We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holiday parks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   70 Arthurs Point Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best holiday parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff at this holiday park are extremely welcoming, helpful and willing to book tours for you. The site itself is clean, although a larger bathroom would assist in the mornings. The real feature is the spotless kitchen and comfortable social / dining area which is a welcome haven, especially when it rains. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for a night in summer with my two young children. We were in a kitchen/bathroom unit, which was warm, comfortable, tidy and perfect. My toddler wishes we could have spent more time playing in the playground available.
The location is a wee bit of a drive from queenstown, but I feel this was an asset as the views were amazing and picture perfect.
My only negative was the size of the teeny tv, but not much of a problem as we weren't there to watch tv.
Overall, we are happy campers.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in a self contained unit, one double bed and bunks for the kids, would not want to stay longer than a few days but adequate for what we wanted, probably would go to a larger unit if we were back that way, the unit heater is on a timer so gets cold at night unless you keep turning on at night.
I was going to do a BBQ but there is a $20 refundable deposite you have to pay so that you clean the BBQ after use, I believe most people clean up after themselves but I think that the owner/manager should be responsible for the overall hygene of the BBQ, so did not bother in the end, re- they have the same units on the Gold Coast which are cleaned down by local council, located on the beach.
Not that far out of Queenstown which is good, friendly manager/owner on arrival

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We drove around 8 hours drive from Christchurch to Queenstown and really enjoyed the view all the way to Queenstown. We stayed in Family Rata Lodge. The room was quite small but clean. We really love the location, just a few minutes drives to the town. This place is surrounded with beautiful mountains. It was really breathtaking. There's a lot of activities nearby. Skiing in Coronet Peak, riding Shotover Jet, buggy jumping in Kawarau bridge, having lunch with a nice view in Skyline Gondola, Restaurant and Luge and shopping in Queenstown. Too bad we didn't stay for long. Definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not a good experience. I got a "Deluxe" cabin for my stay.

The room has ONLY one genius designed 60 minutes auto shut down heater with no extra blanket nor electric blanket, super distant from bathroom and toilet, crowded "deluxe" cabin, not recommended if you want to shop in Queenstown.

Great place to stay over the winter! That is if you like to be freeze to death in midnight going to toilet; mine was about 20 meter from my cottage. Or if you like to wake up every hour to make sure your heater is still on. And please be reminded to prepare extra $5 for kitchen supplies, $20 deposit.

Advise you to pay a $15 more to get a warm room with shared kitchen supplies in a lot better location.

Truly offended by the $5 kitchen utensils and the distant room given to us, staff answered"that is what you get for cheap stay" when I complained the cold room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotovertop10, Manager at Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Wen

Thanks for your review and we are sorry you didn't enjoy yourself first time around. We would invite you to come back and try us again. We are disappointed that you did not take any initiative to address your concerns at the time of check in.

You were here in mid September which is spring time and quite warm. Your queen bed had a thick mattress topper which is like a duvet to sleep on and you had two duvet inners on top. This would have been very warm for mid September. Perhaps you were feeling the effect of coming from a North American summer.

We note that you chose a unit without kitchen and bathroom facilities and had to walk some 30m to the communal facilities. This is a very short distance by any comparison for a holiday park in NZ.

Our Kitchen utensil system ensures you have a clean set of utensils. The charge of $5.00 is for the entire duration of your stay and is not expensive.

The great thing about Holiday Parks is that they have a variety of accommodation options at a variety of price points. You could have easily chosen a more up market option more inline with your expectations. Alternatively TOP 10 has a money back guarantee: If you are not completely satisfied with your accommodation when you first check in, TOP 10 parks will cheerfully refund your stay.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed with a friend for a week in a self contained cabin and standard cabin.
The standard cabin is pretty much just a double bed and a couple of bunks, the self contained cabin has a double bed, 2 bunks, mini kitchen, shower and toilet.
There is a heater in the room and electric blankets on the beds.
The cabins and the whole park were very clean.
There are mountains surrounding the park which make for spectaculars views.

There's not much immediately around for dining, its more of a suburban area, but Its only about 6 kms from Queenstown.

Wifi is available for $5 per day but we found it somewhat flakey, sometimes it was good but others it dropped out all the time but its still a good deal.
We got a 1 week access for $25 with a 1TB upload allowance.
We had mobiles with Telecom and the reception was only 1-2 bars most of the time.

It makes a good base for skiing, the turnoff to Coronet Peak ski area is only about 4kms up the road, you can cut across to The Remarkables or go to Cardrona via Arrowtown.

This is a very nice park and we will stay here again on our next ski trip with hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a great week staying in a park motel for a week with our kids. Very clean, comfortable and warm. Room service an added bonus! The park surrounded by beautiful mountains/scenery and very quiet. Only 5 mins from Central Queenstown and 15 mins to the top of Coronet Peak. Owners very happy to help with any requests. Will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 70 Arthurs Point Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.