We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Queenstown Backpackers to your Saves list
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers
5.0 of 5 Hostel   |   5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Burnley
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love this hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was in Queenstown for nearly two weeks and stayed here the entire time. The hostel is brand new so everything is pristine. There are free meals during the week and the common area is great for meeting people. Some of the balconys overlook the lake others the mountains so it's a win win :) the hostel is 2 minutes walk to the beach and same to the bars, overall a fab hostel in a fab town! I'll be staying here again :)

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a balcony, try to request one that does - you'll get some fab snaps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    121
    33
    19
    13
See reviews for
11
63
105
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved my two stays at nomads. Once in jan and then again in sept for the skiing. They are always helpful with luggage, info and any travel plans. The first time there was a problem with my booking, their fault so they gave me a room by myself with an ensuite for the full stay no extra charge... Loved it! The second time had a nice stay in a 6 person dorm. Always clean and always nice to stay but what I've seen. Fun night time activities too...very funny blindfolded pub crawl!!

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

So last year absolutely loved our stay. This time we stayed in a 4 bedroom all girls dorm (travelling with 4) with ensuite and iv got to say wasnt as impressed.
We were on the backside of the building this time and ear plugs were essential (free but essential).
We really enjoyed that the shower and toilet had been separated so you had access to one or the other. The sinks however were a joke. They have a shelf over the top so to spit in the sink post teeth brushing you have to shove your head under.
The bunk beds were funny but I was not on the top haha. Not alot of room for luggage (id suggest those bags that are shells which split down the middle so you can fit it under the bed).
We also didnt have a TV which sucked. And no bedside tables or anything and the aircon took a few nights to figure out the right temperature to sleep in as would freeze or boil. Very clean and modern.
Would stay again but not rave revues this time around. Staff werent as over whelmingly lovely as last year but still great but the trip organisers were lovely!
A wonderful location and for $300 for 12 nights was happy with what we got.

Room Tip: Rooms on lane side are really noisy with dubstep all night felt in your chest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I'm not the biggest fan of hostels.... but this was great!
We were staying in a 4 share private room with ensuite and we all knew each other (on the 3rd floor).
Everything was new. Room included a mounted LCD tv (with cable and reception would play new release movies each night) fridge, kettle, etc.
The bathroom was newly renovated. Room was warm (it was July) and we also had a split cycle air conditioning unit just in case we got cold.
Located centrally to everything! Big common room. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and their 24 hour reception was VERY strict on not letting anyone in after 7pm without showing their room key.
Internet is expensive here and wifi was about $4 for an hour, even if using your own device. I think wifi is pretty exxy anywhere in NZ though - I would suggest if you own a iphone to just get a data sim - $10 bought us 300mb each.

Room Tip: Level 2 is rather loud - consisting of all shared rooms. Level 3 much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

No parking here but on street information given by staff. All staff with the exception of one surly flame haired guy were friendly and helpful. Location couldn't be better. All areas and room very clean. Private rooms were exceptional for a hostel, as good if not better than some budget - midrange hotels, this may explain why it was so expensive but budget options are few and far between in Queenstown anyway. Didn't spend any time in the communal areas but they looked good if always busy. The size of Nomads may be offputting for some people but with all the activities on offer in Queenstown it is unlikely that you will spend much time here. Ask the travel desk for help to plan your stay they are approachable and helpful!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide Brits
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here on out last night on South Island before heading back to Auckland for a couple of days. A great combination of dorms and private rooms, we went for the private room. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a better room F.O.C. The staff are charming, there is a big fire in the reception area, a good atmosphere and lots going on.

The room itself was great too. Modern, balcony, tea/coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsQueenstown, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback - we are stoked you enjoyed your stay with us! All the best for the rest of your travels and hope to see you again in the future - Cheers Nomads Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in a king ensuite room.
The room included two towels, soap, and a shampoo. As well as a kettle, and tea/coffee/milk and sugar.
The room was not spacious, however we only were there to sleep, and I dont think it was that much smaller then our friends room in the Novotel.
We had a large shared deck, which in the middle of winter was just handy to step outside and check if we had enough warm clothes on! As well as having an amazing view which captured Queenstowns beauty
The only annoying things were that the bathroom sink was very hard to wash my face in as it was so small and had a shelf close above it. Also the bed was a little too firm and we could feel the springs in the matress. However there has to be something to remind you its a backpackers!!
The place was very clean, quiet, staff were friendly and seamed to be enjoying their work.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadsQueenstown, General Manager at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The design of the sink is a little awkward, apologies for this. We are currently replacing all of our mattresses and have double checked which room you stayed in so it is replaced straight away.

Thanks again and all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Queenstown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Queenstown Backpackers

Address: 5-11 Church Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Queenstown Backpackers 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers is located in the heart of Queenstown, New Zealands popular South Island holiday city. Designed with all budget travelers in mind this purpose built backpackers hostel has a variety of room types from small and large dorms with or without ensuite to private ensuite rooms with wide screen Sky TV.All dorm rooms at Nomads Queenstown Backpackers have storage lockers and individual bedside reading lights and many of the rooms have balconies with views of Queenstowns lake or mountains ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Queenstown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Queenstown Backpackers Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Queenstown Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.