We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Food In Queenstown NZ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hikari

Hikari
5 Beach Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
034429030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Japanese Food In Queenstown NZ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

There are two Japanese restaurants in Queenstown NZ. The HIKARI is the bigger and better of the two. The atmosphere is fairly noisy on busy nights not unlike the restaurants in Japan. The quality and quantity of food is very good but on the night we were there the tuna sashimi was not the best. No fault with the salmon sashimi though as NZ has some of the best salmon in the world. Although a little pricey it is worth the enjoyment of a good meal. Definitely worth a visit if you like Japanese.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    47
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were there just because we were staying in an hotel very close and we were too tired to look for another places, but the experience was superb!! The dinner was just perfect. The sushi fresh and generous, the okonomiyaki wonderful and the staff friendly and professional. Great overall experience and we would repeat again ;-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Takeaway treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This review is for the takeaway sushi bar, located in Queenstown Mall. It's the real deal. The sushi is fresh, the staff are great and the only problem you'll have is how many times you can go back for more. Take a box and tongs as you enter, choose your sushi from the chilled display and pay at the far end. Miso soup, wasabi, pickled ginger, soy and chopsticks are all free. Don't miss the raw tuna sushi - the fish is as fresh as it gets - and try the tempura vegetable sushi, yummy. Six pieces will usually come in under $10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Loved the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went to eat their tonight .. We loved the food ..the taste was so authentic and everything was freshly made .. I will strongly recommend this place for Japanese food lovers :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What happened?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This used to be my favourite Japanese restaurant in QT.. great portions, friendly smiling staff and affordable.
The last time I visited a few days ago was a complete disappointment.
The sashimi was not as fresh as I remember and the serving size has become smaller?! Yaki-udon was too too salty!!
Unenthusiastic staff didn't help either. I don't know if it was a one time thing but this is not the Hikari I loved. Hopefully the next time I visit it will be better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hikari also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Hikari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hikari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.