We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serious Fun Riversurfing

Serious Fun Riversurfing
39 Camp Street, Queenstown, New Zealand
+64 (0)3 442 5262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 202 Activities in Queenstown
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the thrill of body boarding down the Kawarau River with the original riversurfing company! Forget about any white water activity you`ve ever seen. This is Serious Fun Riversurfing. The most exciting, exhilarating and interactive water activity on the planet. Each trip begins in a calm section of the river; the guides give you a full safety briefing and teach you the basics in riversurfing before you set off on your white water adventure. We have the world’s most experienced and qualified guides and 100% safety record since 1989. Where did it all begin? Jon Imhof, a surfer from Hawaii, came to Queenstown to go snowboarding and he liked Queenstown so much that he decided to stay for summer. Missing the waves of the ocean, he looked for an alternative and came up with the crazy idea to follow the rafters down the Shotover River and surf waves on his body board. Although the rapids were great, he found it was too shallow and decided to go down the Kawarau River instead, and the sport of riversurfing was born.In 1989, with riversurfing in high demand, Jon established Serious Fun Riversurfing, the original riversurfing company. A few years later, after looking for other suitable locations around the world, Jon started a sister company on the Zambezi in 1995 and some of the African guides took the sport up to the White Nile in Uganda, and to this day, these are the only three places in the world you can go riversurfing!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
WALTON ON THAMES
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Did this with our two kids age 7 and 9. Luckily they had an instructor each who looked after them both brilliantly. We all loved this activity but defiantly not for the faint hearted. It's good fun and full on and all the guides are fantastic and really keep a good eye on you. Which you need. Would recommend for water confident people who want a good laugh. All exhausted after the second run.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    11
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great (half) day out!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Some serious fun indeed. If you're comfortable swimming it's heaps of fun!! Good way to spend the morning or afternoon, beautiful river. Great guides too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
“when you stop thinking, you would do a great job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

last December, I went river surfing for the second time and it was still so amazing. Riversurfing actually allows one to maneuver about a rapid with some knowledge and one can never regret this experience. This would come very handy if one day one would to fall into a rapid. To me, riversurfing is something, you should NOT MISS OUT ON!!!!!! GOOO FOR IT! embrace the refreshing cold water rushing over you because when it does, you feel like your soul is just being renewed. the guides are really amazing and hilarious, do not worry because they would constantly look out for you so they worry more than you! Good luck if you were to do it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a great time. Yes, it is a great workout, and I wouldn't recommend it to the that aren't totally comfortable in the water. The guides were great, and the river was amazing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

It was fun but 189 for a wetsuit,helment,the ride and a bord ia not worth it when its the nature,i would not really recommend it as its to pricy (as everything else in queenstown)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorn J, General Manager at Serious Fun Riversurfing, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I'm sorry you felt this way about our trip, but I can assure you that we provide a lot more than equipment rental.

Our team of qualified and experienced guides provide training tips on how to manoeuvre in white water, which includes the line you must follow to make sure you get the best white water action! Once training is complete, the guides provide assistance for the duration of the trip. We also transport customers to/from the river and ensure you access the funnest and safest section of the Kawarau River (depending on the flow on the day).

It is important to note that Serious Fun Riversurfing is a serious river sport, meaning the presence of experienced and qualified guides is necessary. Our guide’s expertise guarantees our customers have a memorable and exhilarating experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serious Fun Riversurfing also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Serious Fun Riversurfing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serious Fun Riversurfing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.