We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gantleys Restaurant

Gantleys Restaurant
172 Arthurs Point Road | PO Box 28, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
442 8999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 189 Restaurants in Queenstown
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Invercargill
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent and Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here one very warm night and having it outside made the experience even better. It was a very quiet night which also made it pleasant. The food and service were excellent our only disappointment was that there was a very limited selection of wine by the glass even though they advertise having the best selection in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    40
    18
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
timaru
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had dinner here and the meal was fabulous.we all had 3 courses and were delighted with everything.probably served a little quickly but overall fabulous food.lovely setting.
The beef main course was great and very filling,lemon dessert with berries delicious.will definitely return

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go for the Venison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Gantleys is a beautiful fine dining restaurant a few KMs outside Queenstown. Take up the offer to get complementary transport to/from the restaurant. The Venison was absolutely wonderful. Service was very good but I felt we were a little rushed.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful cozy ambience. Good gourmet meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our top 3rd Restaurant (after FLAME in QueensTown & Reflections at Lake Tekapo).

Pricey? Yes. Is it worth it? Definitely! Service was good. Un-intrusive staff.

The ambience is Cosy, charming, beautiful. Their wine list was very good. Food was a true gourmet delight. I had the crispy skinned mt cook salmon which was yum. The desserts was lovely too.

We took a nice walk around the property (Quite huge and well kept lawns I must say)

Overall a very romantic, satisfying experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous gourmet dinnee.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was a tremendous dinner--fresh, inventive and full of flavor. By far the best food in our 3 weeks in NZ, which is saying alot. Only 3 days left in Queenstown and we will definitely go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gantleys Restaurant also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 
Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Gantleys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gantleys Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.