We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Queenstown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   70 Arthurs Point Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for Queenstown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, we booked a budget onsuite cabin which was clean and comfortable. Communal areas are lovely and the playground is well maintained.
As we were sharing with our young children some bedside lamps would have been great as we all had lights out at the same time !!
Our cabin looked over the housing estate next door so we missed out on the gorgeous views, if they are important to you, check when you book.
My biggest problem though is the fact we had to reverse the car to leave our cabin down a 50m driveway. As a parent this concerned me, so we always made sure one of us was looking out for children when we did it. I think this needs to be looked at, especially as many children in NZ are killed every year on driveways.

Room Tip: Budget onsuite rooms have tiny bathrooms and no views. Also no TV in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We camped in a group and our site was spacious and well kept. The bathrooms were reasonably clean and the camp ground was well-appointed with facilities including BBQ's and a large dining hall with cooking facilities and a lot of fridge space. Was about a 5 min drive from Queenstown itself, but still reasonably affordable to taxi to after a night out. Major plus was the beautiful scenery surrounding the camp ground! Sleep would have been fine but for the crying baby we woke to every morning courtesy of the family camping beside us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Shotover Holiday Park and after staying at a couple of the other Top 10 parks we didn't expect anything spectacular. We booked a One-Bedroom Motel and it was amazing. Well equipped kitchen with a proper dining setting. Big bathroom and very comfortable beds. Perfect for a family of 4. We travelled with another family who had booked the self-contained cabin and they upgraded to the Motel Unit which is well worth the extra money if you are staying a few days with kids.
This park hasn't got the big jumping pillow like some of the other Top 10 parks but the kids were more than happy with the trampoline. The staff at reception were very friendly and are happy to book all your activities for you.
The park is quite small and has a lovely feel to it, away from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown. The Shotover Jet is just down the road and it's only a short drive into town. I think we stayed at 7 different locations while travelling around the South Island and we all agree, this one was our favourite accommodation.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a self contained accommodation with kids the One Bedroom Motel units are fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in this park for two nights. It is a short drive to the city. If you don't have an own car there is a bus stop in front of the campground. The park is small but the sites have a sufficient size. The facilities were clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff at this holiday park are extremely welcoming, helpful and willing to book tours for you. The site itself is clean, although a larger bathroom would assist in the mornings. The real feature is the spotless kitchen and comfortable social / dining area which is a welcome haven, especially when it rains. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for a night in summer with my two young children. We were in a kitchen/bathroom unit, which was warm, comfortable, tidy and perfect. My toddler wishes we could have spent more time playing in the playground available.
The location is a wee bit of a drive from queenstown, but I feel this was an asset as the views were amazing and picture perfect.
My only negative was the size of the teeny tv, but not much of a problem as we weren't there to watch tv.
Overall, we are happy campers.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in a self contained unit, one double bed and bunks for the kids, would not want to stay longer than a few days but adequate for what we wanted, probably would go to a larger unit if we were back that way, the unit heater is on a timer so gets cold at night unless you keep turning on at night.
I was going to do a BBQ but there is a $20 refundable deposite you have to pay so that you clean the BBQ after use, I believe most people clean up after themselves but I think that the owner/manager should be responsible for the overall hygene of the BBQ, so did not bother in the end, re- they have the same units on the Gold Coast which are cleaned down by local council, located on the beach.
Not that far out of Queenstown which is good, friendly manager/owner on arrival

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 70 Arthurs Point Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.