We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown with terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak to your Saves list
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   161 Arthurs Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rundown with terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is incredibly run down and seemed to be filled with incredibly rude staff.
After a lovely day we arrived at the location at 6pm to a room that had not been cleaned since the previous guests had departed. Judging by the smell, I would assume that this may have been a couple of days. Upon requesting a clean room we were asked to wait in reception for nearly an hour while someone attended our requirement. I would have waited on the front steps and enjoyed the picturesque scenery, however the 'toilet' smell made this uncomfortable. A very disappointing aspect of what has so far been a wonderful NZ experience. Not worth NZ $175 as backpackers hostels for a fraction of the price often offer better hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, albeit unfortunate that you were let down by the sense of welcome and an error in the room cleaning report for the day in question. I am however happy that we were able to get the room serviced at this hour of the day. It is certainly not common practice to have un-serviced rooms in the system and I have reviewed this procedure to ensure no repeat instance of this moving forward. Yes there is fantastic views surrounding the property from all sides in this lovely picturesque corner of Queenstown. I sincerely apologise for the issues mentioned and these comments serve as a great tool to ensure we are always offering an optimum service experience to all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
19
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very run down. No maintenance whatsoever. We had a hole in the wall of our room, peeling paint, very shabby, old looking. The lobby, too, is pitiful.

Location is good and staff was friendly, but the hotel obviously has seen some much better days.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissBelResortGM, Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Swiss-BelResort Coronet Peak. It is unfortunate that you were in a room that had some maintenance issues and I will have the maintenance team action this immediately. I am however please to advise that in the new year 2014 the Resort is undergoing a major refurbishment to take it from its current 3 star status to 4 star level. This includes all guest rooms, public areas, lobby, Restaurant & Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Situated 10 minutes outside Queenstown, its ideal to get away from the busy town.

Unfortunately as many reviews have pointed out, it is in serious need of updating. I found mould in the bathroom, on the windowsill, and the wallpaper had bulges in it. The room was warm and the sheets were clean though.

Staff were excellent though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Good Afternoon ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us in regards to your recent stay at Swiss-BelResort Coronet Peak , your feedback is invaluable to us in our efforts to improve on our facilities .

I take note of your feedback and apologize to you in regards to not having met your expectations on this occasion.
.
We ( Swiss-BelHotel International ) have only taken over the property two months ago and we are currently in the middle of a major " spring clean " throughout to improve the quality and standards , we will also embark on a major renovation programme in February 2014 , which will include , all Guest Rooms , Restaurant and Bar / Public areas and Recreational facilities .

Once again , thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback .

We look forward to seeing you again one day at Coronet Peak or perhaps at one of our " Sister " properties throughout our portfolio .

Kind Regards

Gordon Coutts
Group Operations Director
Swiss-BelHotel International
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here during a roundtrip through new zealand. The hotel is a little bit outside the city center up in the mountains, but has a shuttle service right to the city center. Can always call them if you need a pickup.

The hotel is big and located close to the skiing area.
So deffinatly recomend this hotel, I enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Diyat A,
Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. I trust that you enjoyed your trip around New Zealand; we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the location wasn’t an issue, due to our proximity to Coronet Peak Ski field and our complimentary shuttle service. Again thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Coronet Peak Hotel for 5 nights on a ski holiday. The hotel is situated about a 10 minute drive from the town of Queenstown on route to the Coronet Peak ski area. We had the use of a car and this was definitely worth having, not only to get into town, but also to drive to all of the ski fields. There is a shuttle bus service available from the hotel into town, but we didn't use it.
The bedroom, although dated in decor and a bit on the shabby side, was clean, warm and the bed was very comfortable. My only negative was that there were no pillow protectors under the pillow cases and the pillows smelt rather stale and musty.
The bathroom could do with some updating, though it was clean and shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion were provide. Towels were changed daily and extra could be obtained from reception for use in the spa. Unfortunately the sauna was out of action during our stay, but we used the spa pool each day. It's worth booking a time slot the day before in order to guarantee the time that you want to use it.
All of the staff were polite, friendly and helpful, though the staff on reception were exceptionally good and went out of their way to obtain information for us.
We didn't use the restaurant, but did eat in the bar one evening. Service was good and the food was tasty and well priced.
The 10 pin bowling alley was a bonus, great fun and well worth the NZ $15pp for two games!
If you are looking for a basic hotel without frills this certainly gives value for money. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room at the back of the hotel rather than one overlooking the road and it was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissBelResortGM, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear MittsSydney,
Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. It was really pleasing to read that you found our team here to be polite, friendly and helpful; it is certainly a big focus that we have, ensuring that we give genuine friendly service. The hotel is about to go through an extensive refurbishment programme, after the current Ski season. All of the areas that you have commented on, such as the sauna, the tired room, pillows without pillow protectors and bathroom, will all be addressed during this time. I do hope that you might be able to visit again next ski season and see that changes to the hotel. Again thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights i got the voucher from grabone and it was worth it..the hotel have this cosy atmosphere and the service was greAt especially the receptionist and the lady at breakfast..driving to and from the hotel ws great but not at night time as it was really dark and scary..bonus was the bowling area and pool!! Would have tried the shotover jet which is just like a minute drive from the hotel would pay for this hotel same price we paid for though

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus K, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Lovetravellove
Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to have a cosy atmosphere, the real wood fires help provide this type of atmosphere, and great service from our team. It is unique to have a bowling alley in a hotel in New Zealand, this is a great point of difference for us and we find that bowling is well used by our guests. I would like to let you know that the hotel is due to go through a major renovation after the current Ski season, so there are some exciting changes ahead – rest assured that we will be keeping the open fire places, that help create the cosy atmosphere you mention. Again thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were given a grab one mystery deal for the weekend as a gift. The rooms whilst warm and clean were a little dated. The staff were great, with one outstanding member, Dale whom we found to be informative, efficient and very helpful and a genuinely nice person. The free courtesy Van was useful and a good idea. The restaurant was good and the food enjoyable.
The staff advised us of two large parties staying in the hotel and suggested dining before these which we did and this avoided a long wait.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus K, General Manager at Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Jenine763
Thank you for placing feedback on TripAdvisor. It was very pleasing to read your feedback about Dale and how you found him to be helpful and genuine, I will ensure that I pass your feedback to Dale and also thank him for his great customer service. Great to read that our communication was working well and that the team kept you up to date with what was happening in the hotel. It was also nice to read that you enjoyed our restaurant and food offering. The hotel is about to go through a major renovation, after the current Ski season, your comment about the rooms a little dated will be addressed during this time. Again thank you for taking the time to place your feedback. Kindest Regards Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak

Address: 161 Arthurs Point Road, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak is a 3 star resort with 75 guest rooms, all with private bathrooms. Located just 7 minutes from the lively downtown Queenstown. It is the perfect location to escape the nightlife and recover from an adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.