We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Routeburn Track with Ultimate Hikes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Routeburn Track Hiking Tour - New Zealand Breeze

Routeburn Track Hiking Tour - New Zealand Breeze
61 Dart Place, Queenstown, New Zealand
027−222−0685
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Attraction details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Routeburn Track with Ultimate Hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was one of the most amazing experiences I have had in my life.It was great having a guided hike with Vernon,Tony and James who were so knowledgeable about the history and fauna on the Routeburn. As our group of eight, average age was 58years, we relished the beautiful meals, hot showers, comfotable beds and only had to carry a 5-7 kg pack made this hike so enjoyable giving us time to take in the fantastic views.We were encouraged to walk at our own pace which made it so relaxing.We did train for this,which helped enjoy this hike.We also had beautiful weather.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Routeburn Track- Ultimate Hikes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

As someone who is used to carrying tents, sleeping bags and food into a remote destination, walking the Routeburn with Ultimate Hikes was a revelation. The lodges were wonderful and having your food (great food) prepared for you after a big day of trekking was pure luxury. We are vegetarians and ate just as well as everyone else.I think the highlight were the guides though. Knowledgeable, unflapable and amusing they gave an extra dimension to the walk, not to mention they were a lot of fun to be with.

We did the full track and its is one of the most beautiful walks we have ever done. A blind person could take a great pic here- EVERYTHING is stunning. In fact, the scenery rates as good as the higher altitude treks I have done in Nepal. I was delighted to see a Kea (alpine parrot) up close and some rare plants. Do this! Get out there!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I just loved the guided walk on the Routeburn with Ultimate Hikes. Scenery and weather were stunning. The track is well formed and anyone with reasonable fitness will enjoy it. The lodges we stayed in were really comfortable and the resident chefs at both lodges catered to my vegetarian diet perfectly...exceeded my expectations!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“as good as I thought it would be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just completed the 3 day/2 night hike on the Routeburn Track. It was spectacular. The views were awesome, the huts we stayed in on the trail were great, the walk, although challenging in parts, was both very rewarding and a great experience. Best things were the views, the people we met and the challenge, the worst? not much really. We did have exceptional weather, no rain, I would imagine if it was teeming down it wouldn't be fun. Do equip yourself correctly...it gets cold at night and in the mornings, can be extremely wet, correct footwear is a must...hiking boots!!. You need clothes to cover a lot of different conditions...cold/wet/warm and remember you have to carry it all. And bring nice food, it makes for a much more pleausrable experince. Go do it, it's worth it!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stunning views from beginning to end.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Perhaps the most beautiful hike I have been on - the only area just beating it, Glacier National Park. I fell in love with New Zealand based on this hike. Depending on your skill and comfort, you can do this hike in 1, 2 or 3 days. Poles should be used, but as an average hiker, I did not find this trail difficult. Because I wanted to take my time and take photographs, I did go with the 3-day Ultimate Hikes. Unlike one review, no - they do not carry your bags from place to place. You are responsible for carrying your equipment, but I absolutely enjoyed great cooking, wine and comfortable but minimalistic lodging in the evening.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Routeburn Track Hiking Tour - New Zealand Breeze also viewed

 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Routeburn Track Hiking Tour - New Zealand Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Routeburn Track Hiking Tour - New Zealand Breeze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.