is a large clear glass skylight with no way of blocking out the light in the morning - from about 5am while we were there...good for those who want to be up and at 'em each day but terrible for anyone wanting to have a sleep-in...(an eye-mask could be handy). The bathroom suffers from a lack of shelving for personal toiletries and features heating. Wifi was free and good signal in most locations either in the cottage or out on the bbq deck. If quietness and privacy is your aim then Willowbrook cottages will fill your needs...it suited us admirably...

Room Tip: This room is good but if you want to have a sleep-in then bring your eye mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a little gem of a place, it has a lovely setting and the hosts couldn't be more helpful or pleasant. It's very handy to Arrowtown and we loved the spacious feel to the place, and the peacefulness of the setting.
We will return and stay more than one night next time!
thanks for your help!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned to Auckland from an overdue long weekend in Queenstown and I'm sharing feedback on our stay at Willowbrook B & B.
We found the accommodation ideal for our needs- superbly located and run with love and care by hosts Trish and Tony White. We stayed in one of the double bedrooms with its own ensuite, and we were very happy with everything on offer.
My wife and I would definitely return to Willowbrook.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights prior to our wedding and at the barn for 6 nights for our honeymoon.The location is wonderful,peaceful,private and with beautiful views of the mountains.The sheep and goat were friendly too.Tony and Trish were very friendly and helpful.Tony even gave me a lift to my wedding!
The cottage was in excellent condition,very clean and warm.We had lots of space in the barn,a very big comfortable bed,and it too was warm.We loved the spa!
We were very close to Arrowtown which we preferred to Queenstown and felt so rested after our lovely stay.Thank you Trish and Tony

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Almost a year on (we were there for two nights last January),we feel it important to review our stay at Willowbrook.Considering the cost, we found the room exceedingly small ,very tired and dated with hardly any room to move around our cases, the bed was a small double and the sheets were of the multicoloured poor quality variety. We found the breakfast to be less than generous with only cereal and a slice of toast on offer. Trish and Tony were helpful but we still maintain that with a little more effort and a general updating of linen and decor, our stay would
have been a great deal more pleasant.

Room Tip: We were not offered a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowbrk, Owner at Willowbrook B&B and Cottages, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am sorry you found your stay less than satisfactory although why you waited ten months to communicate the fact, is hard to fathom.

I welcome all constructive criticism – I believe it helps us to raise our game – and as such I apologise for the condition of the sheets. We do not use ‘poor quality’ bed linen but a high thread count percale. It appears however that one of our older sets of sheets may have been on your bed and again I apologise. We have since double checked our inventory and removed any sheets we judged as below par.

The bedroom you chose was the Queen bedroom in the Main House. This room is 3.4 x 3.2 metres with a queen size bed as the name implies – you are welcome to call it a ‘small double bed’ if you prefer. The ensuite bathroom is 2.7 x 1 metres and following recent renovations, now offers a tiled shower and underfloor heating.

Your comments about ‘not being offered a choice’ are puzzling to say the least. You booked through Expedia and while they may not be everybody’s favourite online accommodation site, the last time I looked, they did allow freedom of choice. The King room in the Main House was available for the 2 nights you stayed. This room is larger than the Queen and for a slightly higher tariff (NZ$10) would have given you more space.

Our breakfasts consist of juice, peeled and sliced fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, homemade bread and tea or plunger coffee and have been well received in the fifteen years Willowbrook has been operating. This is what was ‘on offer’ on the mornings of January 12th and 13th this year – if anything was insufficient, you had only to ask Trish & Tony for some more.

I am a firm believer in the principle of value for money and I have always taken great care to ensure that our rates at Willowbrook reflect that principle. What we offer in terms of facilities and rate inclusions, represents in my opinion, excellent value for money and it would seem that the vast majority of our guests agree with me.

Roy Llewellyn
Owner - Willowbrook B&B and Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbrook B&B and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook B&B and Cottages

Address: 760 Malaghans Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Willowbrook B&B and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Bed & Breakfast and Self-Contained accommodation in an idyllic, rural setting below Coronet Peak just 15 minutes from Queenstown and 5 minutes from historical Arrowtown. We are within easy reach of ski fields, wineries and some very picturesque golf courses. Four acres of mature garden surrounding the Main House of Willowbrook contain a tennis court, a luxurious spa pool and some very friendly sheep. Free wireless internet and Sky TV are available throughout Willowbrook and breakfast is included in the Main House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Willowbrook B&B and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbrook B&B and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.