We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun and a beautiful canyon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyoning.co.nz

Canyoning.co.nz
39 Camp Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 (0)3 441 3003
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #35 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canyoning is an adventure sport like no other - encounter zip-lines, waterfalls, rock jumps, natural rock slides, and much more!The half day canyon is located in fantastic wilderness environment 15 minutes from Queenstown. It is a naturally carved canyon fed by the crystal clear waters of a high alpine lake. This trip is great if you’re pressed for time but looking to squeeze in an adventure. If you’ve got a day to spare join us on the full day Routeburn trip and challenge yourself in a truly stunning rainforest environment. Embark on an adrenalin-packed expedition for the experience of a lifetime!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great fun and a beautiful canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A group of us were able to book the half day Queenstown canyoning trip. What a day! These guys really know how to have fun. Rauel and Shane did a fantastic job showing our mixed-ability group the skills and safety needed to get down the canyon, all while keeping it perfectly light and fun. The water is definitely chilly, but the wetsuits kept us mostly warm for the trip. If I had the time and money, I'd definitely go again on a longer outing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    12
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a. Buzz..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Ben our guide took us up the mountain and back down through the waters.. What an amazing buzz we had, it is such an adrenalin buzz between zip lining, abseiling, sliding off waterfalls And jumping off cliffs..we had a ball here and would definitely recommend the trip...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I did the half day at Queenstown (both our first time canyoning) and had a fantastic time. Our guides Eric and Ross were friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Our photographer, Sebastian, was able to capture all the fun we had. At first I was sad that we couldn't bring our own camera but now I understand that it was probably so you don't get distracted taking pictures/video. We bought the pictures and video which cost us less than $80 USD and was worth it. The day consisted of zip lining, abseiling down a huge wall, going down a 22 feet waterfall into a pool, jumping down from a 6 feet cliff, and there is also an option to jump off a 19 feet cliff which my husband did. You also swim through rivers, hike, and do smaller jumps. The icing on the cake was when you zip line into the middle of a pool and you can basically let yourself go when ever you want! It was a fun, adrenaline filled, beautiful day and would recommend it to anyone visiting Queenstown!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We did the Routeburn canyoning trip from Queentown and had a great day out. The instructors look out for you at all times, sometimes you wonder how you're going to make it down a waterfall safely, especially when they swing you down head first, but everytime you somehow do! I wouldn't recommend this trip if you are scared of heights or feel uncomfortable in the water but it's great for those seeking a bit of adrenaline. The scenery is spectacular and sometimes you just have to take a moment to look around you and realise how amazing it is.

The only downside is the price, like everything in Queenstown it's very expensive for the time you actually spend canyoning. There's about 8 activities and most of these are sliding down waterfalls. The pictures are also extremely expensive. They wanted about $65 for pictures and videos per person. If you are a couple or a group you can't just get one set as they separate out each individuals photos.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“These Guys are Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you're looking for an exciting, adrenaline filled activity, with a variety of adventurous opportunities, then canyoning is a great choice. I've been canyoning once before over ten years ago, and it's every bit as fun as I remembered. We were a little hesitant to do the half day tour after our full day was cancelled due to weather, but it turned out to be so much better than we imagined. A perfect rainy day activity with only 5 of us in the group, Rauel and Shane couldn't have been any more accommodating, enjoyable, and professional. Zip lines, rappelling, cliff jumping, waterfall sliding - it felt like we all just went out to play together in the canyon. Even though we had hoped to do the full day experience, the half day one in town was perfect. Definitely glad we did it!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyoning.co.nz also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Canyoning.co.nz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyoning.co.nz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.