We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   70 Arthurs Point Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Puchong, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We drove around 8 hours drive from Christchurch to Queenstown and really enjoyed the view all the way to Queenstown. We stayed in Family Rata Lodge. The room was quite small but clean. We really love the location, just a few minutes drives to the town. This place is surrounded with beautiful mountains. It was really breathtaking. There's a lot of activities nearby. Skiing in Coronet Peak, riding Shotover Jet, buggy jumping in Kawarau bridge, having lunch with a nice view in Skyline Gondola, Restaurant and Luge and shopping in Queenstown. Too bad we didn't stay for long. Definitely will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not a good experience. I got a "Deluxe" cabin for my stay.

The room has ONLY one genius designed 60 minutes auto shut down heater with no extra blanket nor electric blanket, super distant from bathroom and toilet, crowded "deluxe" cabin, not recommended if you want to shop in Queenstown.

Great place to stay over the winter! That is if you like to be freeze to death in midnight going to toilet; mine was about 20 meter from my cottage. Or if you like to wake up every hour to make sure your heater is still on. And please be reminded to prepare extra $5 for kitchen supplies, $20 deposit.

Advise you to pay a $15 more to get a warm room with shared kitchen supplies in a lot better location.

Truly offended by the $5 kitchen utensils and the distant room given to us, staff answered"that is what you get for cheap stay" when I complained the cold room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotovertop10, Manager at Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Wen

Thanks for your review and we are sorry you didn't enjoy yourself first time around. We would invite you to come back and try us again. We are disappointed that you did not take any initiative to address your concerns at the time of check in.

You were here in mid September which is spring time and quite warm. Your queen bed had a thick mattress topper which is like a duvet to sleep on and you had two duvet inners on top. This would have been very warm for mid September. Perhaps you were feeling the effect of coming from a North American summer.

We note that you chose a unit without kitchen and bathroom facilities and had to walk some 30m to the communal facilities. This is a very short distance by any comparison for a holiday park in NZ.

Our Kitchen utensil system ensures you have a clean set of utensils. The charge of $5.00 is for the entire duration of your stay and is not expensive.

The great thing about Holiday Parks is that they have a variety of accommodation options at a variety of price points. You could have easily chosen a more up market option more inline with your expectations. Alternatively TOP 10 has a money back guarantee: If you are not completely satisfied with your accommodation when you first check in, TOP 10 parks will cheerfully refund your stay.

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed with a friend for a week in a self contained cabin and standard cabin.
The standard cabin is pretty much just a double bed and a couple of bunks, the self contained cabin has a double bed, 2 bunks, mini kitchen, shower and toilet.
There is a heater in the room and electric blankets on the beds.
The cabins and the whole park were very clean.
There are mountains surrounding the park which make for spectaculars views.

There's not much immediately around for dining, its more of a suburban area, but Its only about 6 kms from Queenstown.

Wifi is available for $5 per day but we found it somewhat flakey, sometimes it was good but others it dropped out all the time but its still a good deal.
We got a 1 week access for $25 with a 1TB upload allowance.
We had mobiles with Telecom and the reception was only 1-2 bars most of the time.

It makes a good base for skiing, the turnoff to Coronet Peak ski area is only about 4kms up the road, you can cut across to The Remarkables or go to Cardrona via Arrowtown.

This is a very nice park and we will stay here again on our next ski trip with hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a great week staying in a park motel for a week with our kids. Very clean, comfortable and warm. Room service an added bonus! The park surrounded by beautiful mountains/scenery and very quiet. Only 5 mins from Central Queenstown and 15 mins to the top of Coronet Peak. Owners very happy to help with any requests. Will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in a basic cabin, with a double bed and bunks and no ensuite. For the price we paid we were expecting a disaster, but we got a small cabin with plenty of blankets, electric blankets and a heater. We didnt expect anything fancy but it exceeded our expectations. The trip to the bathrooms was no more than 100 meters and they were very clean. The owners/managers were helpful and we loved being out of Queenstown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotovertop10, Manager at Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Egpett

Thanks for submitting a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our Standard Cabins exceeded your expectations. Since you stayed we've added tasteful new curtains and mattress toppers - these are like duvets to lie on and warmer than electric blankets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a self contained cabin. We had full use of all the facilities including the fantastic kitchen which has a log fireplace and a large flat screen tv. We did have to pay $5NZD for a box of kitchen goods which enabled us to cook our own food. Good for us as we are not take out people. If you were to microwave you would have sufficient kitchenware in your cabin.
The room is small but so is the price for Queenstown. Staff are very helpful and friendly .

Room Tip: There are many options at this holiday park so depending on your budget what you get. Very clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We rented a self contained studio unit for 2 nights. The park is tight to maneuver with a vehicle. Our unit was clean but really small. Granted we knew it was a studio, but expected it to be a bit bigger. There was no TV in the room which was a surprise. The bathroom sink was a joke. It was so tiny, only good for washing hands (see picture). When went in July, which is winter in New Zealand. They had a heater but it was on some weird timer system (see picture). The room smelled of stale smoke and the night lamp didn't work. We reported this to management who said they would take care of it.
My husband and I are pretty easy going and can overlook some things, but we can't give this place a good review.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shotovertop10, Manager at Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Valerie

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations this time around. We suggest you try us again but choose one of our more upmarket options with TV, space, large bathroom etc. Remember when you book with TOP 10, if you are not completely satisfied with your accommodation after you first arrive, we will cheerfully refund your stay.

Best regards
Shotover TOP 10
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 70 Arthurs Point Rd, Queenstown, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Queenstown
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Queenstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park Hotel Queenstown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shotover Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.