We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ripped off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kingston Flyer

Kingston Flyer
Kingston Railway Station, Queenstown 9748, New Zealand
64-3-248-8848
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“ripped off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We pre booked online and paid our money only to get a email reply to say the flyer was not working.
The email advised to contact to change the date, I emailed to advise we were only there for xmas and wanted a refund.
With no answer we decided to visit the site to get our money back
It was closed with no conact details
When we returned to Australia we rang and sent more emails and have had NO RESPONSE
Please be warned about prebooking this company

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were touring in the area and saw the unmistakable smoke and steam of a vintage locomotive. We were able to see the train, but not to ride this time. The station at Kingston has a very good tea room / restaurant. As well as taking the trip, you can see the servicing and turning of the beautifully restored 1927 locomotive.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Steamtrain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Kingston Flyer is a fabulous train and beautifully restored. You can walk through the train and take pictures for a small donation. There are options to go for a ride in second class or go first class with a drink and a meal. We thought these options were a bit expensive but if you were a steam buff you would want to do it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Marvellous time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Mrs and I did the platter option which put us on the 1st class seats with a fine amount of finger food and a bottle of sparkling wine. The ride took us half an hour to Fairlight, half an hour stopped there and half an hour back, all the while looking at mountains and meadows from our comfortable compartment. The one thing to be careful of is filling your glass too full during the more wobbly sections of the line. An excellent trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun for small kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The lovely old Kingston Flyer takes you on a 30 minute trip through some beautiful countryside to an isolated train station where you get off while the train turns around, before reboarding soon after and heading back the same way to Kingston. Our small children found the ride there fun but became a little bored on the same journey back. While a nice afternoon out, i do think the return journey was quite expensive, $180nzd for an hour and a half total journey for 2 adults / 2 children. We had afternoon tea in the small station cafe at Kingston and the real homemade style cakes were totally yummy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston Flyer also viewed

 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Kingston Flyer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingston Flyer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.