We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nomads!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Queenstown Backpackers to your Saves list
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
“nomads!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

what a great place with great staff! dave at reception looked after us and was happy to help with anything we needed! our time there so much more enjoyable because of this. the hostel was clean and everything that you need in a hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Queenstown and look forward to having you again in future.


Kindest regards
Nomads Queenstown Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    121
    33
    19
    12
See reviews for
11
63
105
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed here with Kiwi Experience and I have to say it is one of the best hostels I have every stayed in. Very modern and clean, we had a wonderful balcony that looked onto the beautiful mountains of Queenstown. The common room is very cosy with a fire and pool table and it felt after a month of staying is quite bleak hostels in New Zealand that this was pure luxury. Its close to everything and reception staff are very helpful with explaining where is good to go. We had some great backpacker nights out here, they allow you to drink at the hostel until 9pm then you cant have your own drinks and they don't allow drinking in the room (they come round and check at least once a night) The WIFI is quick here and we had it in our room. The rooms I stayed in was a 4 bed, the larger rooms tend to be on the inside with no view. I would highly recommend staying here it really is great for backpackers.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony so stay in a 4 bedroom or 6 bedroom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Queenstown and look forward to having you again in future.


Kindest regards
Nomads Queenstown Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's right in the centre of Queenstown so it's really easy to walk around to the many restaurants and nearby bars. I was quite surprised by the rooms, they were nicely fitted out with TV, wetroom shower and even had a shared balcony. Has a free breakfast (which consists of toast and jam etc) and apparently a free dinner which I didn't realise until after I checked out.

Only drawbacks really are that the bed is pretty uncomfortable and if you are a light sleeper, you may be kept awake by the noise from the bars and restaurants which are close by.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Queenstown and look forward to having you again in future.

With the noise from the bar it is such a pain, however we have advised the bars to close their doors after 10:30pm each night which will lower the noise level dramatically for our guests.

We also supply earplugs from reception at anytime.


Kindest regards
Nomads Queenstown Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nomads Was in a great location for beautiful Queenstown, As soon as you walk out the hostel their is beautiful Veiws, Close to the night life and shops! Nomads also offer Nights out which is a great way to see/find places! You get free tea which is always a plus! The staff were helpful and friendly! Reception staff couldn't help you more! Only thing was, there was a huge turnover of people all the time coming and going in huge groups (Kiwi Experience) So long term, Was hard to sleep! I stayed here for two weeks and loved it but some nights were loud but you always find that in hostels! Overall was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Queenstown and look forward to having you again in future.

Awesome to hear you enjoyed the nights out on offer from Nomads :)


Kindest regards
Nomads Queenstown Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we stayed in a backpackers and I can say that it is a great experience! The location is really great and the facilities as well. Can't wait to try other Nomads backpackers too. :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Queenstown and look forward to having you again in future.


Kindest regards
Nomads Queenstown Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Overall a very good hostel. We stay for 2 nights. The Saturday and Monday and rooms were clean neat an staff were very helpful. Would I stay there again and the answer is yes. Was I happy with my stay and the answer is yes. On the con side, the room I stay in on the Saturday had 3 issues. 2 very minor. The basin tap was very loose and the lock on the bathroom was coming away from the door. There seems to be a bar or nightclub right below the hostel in a alley behind it. You could hear people yelling but once you closed the ranch slider door it disappeared. It was my first time in Queenstown and I made the right choice staying here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre B, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Nomads Queenstown and look forward to having you again in future.

The basin taps we apologise for but we are happy to report the problem has been fixed :)


Kindest regards
Nomads Queenstown Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

had a wicked stay here it was clean, tidy and the staff where really frienly (rich, tom and ben) all did a really good job at making our stay the best it wouldnt be the same place with olut them, thanks namads!!!!

will come back herwe for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.