We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar

Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar
54 Shotover Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
034411210
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 179 Restaurants in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This has got to be the coolest place to eat in Queenstown!! So much fun, great atmosphere and the food is incredible. Asahi on tap was also excellent! If you're after a meal the options on the back page of the menu are your best bet as the rest are more small tasting serves. The regularly changing specials are excellent as well. We had to go twice and can't wait to go back next time we're in Queenstown!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Best Japanese and hidden away from the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stumbled upon Yakitori Daruma whilst looking for dinner and we couldn't have planned it better, food is awesome, daily specials are great, Asahi is on tap and the atmosphere is awesome. It gets pretty busy every night so go early or late.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best and most authentic Japanese we've had outside Japan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was a great dining experience. The decor and atmosphere were exactly as you find in similar eateries in Japan. The food was fresh, very tasty and reasonably priced.

There is also an extensive list of sake available, hot or cold. Good service from friendly staff. I would recommend to anyone looking to dine out in Queenstown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and service. Very authentic and enjoyed having a rusty conversation in Japanese too. Good service and great to order food that would be common to enjoy in Japan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic local Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a great local Japanese sake bar that we stumbled across by accident. The staff were friendly, and the prices very reasonable for a sake/yakiniku restaurant. Our kids found it great as well. We had ample to eat for around $20 each. The place was busy and bustling.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yakitori Daruma Japanese Sake Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.